We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent museum and sculpture garden”

Baltimore Museum of Art
Ranked #7 of 245 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Baltimore Museum of Art (BMA) is home to an internationally renowned collection of 19th-century, modern, and contemporary art. Founded in 1914 with a single painting, the BMA today has 90,000 works of art-including the largest holding of works by Henri Matisse in the world.* The museum is currently undergoing an unprecedented $28 million renovation to provide visitors with a more welcoming environment and more imaginative and inspiring encounters with art. The BMA is remaining open throughout the multi-year project so that visitors can enjoy its outstanding selection of European and American painting and sculpture from the 17th through 20th centuries and the newly reinstalled Contemporary Wing with 14 galleries showcasing the art of our time. Two beautifully landscaped gardens display an array of 20th-century sculpture that is an oasis in the city. The museum's 100th anniversary will be celebrated in November 2014 with the reopening of the grand historic entrance designed by John Russell Pope and a beautiful new presentation of the museum's distinguished collection of American art. Subsequent reopenings include expanded galleries for the African and Asian art collections and a new learning and creativity center that will open in 2015. Since 2006, the BMA has eliminated general admission fees so that everyone can enjoy the power of art. * Many of the BMA's works by Matisse are part of a special exhibition traveling to museums in Indianapolis, Minneapolis, and San Antonio in 2013 and 2014. If you are visiting to see a specific artwork, please call the BMA Box Office to make sure it will be on view.
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This massive Greek Revival museum was built in 1929 and sits in an impressive setting. Excellent collection and outdoor sculpture garden. They are closed on Monday and Tuesdays. They have parking lots on either side for a flat rate of $6. However, we found it more economical to park across the street by the park for only 50 cents an hour (for up to 4 hours). The museum participates in the North American Reciprocal Museums (NARM) so membership in one of those museums allows for free admission.

Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (698)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 424 of 698 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great variety of works...saw 2 Monets and some other Impressionists' works. Our only suggestion is that there need to be more signs added for directions for turning, parking and entrance.

Thank Angierobrts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

At first glance the BMA seems more intimidating than the average US art museum built in the first half of the 20th Century. There must be a hundred across the US with the almost identical neo-classical facade of heavy tapered ionic or doric columns, blind windows and a massive pediment. The BMA is heavier than the average and does not raise hopes for the contents. In fact, once inside you are hosted by staff that smile, chat, act, shake your hand, explain their lives and generally lead you to understand why Baltimore calls itself 'charm city'. At the moment, half of the museum is closed for renovation, however, what's available is delightful, mostly a very good collection of impressionist painting, post impressionist and even a very good collection of German expressionist paintings. The big hitter exhibit by the Cone sister collectors is on tour. The sisters were spectacular collectors and built a personal friendship with Henri Matisse, building a collection of more than 400 of his works. I have seen the collection on tour and when it returns to Baltimore in October I recommend you visit the museum and see the rest of a very large collection that is now in storage during renovation.

But more important, I recommend you visit the museum for its interesting staff. From the Louvre in Paris to the National Gallery in Washington, D.C. one either encounters staff sleeping at their posts (the Louvre) or watching the patrons with suspician (other galleries), not so at the BMA. A question to staff may engage you in a conversation about their favorites, advice about where to go in Baltimore or more. On one occasion I called my companion to see a pointilist painting and the staff member came over to say he loved it too. He said, he was a painter and admired how much work that was. As we prepared to leave the gallery I asked for directions to the Walters Gallery. The staff person asked me to wait a minute while she printed a map and directions.

I urge visitors to consider the museum a metaphor for all of the wonderful experiences they are likely to have when interacting with Baltimorans. They are truly charming.
There is parking beside the museum. The only down side is no cafe for just coffee or tea in the museum currently.

2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is one of the finest collections I've viewed. There are wonderful mosiacs, fine art and sculpture by well known artists and everything is displayed in beautifully architectural rooms. A lovely restaurant is attached so plan to have some lunch.

Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

What a jewel of an art museum and the admission is free. The cafe serves a wonderful lunch for a reasonable price.

Thank NittanyLion70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baltimore Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Baltimore Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing