We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience was a bit odd”
Review of The Maryland Zoo

The Maryland Zoo
Ranked #22 of 231 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors meet more than 1,500 animals including chimpanzees, elephants, leopards and warthogs as they journey on an African safari, groom goats in the Farmyard, explore the winding trails through the Lyn P. Myerhoff Maryland Wilderness and watch the polar bears swim next to you at the underwater viewing window. Plus, don't miss the new, award winning Penguin Coast exhibit featuring the most successful breeding colony of endangered African penguins in North America.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Experience was a bit odd”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This zoo is not as nice as some that I've seen, but not the worst either. Part of my issue was that many things were closed because of it being off season. I'm not surprised by this, but it was highly inconvenient not having running water in restrooms or a place to eat.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank muff75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    189
    96
    38
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hopkins Student Explores Baltimore (Video Included)”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I went with the cast/crew of a Johns Hopkins video series to create a video of the zoo for the Johns Hopkins admissions website. Our final product: type in "Learn More, See More, B'More, episode 6 Maryland Zoo" into YouTube! The zoo was easy to navigate, the trainers were friendly, and there was an awesome mini amusement park (that you'll be able to see clips of towards the end of the video). The employees of the zoo work really hard to make your experience at the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore very enjoyable and memorable. For example, when we went, it was "ZooBoo." All of the little kids (and their parents) were dressed up in halloween costumes, they got to go trick-or-treating, and a haunted barn awaited those who dared to enter. We had a great time. Watch our video for some first-hand information about our day at the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not What It Used To Be But Still Worth A Trip”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Like some I've been going to the Zoo for many years and to a certain extent it's sad to see it now compared to decades past. Still it's good for a once a year outing. Small children will like the place and there's plenty of photo opportunities. It's pricey to get in and if you plan on buying food there forget it. Hands down the worst place to eat out of any Baltimore attraction. Unlike some other places they will let you bring in your own lunch however. All in all still a reasonably nice place to spend an afternoon.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank glasseyedbaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great zoo for the money!”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Wonderful zoo! Took kiddos ages 1,2,6 and 8. Everyone loved it. Free parking and reasonable rates. You can bring food in and eat at numerous picnic tables. Great layout and so many fun additions like a huge tree slide and children's zoo where you can brush the animals. Very shady and animals were in wonderful natural habitats. Great walking paths that were stroller friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Momfourkiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect day trip”
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Our family ranging from 13 to 56 years old had a blast. The zoo is compact and walkable. Enjoyed the animals and educational chats. Staff friendly. Skipped activities at home base...too young for our crowd. Can't wait until the polar bear--arctic area is developed. Rode a camel and fed a giraffe. Intimate zoo. Clean. Rest rooms at key points. Concessions expensive--but where aren't they? Tailgated at car--parking free.

Helpful?
Thank davidiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Maryland Zoo also viewed

 

Been to The Maryland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing