We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Maryland Zoo

The Maryland Zoo
Ranked #22 of 224 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors meet more than 1,500 animals including chimpanzees, elephants, leopards and warthogs as they journey on an African safari, groom goats in the Farmyard, explore the winding trails through the Lyn P. Myerhoff Maryland Wilderness and watch the polar bears swim next to you at the underwater viewing window. Plus, don't miss the new, award winning Penguin Coast exhibit featuring the most successful breeding colony of endangered African penguins in North America.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“So-so”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

They charge a lot for so little. The National zoo is so close, why not go there? For free.

Helpful?
1 Thank HolmesHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    175
    89
    37
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Experience was a bit odd”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

This zoo is not as nice as some that I've seen, but not the worst either. Part of my issue was that many things were closed because of it being off season. I'm not surprised by this, but it was highly inconvenient not having running water in restrooms or a place to eat.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank muff75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hopkins Student Explores Baltimore (Video Included)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2011

I went with the cast/crew of a Johns Hopkins video series to create a video of the zoo for the Johns Hopkins admissions website. Our final product: type in "Learn More, See More, B'More, episode 6 Maryland Zoo" into YouTube! The zoo was easy to navigate, the trainers were friendly, and there was an awesome mini amusement park (that you'll be able to see clips of towards the end of the video). The employees of the zoo work really hard to make your experience at the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore very enjoyable and memorable. For example, when we went, it was "ZooBoo." All of the little kids (and their parents) were dressed up in halloween costumes, they got to go trick-or-treating, and a haunted barn awaited those who dared to enter. We had a great time. Watch our video for some first-hand information about our day at the Maryland Zoo in Baltimore!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not What It Used To Be But Still Worth A Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Like some I've been going to the Zoo for many years and to a certain extent it's sad to see it now compared to decades past. Still it's good for a once a year outing. Small children will like the place and there's plenty of photo opportunities. It's pricey to get in and if you plan on buying food there forget it. Hands down the worst place to eat out of any Baltimore attraction. Unlike some other places they will let you bring in your own lunch however. All in all still a reasonably nice place to spend an afternoon.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank glasseyedbaboon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great zoo for the money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Wonderful zoo! Took kiddos ages 1,2,6 and 8. Everyone loved it. Free parking and reasonable rates. You can bring food in and eat at numerous picnic tables. Great layout and so many fun additions like a huge tree slide and children's zoo where you can brush the animals. Very shady and animals were in wonderful natural habitats. Great walking paths that were stroller friendly.

Helpful?
Thank Momfourkiddos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Maryland Zoo also viewed

 

Been to The Maryland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing