We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change of Ownership changed the atmosphere of the hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Change of Ownership changed the atmosphere of the hotel”
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This was my second stay in this hotel - the location is lovely, offers free parking and a nice breakfast buffet. But in the time between my two stays (December and August), the new ownership instituted several changes, which, to this patron, were not for the better.

My reservations were made about a month in advance, and I specified two beds for two guests (my daughter and me). The only room that was available upon my arrival was a king bed, and there was only one bathrobe.

There is a "destination charge" of $9.99 levied on top of the other charges. This was not disclosed prior to my arrival. Supposedly, this charge covers the extra amenities being offered - a shuttle service and regular hotel "events" (each weekday offers a different activity), neither of which were necessary or desired by my daughter and myself.

There is a coffee and tea setup for guests throughout the day. Unfortunately, at 8 pm, there was no hot water available. The hotel staff are very welcoming and helpful, so any requests were quickly satisfied, but after asking for a packet of hot chocolate, it was disappointing to have to return to ask for the hot water to be replenished.

The buffet breakfast that is provided is ample - there are cut up fruits, juices, baked goods, yogurt, and hard boiled eggs. The buffet table is kept well stocked and everything is replenished.

The room seemed noisier than the previous stay - not because of other guests, more like the hum of machines turning on and off during the night.

Unchanged was the feeling the rooms were not adequately lit.

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms are worth the extra cost. The street view rooms requires the shutters to be close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ne1410stoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborMagicHotels, Manager at Inn at Henderson's Wharf, responded to this review, 26 August 2011
Dear ne1410stoday,

We appreciate that your loyalty to Henderson's Wharf brought you for a second stay. Guests such as yourself are what makes our jobs all the more enjoyable!

I am sorry to learn that you feel that new ownership has brought a change to the atmosphere of the hotel. We are 100% committed to maintaining the offerings and service from the past as well as bringing new and exciting offerings as well! This is something that I review with the staff daily.

I appreciate that you have taken time from your day to let us know about your stay with us.

Brett Henry
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    139
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
193
473
27
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

What a nice surprise! We were looking for an inexpensive place to stay for a night while we delivered our daughter to college. The price was remarkable for the amenities offered. A very nice continental breakfast was included. We awoke to the usual newspaper, but a handy tote bag was on our doorknob, which made packing up that much easier. The location on the waterfront made for a delightful evening's walk. And there was no charge for parking our car. All in all, this was high value stay at a very cute Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We were here for just a weekend. Hotel was very accommodating and pleasant. Had a great view of the water. Appreciated the complimentary bottle of wine (a nice touch). My husband and I will stay here again when we return to Baltimore. Also, had a great breakfast, with a European touch. Close to bars and shops as well. Our room also had a fridge. Would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Everything about Henderson's Wharf Inn is interesting and attractive. It is an intimate boutique hotel with beautiful rooms located in a very quiet residential/restaurant/shopping district right on the water. All the rooms are on the first floor and have views of the harbor,marina or courtyard. The hotel is well within walking distance to the busier sections of the inner harbor but also provides a shuttle service for your convenience. The staff know the city well and Raymond and the assistant manager each provided us with excellent dining choices (Melle's and La Scala). At a sister hotel, Pier 5, Jimmy told us about a fantastic breakfast place that was featured on Diners, Drive ins and Dives, called "Blue Moon Cafe" (a must for breakfast). Also, Bonaparte's bakery and coffee shop is on the same block as Henderson's and is terrific. We loved it all.
One thing, though, the dish network TV service lost signal a good bit as did the internet service...didn't matter to us but it may to you. The management at this place is so on top of things that it'll likely be fixed before long.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilliesFan097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I am still smiling!! This is truly a place that I know we will come back and visit again and again!! I agree, Raymond at the front desk was awesome; he loves his work, he enjoys people, and his pleasant attitude and helpfulness was wonderful!! In fact, everyone behind the desk were wonderful, and you don't find that at many places.

The atmosphere of the Inn has a welcoming quality to it, and makes you not want to leave. Our welcoming bottle of wine was a lovely touch (we chose the white wine, which was delicious, cold and ready for pouring!) At first, after reading the reviews of being on the first floor, I didn't think it would be a good view of the water/ships, but I was mistaken; it is all right there for you to enjoy!! There are joggers that run by the window (as mentioned in previous posts), but during our visit, we had rain off and on, so there weren't a lot of them.

After having dinner at a wonderful restaurant, we came back, and had a nice, quiet time sitting on a bench right by the water; no mosquitoes, no humidity, just a delightful breeze to enjoy ... After a while, we went indoors to the lobby and relaxed in the lobby's comfortable couches, then retired to our room for the night. A quiet location, away from the noise and activities of the area, and I really liked that.

Breakfast was delicious!! Yes, they have the orange juice in a ceramic pitcher to pour, there were bagels, toast, all kinds of fresh fruit, and the coffee was fresh and hot! There are trays available to take our food back to our room (almost like a breakfast in bed setting!)

We are already talking about our next visit at Henderson's; to the staff at Henderson's, I thank you for making my husband's birthday very special and memorable; you are the best!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anointedlady_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I had a lovely time at this hotel. My room was absolutely beautiful and so very comfortable and cozy. One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in, my favorite. The staff was wonderful. Thank you for such a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadine732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2011

From the time we arrived on a Monday evening with no reservation because we found ourselves enjoying Baltimore so much to the time we left after a great breakfast on Tuesday morning, we were treated like preferred guests. The first person to greet us was Raymond. He was professional, polite, and accommodating. We had a beautiful room with a fantastic view and when I was unable to figure out the remote control, who showed up? Yup, Raymond to the rescue! Our short stay could not have been better. Give it a try.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#7 of 66 in Baltimore
1,285 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel
#15 of 66 in Baltimore
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Henderson's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Henderson's Wharf

Property: Inn at Henderson's Wharf
Address: 1000 Fell St, Baltimore, MD 21231-3529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#2 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at Henderson's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Henderson's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henderson`s Wharf Hotel Baltimore
Hendersons Wharf Hotel
Hendersons Wharf Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing