We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, but not up to Hilton's typical quality” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Baltimore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Baltimore
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK, but not up to Hilton's typical quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel looks very nice upon entering, and the location is amazing if you want to go to a baseball game--I could literally watch the game from our conference room on the third floor, and the ballpark's just across the street. That being said, as far as hotels go, and Hiltons in particular, I've had better. There were just minor troubles that kept adding up to make my stay less than great: the room was way too hot and took forever to cool off once I turned the A/C on (think 7 hours, not 30 minutes), one side of the mattress felt like the springs were broken, and the colors on the TV were way off. But the best of all was that my wake-up call arrived 15 minutes early. It may not seem like a big deal, but when I'm on a work trip and don't get enough sleep as it is, the last thing I want it to wake up earlier than I have to and feel disoriented and confused about what time it is when I'm stumbling around without my glasses in the morning. Oh, and I also got charged twice for internet, but they did fix that at the front desk at check-out. We also ate in the restaurant, which was fine, but the service was a bit hit or miss. Overall, not bad, but definitely not great either. I'd probably try to stay elsewhere the next time I'm in Baltimore.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ballpark when making a reservation or at check-in. On game nights, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YulioB, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hilton Baltimore. We will most certainly share your valuable feedback with our team.

We truly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and we have shared them with the engineering team of the issues with the air conditioning in your guestroom.

Again, we do apologize for the inconveniences you experienced and hope to welcome you back to prove this experience to be the exception and not the rule.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    801
    432
    161
    92
See reviews for
450
448
104
1,121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We love Camden Yards and the Inner Harbor and it was only made more special by our room overlooking the ballpark!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Hilton Baltimore is right across the street from the entrance to Camden Yards and just a couple of blocks to the Inner Harbor waterfront. The Hotel is new and very smartly designed. It connects - a long walk - to the convention center making it a great hotel for any meetings held there is bad weather months.

The room was clean and comfortable - as I expect from Hilton properties. There was a large flat screen TV in the room and while I did not have a ballpark view I had a nice view of the city.

The reason I give this hotel 4 stars and not 5 is the executive lounge. While it has a great view of the ballpark, upon entering around 8pm the night of stay the lounge smelled like a locker room. It was warm and humid and did not have a pleasant smell. There was no one there to great us or anyone that asked if they could help us. It's not what I have come to expect of Hilton and it might have been a one-off night. Breakfast the next day was better and had the usual fare for the lounge.

I would stay here again with pleasure.

Room Tip: Try to get a ballpark view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob_829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Hotel is great! Hotel staff is excellent! Breakfast at the Diamond Tavern was delicious and Camden yards is across the street! Our stay was just perfect in every way.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YulioB, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Baltimore experience on tripadvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Baltimore. Thank you for recognizing our team members and we are excited that you had a wonderful time in our fantastic restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
617 reviews
413 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel is honestly very nice. And it has huge assets. 1) if you are going to a game, Camden Yards is right there. By right there - I mean steps away. I've never seen a hotel so close. When I called, they said 2/10 of a mile. I must have misheard. It's literally - right there. We left our room on the 5th floor and were at our seats in 6 minutes. 2) The light rail is right there - next to the hotel's 2nd building. We took the train to the airport - 31 minutes - $6.40 for 4 of us - $30 less than a cab and most importantly, fun fo the kids.

The lobby and rooms are very nice - but why the "poor" rating.

Well, check in is at 4P - which is late for a hotel. Well I got there at 4:50P, only to be told my room wasn't ready. I was told - they had King rooms but not the two doubles I reserved. Ummmm - check in is 4P. I paid for a room at 4P.

I was sent away - my phone # taken - and told I would be called when the room was ready.

At 5:32P, I got that call. So what did I do for 42 minutes? I wasn't offered a drink or meal or anything.

When I got down there - I expressed my unhappiness. Eventually, I was asked - can I buy you breakfast. Yes, I pushed knowing I'd get something - but it's wrong that my room wasn't ready. Honestly, they should have comped it - because Hilton (at least Hampton) guarantees 100% satisfaction - and they know I can't be satisfied without being in my room.

2nd note - they have a drawer with the hair dryer in it. In that drawer - a pair of women's underwear (think pink was the brand:) Seriously, house keeping doesn't check to see that the hair dryer is there - they'd have seen this. When I told the front desk 20 minutes before we were leaving and I said - just so you know for when you clean tonight - but don't send someone up now - what did they do. Send someone up. My sick wife had to answer the door.

So the hotel has some great points - location, location, location - and it's nice. But they are horribly run and don't listen very well. There's a Hampton next door, and Marriott and Holiday Inn across the street. I'd probably try one of them next time. There's clearly ineptitude here.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from others - the walls are thin and i heard everything the neighbors were doing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelManSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YulioB, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for providing feedback on your stay at the Hilton Baltimore on TripAdvisor.

Please accept our most sincere apology for what appears to have been an unpleasant experience. We pride ourselves in providing a superior experience but do appreciate hearing when we fall short of this. We are very sorry you were not able to check in until 4:00 pm. We make every effort to have as many rooms available by 4:00 pm; unfortunately due to unforeseen circumstances we were not able to accommodate our 4:00pm target upon your arrival.

We appreciate your comments about the room and will share this with our team. As you probably know we hosted many of the attendees for the baseball game and experienced an increased volume of guest arrivals before the game. As you mentioned our location is second to none; as the Hilton Baltimore is the closest full service hotel located next to Oriole Park at Camden Yards and M&T Stadium (Home of the Ravens). The Hilton Baltimore has direct and the only enclosed hotel connection to the Baltimore Convention Center, a short distance to 1st Mariner Arena, Baltimore’s Inner Harbor and many other attractions. In addition, we have both Charm City Circulator stop at the entrance of the hotel as well as the MARC Light Rail stop that brings and takes you to Thurgood Marshall/BWI Airport.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The choice of this Hilton was made for me when I registered for a conference at the facility. I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a room on the 19th floor overlooking the field where the Baltimore Orioles play. If there had been a home game during my stay, this would have been a fantastic place to watch.

The Hilton is very nice. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly and helpful. I used the well equipped exercise room. There was a beautiful pool attached but no time to explore that option. The Hilton is about a half mile from the shopping/restaurant district. Baltimore offers free bus service (Charm City Circulator) to this and other places. We chose to walk to a nearby Starbucks or Panera Bread instead of indulging in the fairly expensive breakfast offered at the hotel.

If you have a meeting in the convention center, the hotel is connected by a sky walk so you don't have to go outside. All in all, this is an attractive option for staying in downtown Baltimore. And, if you are an Orioles fan, this is the best place to be because you are a hop, skip and jump away from the center of fandome.

Room Tip: If you are a member of Hilton Honors, there is a hospitality suite with coffee on 18th floor. Upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenie2480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YulioB, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Baltimore experience on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate the amount of detail you provided in many areas where you experienced our super friendly staff in action. We are pleased of your positive comments in regards to our product and location, and we will share your feedback with our team.

Our location is second to none, as the Hilton Baltimore is the closest full service hotel located next to Oriole Park at Camden Yards and M&T Stadium (Home of the Ravens). The Hilton Baltimore has direct and the only enclosed hotel connection to the Baltimore Convention Center, a short distance to 1st Mariner Arena, Baltimore’s Inner Harbor and many other attractions. In addition, we have both Charm City Circulator stop at the entrance of the hotel as well as the MARC Light Rail stop that brings and takes you to Thurgood Marshall/BWI Airport.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Attended a convention here. Nice full-service hotel that was struggling to keep up during a major convention. You know the drill....can't get into your room before 4 PM....store your bags....wait for them to be delivered later....crowds at every restaurant/bar, etc. But they had pleasant staff who were trying hard and that made it better. Nice views from the 19th floor and good location.

Room Tip: I had the 19th floor by the elevator and that was fine. The air conditioning, like a lot of hotels...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdogroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YulioB, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Baltimore experience on tripadvisor. We appreciate all your remarks regarding your visit. Having a great hotel facility is important, but even more important to us is your recognition of our pleasant staff who clearly is the soul of our hotel.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Baltimore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Baltimore

Property: Hilton Baltimore
Address: 401 West Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21201-1629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#29 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Hilton Hotel Baltimore
Baltimore Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing