We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trip to the ballpark THE O's Rule”
Review of Hilton Baltimore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Baltimore
Ranked #31 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“trip to the ballpark THE O's Rule”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staying in Baltimore for a wedding allowed us to see the O's. THe Hilton is across the street from Camden Yards and it is a great adventure to watch the field from your hotel room and walk over and back to see the game without fighting traffic. Words of warning... when the hotel offers you a "ballpark" view... be sure to check that it doesn't mean a view of just a piece of the right field. It was fun watching the players exercise and the tarp go off and on... but would have preferred to see home plate. Also... what is it with HILTON hotels... you think that they could at least offer free WIFI... You may want to check out other near by hotels until they change this policy. The lap pool is great for kids, not so for laps.

Room Tip: Make sure "ballpark view" means the entire field - not just a piece of the outfield.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcnovak_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian K, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are glad that you liked our convenient location (short walk to Camden Yards) and that your room was comfy and spacious. Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,546 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    939
    853
    471
    181
    102
See reviews for
493
470
107
1,219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (574)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deland FL
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Before booking a room in Baltimore Inner Harbor area, I researched many hotels in the area. In June, this is the high season, based on posted prices. In the end, we ended up choosing Hilton at this locale, and we are glad we did. Many of the hotels in the Inner Harbor area were charging 2-3 times more per night then what Hilton was offering. As was the case with us, the reviews
for this hotel vary wildly and widely.
As many of you are looking through the many reviews for this hotel, it can me difficult to make a decision to book, based on a variety of reviews, so let me do my best to share our 2 day stay.

We arrived in the lobby early on a Friday, as our cruise ship disembarked at the nearby port, and as we had a weeks worth of luggage in tow, we weren't looking for an anchor all day. Inasmuch as we had our luggage we did not want to deal with till the 3:00PM check-in time. We had our taxi drop us at the hotel, (about 10-15 minute ride from cruise ship port). We intended on leaving bags with bell cap at hotel, (which is secure, and they were very friendly), however we decided to check with the front desk. Our room at 11:00 AM,was not ready, but I inquired, and the helpful desk personnel offered us a harbor view room that was ready for a small upcharge. We gladly did so, and were very happy upon our arrival to the room. The view was grand, and we were glad to freshen up for a day out at the Inner Harbor area that is a 5-10 minute walk to all of the attractions, restaurants and shopping. In fact, we never hired a cab or water taxi the two days we were there, and we visited all of the nearby neighborhoods and harbor attractions, If you are not into walking, the local bus system & water taxis will get you anywhere in the area in no time, and very inexpensively, When we arrived back at the hotel on Friday night, we were exhausted, but decided to hangout at the ball park bars that are adjacent to the hotel, and the stadium. What fun we had. The next morning we were up early, went to breakfast at the nearby inner harbor, and was back at the hotel by 12:00 checkout time whereby we checked our packed bags with the bell cap, got a ticket for them and preceded back to the Inner Harbor for the afternoon. We had prearranged a private limo to the airport BWI (20 minutes away) to meet us at the Hilton, and we retrieved our bags from the bell cap and loaded them into our limo, and off we went to our (9:00 PM) departure flight home.

The point being, this hotel was clean, (not perfect, there was marks on one wall of our room from luggage, the bathroom had some minor water damage in the corners where the paint had lifted from humidity, the basin was slightly damaged, and the drapes had a small rip by the draw handles). So yes, I can be picky, but the room was clean, sheets were spotless, the bed was great, pillows were good, and the hotel rooms seemed quiet. This would most likely not get a four star rating from my experience, but I would certainly return to this hotel, as long as the price was reasonable. If you are looking for a true 4-5 star hotel in this area during season, good luck getting a reasonable price for a good nights sleep in the Inner harbor area. I/we both agreed when we left this hotel, we had no real issues, and would recommend this hotel.

As a side note, if the hotel management should choose to read my review, I/We can only complain of one issue. When we returned to the hotel at 4:45PM on Sat. to retrieve our luggage, we thought we could order a glass of water & a cocktail in the lobby bar. However, they stated they opened at 5:00PM, and would not even let us get a water, bottle or glass. Sure, I understand, it opens at 5:00PM, so perhaps the beer was locked up still, or registers were closed, but to refuse a simple glass of water to a guest of the hotel, well that's just poor attitude pure and simple. Other then that, just a bit more inspection of your rooms would indicate that a quick touchup of paint here & there goes a long way towards the perception of a guest at your hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a Baseball fanatic, make sure you book a Concierge Level room so you can watch the ball g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank offshoreDelandFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian K, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing all your remarks regarding your recent stay at the Hilton Baltimore Hotel. Our guests' comfort and satisfaction is our priority and your detailed feedback will help us ensure we're doing our best to be mindful of this. Additional training opportunities will be available as we continue to improve our guest experience. Once again, we thank you for choosing our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel was overall a good hotel. However, watch out for the additional charges to the room beyond the advertised rate and be ready for a hefty daily parking rate of $28.00! The location was excellent and staff was also helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian K, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hilton Baltimore hotel. While we do have a charge for parking, internet, and some hotel amenities such as In room dining; our pricing is very competitive with our local full service hotel competitors. We also recognize that internet is an important component of a business hotel and for that reason we do provide complimentary internet access in our new connectivity station located in our main lobby as well as in our public areas.

We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Super hotel! Great location! Could see entire Orioles field from large deck! Did not move car. Walking distance to wharf, shopping, dining...formal and sports bars!! Awesome interior. Speedy room service! Friendly, attentive staff. Parking garage... Enjoyed a great...first time...Baltimore vacation...thanks to this fabulous Hilton Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for room on upper floors... Awesome city view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lexxi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian K, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Hilton Baltimore experience. We are delighted to have you with us and trust that your visit was both memorable and rewarding. We always appreciate having the opportunity to introduce new visitors to our city, and to share in the richly diverse culture and legendary history the city of Baltimore has to offer. With our unique Inner Harbor location between Camden Yards and the Baltimore Convention Center, you will find yourself in the midst of it all. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

First of all, the rating is top-notch because I can't say anything bad about our stay; we had a free night certificate and used it in conjunction with our Orioles game night. Gold member status gave us an upgrade and access to the concierge level for evening snacks and continental breakfast. From the ease of parking to the friendly check-in staff to the very nice hall carpeting to the quiet on the 11th floor, everything was perfect - and I don't say this very often!!!!! Oh yes, and the room was very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian K, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us about your recent stay. We are very happy that you enjoyed our hotel and that you had a problem free stay. We are thrilled that you had a good experience and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our first stop in a 2 week trip. We choose this hotel because it is pet friendly and the closet you can get to Camden Yards. We had a ball park view, that was 3rd base line and could clearly see the outfield. As a bonus, it was fireworks nite, and it.. was... AWESOME!!! We could see all of the fireworks from our room. The room was spacious and very clean, couldn't tell it was a "pet room". Only down side was the shower drained slowly, but that's an easy fix. The food menu at the lounge was small, but there's another lounge across the street. Apparently it is the one that provides the room service. The pizza was very large, and tasted great as well. There is grass right across the street to walk the dog which is a huge plus for us..

Room Tip: Spend the couple of bucks and get a ball park view if schedule permits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldogtraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian K, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank your for sharing your recent experience at the Hilton Baltimore. I cannot agree with you more as our location is very convenient to Orioles Park at Camden Yards, 1st Mariner Arena, the Light Rail - serving Thurgood Marshall/BWI Airport, M&T Bank Stadium (Home of the Baltimore Ravens), University of Maryland Medical Center as well as many other attractions, businesses and nightlife in Baltimore. We are also the only hotel connected by an enclosed, temperature controlled sky bridge to the Baltimore Convention Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Location, location, location.
What a nice property, in a nice location. You are immediately across from Camden Yards, and attached to the convention center. You are a few blocks away from the harbor excitement and some of the best restaurants in the area.
The rooms are small, unless you get upgraded, and the concierge level room is a great gathering place, since you can actually watch live baseball while having a cocktail or beer, and feel as if you have a box seat to the game.
The personnel are courteous, friendly and professional, and the cleaning staff keep work really hard to insure that all is taken care of.
The only reason I gave it a rating of average is the lack of security in the lobby, which sometimes gives you some concern about the rest of the hotel.
While waiting in the lobby for some guests, I was approached twice by seedy looking people who asked for some handout. Next to my sitting area was a mother with 5 siblings, and I can see that she immediately pulled them closer to her.
I believe that the visibility of a security person in the lobby would prevent panhandlers from coming in and would also give some sense of comfort to those that are in fact guests of the hotel. Other than that concern, there was nothing I can find wrong with my stay.

Room Tip: Facing the Camden Yards, higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passionrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florian K, Manager at Hilton Baltimore, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests; actively looking for ways increase our security presence and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. I appreciate your review as it provides valuable feedback. The next time you are in area, please consider staying with us again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Baltimore

Property: Hilton Baltimore
Address: 401 West Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21201-1629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#29 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Hilton Hotel Baltimore
Baltimore Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing