We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only hostel in the area, but a good one.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostelling International - Baltimore
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Only hostel in the area, but a good one.”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stayed there a week for a conference.
The location is excellent- close to a lot of things and the bus. The area feels relatively safe at night and was 5$ by taxi from some of the pubs we went to.
I was given clean sheets and a nice towel. There were 8 beds in my dorm, and a washroom. There were more washrooms in the hall. But someitmes one ran out of paper or soap. And at such times, the place felt a little crowded.

The kitchen downstairs was fine and spacious. There were pancakes that you could make, and tea coffee all day. There was a huge fridge and you could bring your own stuff. The common areas and living room were excellent. They had some shampoos, soaps and shower gels for free in one corner. There was a laundry in the basement, and an iron- very useful for my conference clothes.

THere were often school groups, but it was not a party place and people were generally quiet and respectful.

What else? It was not the BEST hostel I have stayed at, but it was quite a good hostel with very pleasant staff. I would stay there again gladly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arc_rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    27
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
2
4
39
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed there with a friend for a weekend getaway. Good deal if you don't plan on being in your room for very long. It is a different experience if you have never stayed in a hostel before, which we had not. Close to the free public bus that will take you to Penn Station, inner harbor area, and the Federal Hill area. Down side - if you come in past 11pm you have to be very quiet which is hard to do.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooter03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Staff was rude, unfriendly and unhelpful to say the least, in particular Greta. She sent us twice the wrong way, at night, in the rain and we ended up missing our appointment. Check in with her took over an hour and was brutal. She told us all kinds of unnessary stuff about her family even though we told her we had to somewhere and were in a hurry to check in. Parking is a nightmare, really tight spaces and you have to give the staff the car key and they can move your car anytime they need to. I had a rental car and that is not an option, insurance obviously doesn't cover them. There is a parking structure just a block down from the hostel that is cheaper and safer. the locks on the all female dorm didn't close, the rooms including the bathrooms were not cleaned the entire time I was there (Friday night to Sunday morning). it was hot in the rooms and stuffy, curtains were never opened. I am a lifetime member of Hostelling International and had forgotten my membership card but showed my membership confirmation email. It was not accepted with the explanation that this could be a fake. They also did not check with the organzation which is protocol. have stayed at many hostels over the years and in many countries, this stay was by FAR the worst, definitely not returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonale99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

So now that I'm a starving graduate I have to save money at any opportunity; and when faced with a necessary trip to Baltimore, I was lucky enough to find this hostel. For about $25 a night, you get a clean, comfortable, bug-free stay that feels more like a big home than a hotel. The halls were quiet at night and the only occassional disturbance comes if you choose an early bed time than everyone else. This isn't your typical Euro-like hostel with young revelers partying until the wee hours. There were guests of all ages. The only noise issue I had at all was from the city street outside, which probably would have been fine if I had chosen a bunk by the interior wall.

The bunks were comfortable, sheets and blankets smelled clean, and the bathrooms and showers were clean too (well, relatively clean, I did wear my shower shoes regardless). The kithcen was big and stocked with anything you could need, and in the morning they leave out pancake batter, toppings, and pans for you to flip your own flapjacks. Which I did, with a few chocolate chips melted in...yum.

The staff was super nice and helpful with everything. Really, they made the stay as pleasant as it was. They helped me find my way around, stored my luggage, and chatted with me like we were old friends. In short, I give the service a raving 5 stars. The only reason the hostel gets 4 stars is because it was, well, a hostel after all. Can't quite be a 5 star experience when you share a room with strangers.

Room Tip: When exiting the hostel to look for food or entertainment within walking distance, turn right...not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosiee0916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

If you are looking for a clean place to stay at in Downtown Baltimore and you do not mind sharing your room with others then this is the place to be. The hostel is very clean, quiet and for a pretty good price. There is free WiFi along with a clean bed and sheets and hot water showers. The location of the hostel itself is right in downtown with connecting buses that can take you to almost anywhere in Baltimore. The staff are very friendly and were more than happy to offer me tips on where to go in the city. I highly recommend it if you are looking to make new friends, would not mind sharing your room and want to save a few bucks!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmedst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

This was the first hostel I have ever stayed in and it was awesome! Staff were friendly and the location was great for food, supplies and sights! Super easy to get to from the airport via light rail. I would def stay here again. :-D

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fauxbacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hadley rille
Level Contributor
303 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I really liked this hostel in a historic old row house in a great location. Clean. Nice kitchen. Nice common area. Clean and safe. Would return. Parking. Nice dorm room. Close to shops restaurants. Location location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#16 of 66 in Baltimore
1,058 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostelling International - Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostelling International - Baltimore

Property: Hostelling International - Baltimore
Address: 17 W Mulberry St, Baltimore, MD 21201-4440
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostelling International - Baltimore 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baltimore is making waves as an up-and-coming city with a vibrant arts community, a growing craft beer scene and as DC’s quirky northern neighbor, and HI Baltimore hostel is a great place to stay while you enjoy everything this city has to offer. Though not at the top of many traveler’s itineraries, Baltimore is an East Coast gem that’s not to be missed. If you crave fresh seafood, live for local festivals or simply love meeting new people, Baltimore is the destination for you. Known for Artscape, the largest free arts festival in America, Baltimore also boasts museums such as the Walters Art Gallery and the Baltimore Museum of Art, both of which are free, and the American Visionary Art Museum. Walk down to the Inner Harbor and spend a day at the Aquarium or take in the view from historic Federal Hill. If you love baseball, see an Orioles game for as low as $7 and enjoy our city’s throwback stadium, Camden Yards. With free daily pancake breakfast, free WiFi and free weekly events such as dinners, pub crawls, movie nights and city tours, Baltimore is a great place to explore on a budget. Relax at the end of a long day of sightseeing in the hostel’s common room, outdoor patio or game room or join fellow travelers in the communal kitchen to cook a meal. HI Baltimore has everything you need to make your stay in Charm City feel like home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hostelling International - Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing