We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EHS Class Reunion - September 27, 2013”
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pier 5 Hotel
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“EHS Class Reunion - September 27, 2013”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our 50th Eastern High School Reunion - fabulous venue, best food ever, wonderful service. Those hors d'oeuvres were never-ending, and the best I've ever had.

Cheers to the best manager - Chris Sikora. You bent over backwards to make this such a wonderful, and memorable event.

Thank you, and all the servers, for such a wonderful night.

Room Tip: One with a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 796robertar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Roberta R, we want to thank you for leaving a fantastic review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had a spectacular time at your 50th High School Reunion event at our hotel. We definitely had a great time organizing the event and meeting everyone that came.

We'll make sure to share your comments about the delicious hors d'oeuvres with our culinary team and we'll also pass along your kind remarks to Chris. We've got some amazing people working with us. They go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see everyone back for a future reunion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    226
    112
    64
    53
See reviews for
262
435
37
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I love love love this hotel! I have only stayed here three times but this is definitely my preferred hotel to stay in whenever my husband and I visit Baltimore (which is once a year to watch a home game). The rooms are always very clean and the beds are comfortable. The hotel offers different tasty treats during the week on different days. My favorite day is when they do their chocolate fondue! They have rice crispy treats, pretzels along with tons of other foods and fruits but my favorite to dip in the chocolate is their rice crispy treats.
This hotel is within walking distance to alot like the Aquarium. The staff is also very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejsmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
ejsmiller, thank you for writing a phenomenal review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our hotel. We couldn't be happier to hear that our property is the preferred spot for you and your husband.

We always love hearing back from satisfied patrons. Our team works extremely hard to ensure that everything is always perfect for our guests. We're glad that you mentioned the many different events that we offer in our lobby. We receive a lot of positive feedback about these activities. We like being able to create fun things for those staying with us that doesn't require leaving the hotel.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a fabulous review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we can't wait to see you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was my second stay with Pier 5. The staff recognized me right away. They are very friendly and accommodating. I don’t feel like they are staff they feel more like friends with how they greet you and address you. I travel a lot and most times to repeat hotels and I have never had staff recognize me in other hotels.
My first trip was on July 4th weekend. Our view from the hotel was amazing for the fireworks and got us away from the crowds. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The location is amazing as you are walking distance to the Inner Harbor and Fells Point and a lot of resturants and shopping. Also walking distance to the Power Plant.
During my trip in October I used their shuttle to get around and the driver was very friendly and prompt with service. Traffic was heavy in the area due to the Fells Point Festival but our ride was fun as the driver was talking with us and other guests.
During this stay I stayed in The Mystic Suite which was beyond beautiful. I don’t think words alone can describe how nice this room is. It is a corner suite with amazing views and the room was very spacious. I did not feel at all like I was staying in a hotel, it felt more like a luxury apartment.
The breakfast was very good, nice assortment of foods and fresh juices. The room had plenty of shampoo and soaps, glasses and towels.
I had the pleasure of meeting Josh the concierge of the hotel during my stay and he was great. We had talked with him on the phone prior to our stay and during our stay he was not working onsite at our property but made a special trip over to meet us. He gave us some tips about the area and events going on and it was an absolute pleasure meeting with him.
I really can’t say enough good about the Pier 5 and can’t wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Nichole M, we want to thank you for leaving a spectacular review and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you had another amazing experience at our property.

Our team really does go out of their way to try and get to know our guests. We truly care about the experience that our patrons have and want to ensure that their needs are met with friendly care and a smiling face. We'll make sure to share your kind words with everyone here.

Observing the July 4th fireworks from our hotel is a truly unforgettable experience. The ability to watch the show without being in the midst of the crowd is a huge benefit. From reading over your review, we saw that in your recent visit you stayed in our Mystic Suite. This particular room is one of our favorites. We love the pictures that you added to your review too!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we'll see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moosic, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife and i decided to upgrade our hotel for a get away. We booked a city view and got a water view however you could only see the water if you stood up due to a metal roof which blocked your view when sitting on the balcony. There was also numerous air conditioners on the roof below that made it impossible to remain on the balcony due to the noise and heat. The sliding doors were filthy and the drapes had stains on them that looked like blood. The bathtub had a constant drip and the tile floor had a crack from the threshold across the floor. the carpet.was showing wear and there was no fridge in the room. The staff was a very bright spot in the stay always cheerful and pleasant. Avoid room 227 if at all possible. The location was great and close to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms on the city view would be much more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Joanne G, we want to thank you for sharing your feedback from your most recent stay at our hotel. We are disappointed to hear that our hotel didn't meet your expectations. We'd like to go over a few of things that you mentioned in greater detail.

Room 227 is actually considered a City View Room despite its partial view of the harbor. The reason that this room is still considered City View and not Harbor View is because the room overlooks some of the HVAC units that you mentioned.

We plan to have the carpet in multiple rooms replaced. Room 227 is included in this grouping. We have passed along your other comments about the room onto our Management and Engineering team to investigate further.

Although mini-fridges aren't in the rooms, they can be put in by request if you call down to the front desk. We have private messaged you on here because we'd like to discuss your experience in greater detail. We look forward to speaking with you further.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed at Pier 5 many years ago and was happy to see that it still has the same wonderful ambiance. Loved it! My husband and I stayed there for only one night - wished we could have stayed longer - for a concert at Pier 6. Pier 5 hotel is so convenient. We parked our vehicle and walked to everything - great venue of Pier 6, restaurants in Little Italy, and late night pubs. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the Inner Harbor area of Baltimore. The staff was friendly, the breakfast exceeded my expectations - the waitstaff very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Joan L, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a great review. We couldn't be happier to hear that after 5 years our hotel still had the same ambiance that you loved so much from your previous visit.

Our hotel is the perfect place to stay when seeing a concert at Pier 6. Believe it or not, some of our rooms have a very clear room of the concert area and can actually be observed from the rooms! The ability to walk right to the concert is something that many people who stay with us for concerts say that they absolutely love.

We're delighted that our team was able to make your stay enjoyable. We've got some of the best people around and couldn't be happier to work with them. We'll definitely make sure to share your kind words with them.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a nice review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you and your husband back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlestown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I was somewhat disappointed in our Reunion. The price was $135.00 and valet parking was $20.00. For the price, I expected a better menu than chicken, beef goolash and salmon buffet.
Our paper also stated a champagne toast which did not happen. The drinks were $9.00 and you had to hold on to it or the wait staff would take it away. The orderves were good, but the wait staff walked down the middle of the room without approaching groups and you had to chase them down to get one. It was very hot an the air conditioning should have been turned up. As for the valet parking, when we went outside with our tickets we were told we would have to wait half an hour to an hour for service. However, we could walk to get our cars, but still owed the valet parking price. I for one think we all deserve a refund. I would never again go to anything at this Hotel.

Room Tip: I don't know how the rooms are but to have a meeting of a large group, I would not recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed right before Labor Day weekend with our two young kids. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very good and I appreciated the waitstaff's patience with the kids:) It is located conveniently near the Aquarium. Also the high ceiling in the room was awesome as it gave a feeling of extra room with the 4 of us.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_VAx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSocialStation, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Travelling_VAx2, thank you for writing a wonderful review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. Hearing that the whole family had a great time at our hotel makes us extremely happy.

We're glad that everyone loved the delicious breakfast offering. We know that it's one of the most important meals of the day and therefore want to make sure our guests have the opportunity to enjoy a quick and tasty meal. We'll be sure to pass along your kind comments to our morning breakfast team too.

We can't tell you how many people comment on how convenient our location is. We have a fairly large amount of patrons who stay with us because they love how close we are to the aquarium. It's definitely a great attraction and something that everyone visiting Baltimore should go to.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see everyone back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Property: Pier 5 Hotel
Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#6 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing