We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a major renovation”
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier 5 Hotel
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed 13 January 2014

understand before you book that this is pet friendly, it shows and my wife's allergies were definitely affected. In fact we were woken up at 7 a.m. to our neighbors dog barking on the balcony. The people were very friendly but the room should be no where near the price. For $25 more we could have stayed at the Marriott. There is no bellperson to be found and that meant hauling all of our own stuff and we were hosting a party. In fact we could not even find a cart on the way out. The rooms are very out dated, carpets stained as was the furniture, curtains ripped etc. Room service is not through the hotel, its seafood from mccormick and schmicks which ended up being the best part of our stay. They comped our room but really should have. I have no clue why there are reviews on this site about how nice the rooms are.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

rlally, thank you for sharing feedback from your recent stay at our hotel, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're disappointed to hear you weren't fully satisfied with your experience at our location.

As we mentioned when we spoke to you on property, we are currently undergoing many of the remodels that you pointed out in your write-up. We'll be starting out with having our wall paper removed and replaced as well as having the carpets replaced.

We hope that despite your last experience, you'll come back and give our hotel another chance when our remodeling is complete. If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

674 - 680 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We chose this hotel because we wanted to stay in inner harbor and wanted pet friendly. Pet friendly was great- they gave Elvis a gift bag with treats and a toy. They put us on the 3 rd floor which was fine, but which I thought was strange for dog (usually they want you on 1st floor). Location was perfect. Walk around inner harbor. Front desk suggested Mo's for crab dinner which was edge of little Italy and delicious. Great off season price directly from hotel of $109. Room was great with balcony overlooking front of hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

kathady, thank you for leaving a fabulous review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're thrilled to hear that you had an incredible experience at our hotel.

We are indeed pet friendly and love the fact that we are! We know leaving your furry friend behind can be stressful and upsetting. We don’t want our guests have to make this decision, which is why we opted to be pet friendly. We hope Elvis enjoyed the gift bag filled with treats and a toy. It sounds like he had a nice little vacation too!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to write a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you. We hope to see you (and Elvis!) back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at Pier 5 last weekend for two nights with our furry friend, Doogie. Doogie wanted me to write and tell you this is a wonderful place to stay whether you are a human or a dog. The hotel appears to be new, exceptionally clean and located exactly where you want to be when you visit Baltimore. We used the shuttle service a couple of times and found it to be a convenient way to get around. WiFi was free too! There are some higher end hotels nearby, but I just don't see the value when this hotel offers so much. I loved the Crabby Hour!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

laurade, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore and we'd also like to thank you for writing a spectacular review. We couldn't be happier to hear that both yourself and your furry friend had an amazing experience at our hotel.

As you mentioned in your review, we are indeed pet friendly. We know it can be a tough decision to leave your pet behind when going away. We wanted to give our guests the option to bring their furry friends along.

We're glad that you found our shuttle service to be convenient and that you also loved our Crabby Hour. Believe it or not, we have just as much fun with this event as our guests do! We'll make sure to let everyone here know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

What a wonderful time we had at Pier 5 for our daughters wedding. If you are looking for a hotel that is in tune to every detail, Pier 5 is your destination. The hotel is so unique and the staff outstanding, the location is perfect. Highly recommend for an weekend retreat or a wedding any time of the year.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

MaggieP76, thank you for leaving a fantastic review! We are beyond thrilled to hear that you had a fabulous experience during your daughter's wedding.

A wedding is a very special time for couples as well as their friends and family. We try our absolute hardest to ensure that everyone has a memorable experience. We'll make sure to let our team know they did a terrific job in creating a spectacular experience for your daughter and her guests.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to write a kind review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The second floor room's outdoor balcony overlooks the harbor, so soothingly away from the busy streets of Little Italy. The beds couldn't have been more comfortable. The morning's omelette was delicious, and all the staff were there to please us. Will definitely come again when in town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T0mInNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

T0mInNyc, we want to thank you for writing a phenomenal review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are thrilled to hear that you greatly enjoyed your time at our property.

There's no denying the beautiful view that many of our Harbor facing rooms have. You can definitely get lost in the breathtaking scenery! We'll make sure to let everyone here know they did an incredible job making your stay a success.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave an amazing review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We booked our wedding at an adjacent restaurant and we booked a large number of rooms at pier 5 hotel for our friends and family. Our event was the same night as a local high school prom that was in the hotel lobby. The prom was not only in the ballroom, it was in the atrium lobby. You could hear the loud music throughout the entire hotel until just past midnight. Once we finally got to sleep, we had a family with multiple small children staying the room next to us. The kids woke up at 5 am screaming so loud, they sounded like they were in our bathroom. We received complaints about the high prices, poor service and thin walls from all 20 people we had staying in the hotel! I lodged a complaint with the front desk as well as writing to the company and my concerns went unanswered. I would highly recommend to consider staying at the Mariott next door, not at the pier 5. I was completely blown away that the management did not even follow up on such an epic disaster.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Filly1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

My wife and I stayed in the Mystical Suite and had a great stay. A bottle of good wine when we checked in an a $50 food voucher, free breakfast buffet. The staff was very nice in all aspects. The room was 700-800 sq ft!, hot tub, full bar (unstocked). "Crabby Hour" was a lot of fun.The location is excellent. Super place! I would reccomend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onadoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Onadoga, thank you for writing a phenomenal review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely delighted to hear that you and your wife had a wonderful experience and fully enjoyed staying in our Mystical Suite.

Everyone should try to stay in our Mystical Suit at least once! The room is truly incredible and is the perfect way to celebrate any special occasion. We'll make sure to let everyone here know they did a fabulous job making your visit a memorable one.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back at the Pier 5 soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 67 in Baltimore
1,002 reviews
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#10 of 67 in Baltimore
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#6 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: £126 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing