We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient spot on the Inner Harbor”
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pier 5 Hotel
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A convenient spot on the Inner Harbor”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My wife and I spent two nights here on a short-getaway in February 2014. The location was great and it was only a short walk to quite a number of great sites. In addition, the two restaurants (Ruth's Chris and McCormick Schmick's) on site provided some great dining without actually needing to venture out. In addition, the breakfast buffet in the hotel lobby was excellent. One observation: the hotel permits pets and there seemed to be an extraordinary amount of them in the hotel which I did not find particularly attractive. Generally a very nice stay, however, and would definitely consider staying there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which provided that bit extra space for lounging. The second floor on the north...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveB6622802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
SteveB6622802, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your short-getaway, and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a great review. We couldn't be happier to hear you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel.

As you mentioned in your review, out location is extremely convenient for guests interested in exploring all the wonderful things to do and see around the Inner Harbor. You wouldn't be the first guest to tell us how much they loved the fact we have 2 amazing restaurants located right on our property. Whether it's delicious steak or fabulous seafood fare, you don't have to go far to have an excellent meal!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to write a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future stay at our property, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope you'll visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    240
    117
    68
    58
See reviews for
277
455
40
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband's Dr is at John Hopkins and has stayed here before. So for this appointment he wanted to stay here again and show me how fabulous it truly was. Pier 5 was more then I imagined, his description just didn't do it any justice! After traveling for 5 hours from CT the staff warmly welcomed us and were very helpful with making us dinner reservations along with letting is know all of the amenities they had for us.

The room was beautiful, and clean! Additionally, the beds were very comfortable and large.

We woke up and enjoyed our breakfast in the lobby (one of the best we've had during a hotel stay). During breakfast the waitstaff were super upbeat and friendly, making our stay even more welcoming.

I would highly suggest Pier 5 to anyone staying in Baltimore! You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieVogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
StephanieVogt, thank you for writing a fantastic review, and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage to our hotel. We are happy your husband decided to choose our location to stay at again, and that he brought you along to experience our property.

Nothing makes us happier than hearing we've thoroughly impressed both a returning guest and new one! It's great to know our staff was able to make you feel welcomed, aid you in making dinner reservations and informed you of all the amenities we have to offer.

Your recommendation of our hotel means a lot to us, and we are delighted to hear you loved everything about our location. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a fabulous review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you both back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Jerrod was EXTREMELY helpful along with Kevin at the front desk. Very accommodating. The rooms are spacious and clean. You have to check out the breakfast. The omelette and waffle bar is soo yummy. Couldn't be more impressed!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lpeyton20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Lpeyton20, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore, and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a spectacular review. We couldn't be happier to hear you had an amazing time while staying at our property.

We realize breakfast is the most important meal of the day. We definitely want all of our guests to be ready and prepared for whatever they have ahead of them during the day, which is why we felt our breakfast offering needed to be robust.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how accommodating members of our team were. We are extremely fortunate to have such amazing people working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll make sure to let Jerrod, Kevin and everyone else know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schroon Lake, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We arrived early on check=in day but they found us a room quickly. All staff friendly and helpful. Desk clerk was very professional and helpful. The happy hour/cooking lesson was great, as was the chocolate champagne night. The room was very clean and comfortable with a nice deck overlooking the water. We didn't use their parking so I won't comment on that. The package deal we had from Travelzoo was nice, included a bottle of wine and $50 coupon we used at McCormicks. Very easy. Kevin was a great host and entertaining crepe teacher. The breakfasts were good and the breakfast crew were very attentive. All in All we had a great weekend, extended an extra day and would go again..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Wayne M, we want to thank you for writing a fantastic review, and we'd also like to thank you for staying with us during your time in Baltimore. We are absolutely thrilled to hear you had an extremely enjoyable experience at our hotel.

We're delighted to hear you were impressed with all of our staff. We're lucky to have such dedicated and caring individuals working with us. They really do go out of their way to ensure everything is always perfect for our guests. We'll make sure to let Kevin and everyone else know of all the kind things you had to say.

It's great to know you were able to make it to both our Crabby Hour and Chocolate Event. We always encourage patrons to go. Plus, who doesn't love food?! We're always looking to create attractive offers and promotions for guests, so it's nice to hear you felt the package you had from Travelzoo was well worth it.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a fabulous review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed here both pre and post cruise in December. We arrived Dec 23rd, a bit later than planned due to airline delay. We were greeted with an offer for a glass of wine even though the evening cocktail reception had recently ended. Kevin was the best. We had a piece of luggage missing and told Kevin it may show up at the hotel. He said he would hold on to it even if it showed up after we sailed as we were returning there in 10 days.
They have a great evening cocktail/cooking demo reception which is fun. The room was lovely and spotless with a view of the harbour. Convenient to walk to area attractions and shopping. Absolutely would stay here again when in Baltimore.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
melbur, thank you for your continuous patronage, and we'd also like to thank you for writing a phenomenal review. We couldn't be happier to hear you had a wonderful experience during both of your visits.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how amazing members of our team were. We are extremely fortunate to have such incredible people working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll make sure to let Kevin and everyone else know they contributed to the success of your stay.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A Really nice boutique hotel in the middle of the inner harbor. Rooms were modern clean the hotel staff was attentive without being intrusive.. a really great place with great staff.. within walking distance of so many great places to eat and visit..highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: rooms with views of the Inner Harbor are the higher priced rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyM994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
JudyM994, thank you for leaving a fabulous review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are absolutely thrilled to hear you had an extremely enjoyable experience at our property.

As you mentioned in your review, our location is very close to many wonderful eateries, shops and attractions. If you didn't get to go this trip, you definitely need to check out the aquarium. You won't be disappointed!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day to write a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Pier 5 Hotel is a wonderful, luxury boutique hotel on Baltimore's Inner Harbor waterfront that embraces pets and is reasonably priced. This is our third year visiting at this beautiful hotel and we're always impressed across the board with our stay there. The hotel is just beautiful, inside and out. It is a contemporary hotel with modern rooms that are luxuriously appointed with granite, marble tiles, plush carpet, warm woods and comfortable textiles. The views from the rooms are scenic vistas of the inner harbor waterfront that please the viewer both in the day and the evenings. The hotel lobby is modern, comfortable atrium with spectacular murals depicting montages of Baltimore waterfront life. The lobby serves as a gathering place for a bountiful full buffet breakfasts (made to order omelets, Belgium waffles, fresh fruit [blackberries, blueberries, cantaloupe, melons] pastries, toast, juice, delicious coffee), drinks at the bar and for generous nightly events such as Crabby Hour (free Maryland beer and wine with a lesson on how to make crab crêpes) or their Chocolate Event (free champagne; chocolate fountain fondue for fruits, pretzels, cookies; and a lesson on how to make chocolate truffles - how can you beat that!). One of the most shining attributes of the Pier 5 hotel is it's staff - this is definitely NOT a cold, impersonal or snooty chain hotel experience....rather, the staff of Pier 5 is welcoming and attentive (without being invasive) throughout your stay. Kevin at the front desk remembered us from last year, made us feel right at home and throughout our stay touched bases occasionally when we passed by to see how our stay was. Same with the rest of the staff from house keeping to the folks at the entrance...everyone was genuinely helpful and welcoming...and not out looking for tips - I hate when that happens..and I never felt that here. One final item about the hotel - they allow pets and not in any alternate run-down rooms...but in the regular, beautiful rooms. I can't recommend this hotel more. Great location, great staff, beautiful rooms and a wonderful time. BTW, they had a great Groupon deal too. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveatClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
DaveatClifton, thank you for your continuous patronage, and we'd also like to thank you for writing a phenomenal review. We are thrilled to hear you had another fantastic experience while staying at our property.

We love reading reviews filled with detailed accounts and wonderfully accurate descriptions of our location. It's great to know you loved the many events we hold in our lobby. Whether it's Crabby Hour, or our delicious breakfast buffet, our guests definitely have no shortage of things to stay busy with right in our hotel.

We are indeed pet friendly, and we're glad you shared this useful tip in your review. We realize leaving a loved pet behind when traveling is something that can be stressful for both the pet and owner. We never want our guests or their furry friends to be in this position, which is why we felt it was only right to be pet friendly. We love seeing the wagging tails and happy faces of these pets.

We'll make sure to let our entire team know they contributed to the success of your recent visit. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,432 reviews
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#7 of 66 in Baltimore
1,285 reviews
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Property: Pier 5 Hotel
Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#6 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing