We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They Put The Charm in Charm City !!!”
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pier 5 Hotel
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I spent our 28th wedding anniversary at the Pier 5 hotel. This was our 3rd time staying in this hotel. Yes, the hotel is beautiful, clean, and in a great location at the inner harbor. What sets this hotel apart from other hotels in the area, is the people who work at the hotel. They actually seem to enjoy their jobs. I want to recognize a few of the staff that made me want to come home and write this review. Kevin Blanton( sorry if I spelled your last name wrong). Hotels can only hope to have someone like him in their employ. He offered us at check in, an upgraded room for no charge extra. While we waited, we sat in their lobby/reception area and drank complimentary champagne and dipping various fruits in chocolate and caramel. When our upgraded room was ready, Kevin gave my husband a 50.00 gift card to be used at a few different restaurants in the area. Kevin said he was sorry it too so long for our room. We were enjoying our drinks and chocolate, I didn't realize it was taking too long. Hey, I'll not look a gift horse in the mouth. We used the 50.00 gift card at Ruth Chris Steak house. We had a great time there too. Kevin gave my husband a # to text the hotel while we were out if we needed anything. Kevin greeted us the next morning and genuinely seemed interested in if we were having a good stay. Thank you Kevin, you helped make our stay wonderful. Four other people that I'd like to acknowledge are James( York College), Billy, Tavon and Jessica. James, you made our champagne/chocolate experience a yummy, fun time. You definitely picked the right career. You'll do very well. Billy, Tavon, and Jessica, thank you for making our breakfast not only delicious but very pleasant. The omelets and waffles were the best! FYI- when you make a reservation, say yes to their Harbor Magic experience package. For $25.00, you'll get a bottle of red or white wine, 2 breakfast buffets and a $25.00 gift card to be used on a future visit. That was a no brainer. Who wouldn't get that? The Ritz Carlton has nothing when it comes to customer service on the Pier 5 Hotel. Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liz v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

liz v, thank you for choosing to stay with us during your 28th wedding anniversary, and we'd also like to thank you for writing a phenomenal review. We're thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your time at our hotel.

We can't tell you enough how much your continuous patronage means to our entire team. We everyone took great pleasure making your stay extra special. We'll make sure to let Kevin, James, Billy, Tavon, Jessica, and everyone else know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a spectacular review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,230)
There are newer reviews for Pier 5 Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 1,230 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed at Pier 5 on a recent stay at the Inner Harbor. We had no real issues with the hotel and it was nice, extremely close to all the attractions. We never had to get back in our car to see the aquarium, ships, Fort Mchenry, water taxi, seafood, malls etc.

The "average" review comes from the fact that for over double the price we really received nothing more from the actual Hotel stay than we did at a Motel 6 on the way.

Everything COSTS you here...parking, breakfast, etc. They tell you that you have "complimentary" water and coffee and tea...BUT add a $9+ charge to your room for "hotel services" that I have no idea what they were or were they explained to me...I certainly did not use any of them because all I did was sleep here.

I would stay here again just for the location, but be aware that is ALL you will get for the high room price.

Room Tip: We had one of the cheaper inner rooms with no view or balcony. For one night it was really nice. i...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

After reading all of the glowing reviews, I have to say that we were a bit disappointed in our recent stay. As others have said, the location is fantastic and the staff is more than helpful. But I did find the layout of the hotel and rooms to be a bit awkward. For one thing, the air conditioning unit was an very noisy old-style casement unit that, at least in our room, was literally an arms length away from our bed. Not easy to sleep with that thing roaring all night. The hotel has a large central atrium - & one of the banquet rooms on the first level had a loud wedding party going on, so all of the racket just echoed throughout the whole hotel. Well, at least the roar of the AC helped drown out the noise from the wedding.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuigiNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

LuigiNewJersey, we'd like to thank you for staying with us during your time in Baltimore. We are glad to hear you felt both our location and staff were fantastic.

We take guest feedback very seriously. We have made sure to pass along your comments to our management team. We're always looking to improve our guests' experience, as we're constantly striving to better ourselves. Your comments are very beneficial, and we hope you'll stay with us again in the future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I just returned from the inner harbor and our stay at the Pier 5 Hotel was just fabulous. The customer service is excellent you are made to feel very special. I had called the day before our trip and had the pleasure of speaking to Elizabeth who was outstanding she was very informative and was kind enough to up grade our room. It was absolutely beautiful and the view was spectacular. Upon our arrival we were greeted by James who checked us into our room very quickly and gave some information regarding how the shuttle worked and places to eat. We also enjoyed the crabby hour and had fun with Brett and AJ his side kick. The breakfast in the morning at the hotel is very good again the service provided by the staff is off the charts. The management should be very proud of their staff they do an excellent job and you can see that they enjoy doing what they do. We plan on making another trip to the Inner Harbor and will be staying at the Pier 5 Hotel.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are spacious and the views are just beautiful
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Robert A, thank you for writing a wonderful review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We couldn't be happier to hear you both enjoyed your time at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how fantastic members of our team were. We are extremely fortunate to have such caring individuals working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll make sure to let Elizabeth, James, Brett, AJ and everyone else know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a fabulous review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We can't wait to see you both back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My wife and I wanted to get away for the weekend and the Pier 5 was the perfect choice. The rooms are very nice and the location was even better. However, the best part of the stay was Richard the Valet. He went out of his way to help us but the best part was while we were waiting on a cab Richard came over to us and starting chatting. It made us feel like we were home and not just another hotel guest

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

dwith5, thank you for leaving a spectacular review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We couldn't be happier to hear you and your wife had a wonderful time at our property.

It's great to know our team did an excellent job making your experience extremely enjoyable. We'll definitely make sure to let Richard know you were very satisfied with the level of service he provided. We are lucky to have him on our team!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to write a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We look forward to seeing you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Pier5 was a GREAT hotel to stay at, with excellent service! The managers were very accommodating to our group of 8x girls and very helpful in anything we requested. The rooms were spacious, the location was excellent and the food was fantastic! I can not thank Kevin the manager and aj enough for all of their hard wok in making our bachelorette party weekend a Huge success!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Ashlie S, thank you for writing a fabulous review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are absolutely thrilled to hear everyone thoroughly enjoyed their experience at our hotel.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how helpful and wonderful members of our team were. We are extremely fortunate to have such dedicated individuals working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure everything is always perfect for our guests. We'll make sure to let Kevin, AJ and everyone else know of all the kind things you had to say.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a fantastic review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate it, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our property, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see everyone back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

If you are looking for out of this world customer service, Pier 5 is the place to stay. The staff is amazing - they go above and beyond to ensure your every need is met. Hotel is also in a great location on the Inner Harbor. Accommodations were okay. The room was clean with amenities. BUT... the beds are terrible - did not get a very good night sleep most of the time. It also surprised me that the rooms with balconies overlook the industrial A/C units which made it unusable (why bother having a balcony). The hotel has Crabby Hour and Chocolate Hour on Saturdays served with beer/wine and champaign which was really nice. Valet parking is over priced $38/day and they don’t tell you about the parking fees when you book. I was also a little disappointed that the pool was off site at a gym - not a place you were bring your children to play. In the end, I really want to say that I would go back to the hotel because the staff was so great, but the uncomfortable beds are enough to keep me away for now.

Room Tip: If you book a room with a balcony make sure it over looks the water and not the A/C units. There is...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Mesix, we want to thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we'd also like to thank you for leaving feedback from your recent visit. We are very happy to hear you felt our team was phenomenal and took care of you.

From reading over your review, we saw you mentioned how some of our rooms overlook A/C units. If a guest books a room with a balcony, or "Harbor View", they will not be placed in a room overlooking the A/C units. If a guest pays for a balcony, than the balcony will have a "Harbor View". If a balcony is looking at the A/C units, than it is considered a "City View" room, and the balcony was not an added cost.

We've made sure to pass along the comments regarding our beds to our management team. We take guest feedback very seriously, and we're always looking to improve the guest experience.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to write a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

Thank you. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#7 of 67 in Baltimore
1,297 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,517 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#6 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: £126 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing