We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great Getaway!!”
Review of Pier 5 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pier 5 Hotel
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another Great Getaway!!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Pier 5 once again for a short weekend getaway. We're from Baltimore, but when we are lucky enough to get a free weekend, we like to escape to the Pier 5. The rooms are always clean and comfortable, and you can't beat the views from the rooms. The staff is also always friendly.

If you get lucky enough to book during a concert at Pier 6, you can hear the music or catch of glimpse of the concert from the hotel. My husband and I love this hotel, and it is quiet.

The only thing I wish is that we could book one of their beautiful suites for one of our weekends away. It seems they are always booked on the weekends that we want to stay. Perhaps in the future, we will be able to book one.

Will be booking at this hotel again as always. Never disappointed with our experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmrgrl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
bmrgrl76, thank you for writing a spectacular review, and we'd also like to thank you for your continued patronage. We are extremely happy to hear you continue to have an enjoyable experience at our hotel!

From reading your review, we saw you mentioned you loved our location. We’re thrilled to hear our beautiful views allow you and your husband to escape for a short weekend getaway. We’ve passed along your kind words, and we’re looking forward to your next stay with us!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    225
    111
    63
    53
See reviews for
260
434
37
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shamong, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I was very pleased with my recent stay at Pier 5. The hotel was clean and close to everything in the Harbor. I would recommend this hotel if you have kids and a family. You can walk everywhere. My kids wish we made it to Crabby Hour but we got caught up at the Cheese Cake Factory. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28theresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
28theresa, thank you for writing a great review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very happy to hear you and your family had an enjoyable experience during your time at our property.

We saw in your review that you mentioned how family friendly our location is. We’re fortunate to be located within walking distance to almost everything. We hope that when you join us again you are able to make it to Crabby Hour!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I recently stayed at Pier 5 (first time) since I had an appoint in town. My room (corner room) overlooked the inner harbor opposite the national aquarium. I had a private balcony & the view was absolutely beautiful at night. My room was very large & tastefully decorated & had a small vase of fresh purple flowers in the bathroom. A deep purple accent wall behind the bed. The staff was very accommodating & the free breakfast in the morning was one of the best I've had i.e., omelette station made to order with fresh blackberries & dried apricots among other garnishes. I would definitely stay here again, no question. You're also within walking distance to all major attractions and Little Italy for great food. Also free Wifi. It was perfect.

Room Tip: A corner room plus one overlooking the Inner Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Nick908, thank you for writing a spectacular review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience during your time at our property.

From reading your review, we saw how happy you were with your room accommodations. Our location allows our guests to enjoy all the Inner Harbor has to offer (including the views!) and we’re glad you loved your balcony! We’re also thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your breakfast. We will definitely pass along your comments to our team!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hauppauge, New York
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My wife, daughter, and I stayed for four days. The staff, specially James at the frontdesk, were great. The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. We enjoyed the "Crabby Hour". The hotel was conveniently located to everything. There are shops, great restaurants, and tons of activities for everyone (yes, even for a teen!). Loved our stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a bay view. We stayed on the third floor, the ceilings were very high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigedlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
bigedlaw, thank you for writing a spectacular review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are extremely happy to hear you and your family had an enjoyable experience during your time at our property.

From reading your review, we saw you mentioned our convenient location. We’re fortunate to be situated close to all that the Inner Harbor has to offer, and we’re glad you were able to experience all of the great activities around us. We also saw you commented how happy you were with James. We will definitely pass along your comments to him!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here a couple of days ago for my family's first visit to the Inner Harbor. Never again!!! Aside from the location which was conveniently steps away from the attractions we desired to visit, the rooms and serviced sucked to put it nicely. We got a room that had permanent stains on the furniture as lightly put by the front desk clerk, but appeared to be urine stains and the room smelled awfully rank. Broken window treatments, a city view room which was blocked by the outdoor HVAC units and nonchalant desk clerk were definitely not worth the $200 spent for a nights stay. Will definitely not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VA4losers .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, General Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear VA4Losers,

We appreciate your feedback as it pertains to your recent stay at our hotel. We are extremely disappointed that we failed to exceed your expectations, and I would like to apologize.

Your experience means a great deal to us, and we will coach the team accordingly. The issue with the chair in your room has been rectified. While it was not urine, the spot has been removed.

If an upgrade to a harbor or city view is available, we can certainly offer that to any of our guests. Please contact me directly, Brett Henry, to discuss your experience and measure to make things right for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night as a stop on our way to Philadelphia. We checked in on a Monday evening. Our room was very clean, and the staff was helpful. My goal in staying here was to have a good view of the harbor, and it did not disappoint. The shuttle they provide is a great way to get around the city. The only discouraging part was the hotel parking. It cost $22 for one night. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Amy M, thank you for writing a great review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us on your way to Philadelphia. We are extremely happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience during your time at our property.

We saw you mentioned our location in your review. We’re lucky to be in such a great area with beautiful views and convenient access to all that the city has to offer!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Saturday August 2, 2014 I had the pleasure of attending my cousin 30th birthday celebration. Everything was nice, especially the customer service I received from AJ. He kindly pointed me to the restroom and provided additinal information as needed. He even took the time to assist me in fanning myself since I had gotten over heated from dancing.I certainly will be back. Maybe I will give myself a party at Pier 5.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgettegail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Pier 5 Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
bridgettegail, thank you for writing a great review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are very happy to hear you had an enjoyable experience for your cousin’s birthday!

From reading your review, we saw that AJ was a stand out! We’re thrilled AJ was able to provide such spectacular service. We will certainly pass along your comments to him. We’re looking forward to your future party with us!

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means, and know this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 5 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 5 Hotel

Property: Pier 5 Hotel
Address: 711 Eastern Ave, Baltimore, MD 21202-4694
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#6 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pier 5 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pier 5 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 5 Baltimore
Hotel Pier 5
Pier 5 Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing