We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice people, bad hummus.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baba's Kitchen

Baba's Kitchen
Ranked #126 of 1,999 Restaurants in Baltimore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice people, bad hummus.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Hummus was super disappointing. Super-duper disappointing. I lived in the ME for ten years. I should know.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly folks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Love the food here; everything is fresh, tasty, and served with a smile. Wonderful hummus, the dolmades are mouth-watering, and we've never had anything bad. As said elsewhere, the price is a touch on the high side, but it's a local restaurant in a local neighborhood, and worth supporting for an excellent meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bon23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“a little pricy, but good food and great people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

food made to order, all delicious, but the room is small and on a busy day you might not get a seat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
567 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Good Food at a Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We first visited Baba's back in November of 2010 while touring part of Baltimore with our adult daughter. We arrived on foot and enjoyed our lunch.

Recently, we were coming from Ft. McHenry and needed some lunch. We passed Baba's and then through a miracle of sorts, we actually found street parking!

Both times we enjoyed the $7 chicken kabob and for $3 added a small salad and hummus. The first time I had it over rice, the second on a pita. Our daughter's boyfriend had a very interesting falafel pizza.

People come for the food, certainly not the atmosphere in this tiny self-serve restaurant. They have a couple tables outside for the nice weather, so that expands the tiny seating capacity somewhat. Staff is friendly, and the food seems very fresh.

Don't know that we will get back in the neighborhood again, but if we do, we will gladly hit Baba's for lunch a third time!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenUnicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
214 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Love that place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Baba's Kitchen is a gem! Food is excellent, very reasonably priced and authentic. Baba's doesn't serve wine, but you can bring your bottle there. If you like coffee, be sure to ask for Turkish coffee to complete your meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baba's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Baba's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing