We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice Place to stay”
Review of Admiral Fell Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Admiral Fell Inn
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice Place to stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, it is high end on the price, but they deliver with service, hotel placement, and quality of rooms. It is in Fells Point, so if you are into nightlife, this is the spot. Canton and Federal Hill are just a 15 min. drive away if you want to check out another 50 bars. Crime in the area is bad after dark, car break- ins especially, so DO NOT LEAVE valuables in view inside your automobile in view.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolb43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Coolb43, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a fantastic review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are very happy to hear that you were impressed with the level of service you received, as well as the quality and atmosphere of our hotel.

As you mentioned in your review, the Fell's Point area is certainly a prime place for those interested in nightlife. This truly makes our hotel a nice choice for those looking to enjoy themselves without having the hassle of traveling great distances.

Very good tip about leaving valuables out of sight in your car. Unfortunately, no city is immune to crime, especially when it gets dark. It's small precautions like this that can prevent your valuables or possessions from getting damaged or stolen, and keep them safe.

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. We really appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much this means to us, and that this kind act certainly doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    287
    93
    68
    42
See reviews for
197
542
60
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hendersonville
Level Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The hotel is in middle of all of the action in Fell's Point. There are numerous restaurants and bars just outside the front door. The service was good and we found the hotel nice and clean. Our room was well decorated and very comfortable. All of the employees that we encountered were friendly and nice. We took advantage of the free shuttle a couple of times. It is great for going over to the Inner Harbor. The parking in Fell's Point is limited. The only negative is the $32.00 a night valet service.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Attkica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Attkica, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a great review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're glad to hear that you fully enjoyed your time while staying at our hotel.

As you mentioned in your review, our hotel truly has a prime location for those interested in all the great things to do in Fell's Point. Many of our guests love the fact that they can easily walk to many nice restaurants and stores in the area from our hotel.

We'll make sure to pass along the kind comments you made to our staff. They work extra hard to ensure our guests have the best experience possible. One thing they love the most is hearing back from satisfied patrons, and we're sure your review will put a smile on their faces!

On another note, we'd like to inform you that we'll be passing along your comments on the valet parking that you made. We know that finding parking can be quite hard in Fell's Point, (even for us) which plays a large factor on the cost for valet.

We'd like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed a few nights at the Admiral Fell Inn recently. We enjoyed almost every aspect of our stay here and did not experience any of the minor annoyances that some reviewers noticed (worn fixtures, unchanged linens, noise). The Inn is well maintained and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable, the room was quiet, and while old, the room was on par with more modern facilities, size and amenity-wise.

The location of the Inn is both a blessing and a bit of a curse...Fell's Point is a lovely section of the City, with ample dining options within walking distance, and even an excellent little 'farmer's market' just outside on weekend mornings. However, if you've been to B'more before, you know that parking is expensive, and Admiral Fell is a victim of that too, lacking their own parking area. As a result, you either have to park a couple blocks away and walk to the hotel (almost $20/night) or you can valet...but the valet rate was about $30/night, not including valet tip (I think that's kind of pricey to charge a guest). Also, while the Harbor Magic hotels do offer a shuttle service to get you to the Waterfront attractions like the Aquarium, we found the shuttle to be very slow and somewhat unreliable. One evening, we waited at the Pier 5 for the shuttle for 45 minutes - it never showed so we ended up walking. (the walk is do-able, but not pleasant if the weather's not nice). Note that there is a water taxi stop near the Inn, and that's probably a good option to get around for 1 or 2 people, but it's a bit expensive for a family ($48 for a day pass for the 4 of us).

If you're looking for a nice place to stay in Baltimore that's not in the center of the action, the Admiral is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
MikeandGayle, we'd like to thank you for leaving us a fabulous review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We are extremely happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay with us.

After reading your review, we are glad to see that you felt your room was on par with more modern hotels, both in the size of the room, as well as the amenities offered. There is one thing that we do have over many of these modern hotels, and that is our hotel's wonderfully rich history.

We'll certainly pass on your comments about the price of our valet parking, and we'd like to apologize for the wait you experienced for the Shuttle while at our sister property. We'll make sure that both of these issues are addressed, and we'd like to thank you for bringing them to our attention.

We'd like to thank you for taking the time to share with us, and the TripAdvisor community on your stay. We are truly grateful when guests take the time out of their day to leave us an amazing review. We hope you realize how much we really appreciate this, and that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We felt the upkeep of this historical inn could be better. For example, the furniture/fixtures were run down, the carpet and drapes were stained, and the tub did not drain. Also, the bed was unchanged when we checked in.

On the upside, the hotel has a good location in Fell's Point, which has quaint shops, several coffee shops/restaurants, a nice waterfront, and a lively night scene. Also, the hotel has a free shuttle that travels to Johns Hopkins/Kennedy Krieger.

Tips: Ask for a room away from the street -- they will be quieter. Ask about the free shuttle if you need to travel to Johns Hopkins Hospital or Kennedy Krieger.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street -- they will be quieter. Ask about the free shuttle if you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
travelgal75, we'd like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your stay with us. After reading over your review, we'd like to inform you that we have passed along your comments to the appropriate individuals in order to improve ourselves.

I'd like to inform you that our hotel is undergoing a renovation that began with the refinishing of the furniture this month, new linens, new lamp shades and throughout the rest of the year, the carpet will be replaced.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity, and return once our renovations are completed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and I just returned from a mini-vacation celebrating our 30th anniversary at Admiral Fell Inn. Very charming and romantic. The staff is wonderful and I cannot say enough nice things about Hakeem - he remembered our names, was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We felt like we stepped back in colonial times. We enjoyed the Admiral's reception Monday Night - wine and cheese and interesting conversation. The water taxi is very close - just across the street. There are lots of outside seating eating places within walking distance. We purchased the magic harbor nights package - but really didn't use the coupons. The coupons we did use were attached to the water taxi ticket. I would recommend staying at this inn. Thank you to the staff - you made us feel very welcomed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Wendy Y, thank you for taking the time to write us a great review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're extremely glad to hear that we were able to make your 30th anniversary even more special with your mini-vacation to our hotel.

We'll definitely make sure to pass along the kind comments you made to our staff. They work extra hard to make sure that everything is perfect for our guests. We have such a great team, and it seems like you certainly saw this first hand.

We'd also like to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay with us. It means so much to us when guests take the time to leave us a wonderful review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this, and that this kind gesture does not go unnoticed!

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future stay at our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you and your husband back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Hard to tell where to start. First the bad news... worn out lamp shades, nasty carpeting. Sure needs work that hotel. Then all the good news over two stays in the hotel.

My wife and I were waiting in the lobby - not happily either - since our room was not ready. A gentleman caught our eye - walked over and said "you look unhappy" how can I help. He got us checked in immediately, took our luggage up to the room. We were missing towels (laundry problems) - he brought those too along with two glasses of wine and a sincere apology. Not sure who he was until we met him at the Admiral's reception down in the bar. He is / was the General Manager. And...he made pickles! Lot's of them! And we loved them! Seems there were done as a promotion for the hotel that was once a vinegar factory. The next day - and for the next two days - we saw him in the lobby at breakfast chatting with everyone and in the lobby at night as he directed guests to area attractions and outstanding restaurants. (Our favorite and we hear his too was the Thames Street Oyster House.) Leaving after the first visit we were searching for a taxi and out the door and down the street he went until he flagged one down.

Our second visit (my wife is a JH patient) was just as kind and memorable. Still bad carpet and shades, still needing a good upgrade but..still very inviting and caring. We missed the manager on the first day of this last visit but he left a note in our room and caught up with us as we checked out. We will be back and, hope to see him again soon.

Another bad note though - the pickles are gone! Bring the back the pickles - probably the best ones I have ever eaten (better that my wife's and even she agrees). Very seriously it is the staff and the manager who made these two stressful trips so much better for us. I hope he lasts there. Our hospital contact sadly let us know that the history of the property does not bode well for it's managers.

Room Tip: Inside rooms are quieter - great valet and shuttle services!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyDBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
We don't know where to start either! We'd first like to thank you for leaving us a spectacular review, and we'd also like to thank you for your continuous patronage. We'd like to first address the comments you made in the beginning of your review. We want to thank you for providing us this feedback, and know that we are going to make sure that this gets brought to the attention of our staff.

We're happy to hear that we were able to address the issues that you had in the beginning of your stay, and really create a warm, and welcoming environment to relax in and enjoy. In regards to our pickle promotion, this was only a seasonal promotion, however based on the popularity, we may very well bring it back some time in the future.

We'd also like to thank you for taking the time to share with us and the TripAdvisor community on your multiple stays at our hotel. It truly means a lot to us when guests take the time out of their day to leave us an incredible review. We hope you realize how much we really appreciate this, and that it certainly doesn't go unnoticed.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you and your wife when you're in the area again, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, md
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

went to fells point for a birthday party and stayed at the Admiral Fell Inn, and what a quaint little inn. We had a room on the 4th floor corner that overlooked Broadway and Thames street couldnt have been more perfect. old but with alot of charm. the noise was a little bothersome from the street but what did i expect, saturday night at fells point? we were given a bottle of wine upon checking in, and after some research, i could buy the same bottle for 4.99 which i thought was a little cheesy but would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6stringer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarborMagicHotels, Public Relations Manager at Admiral Fell Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
6stringer00, thank you for leaving us a great review, and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to stay with us during your time in Baltimore. We're extremely happy to hear that you were very satisfied with your stay at our hotel.

The Fell's Point area is filled with so many great things to do and see, and is so rich in history. Because of this, the location of our hotel is one aspect that we think is so great, and we're glad to see that you felt this way too. We want to offer apologies for the noise and hope that it wasn't too disruptive.

We want to thank you for sharing with us and the TripAdvisor community on your stay at our hotel. it truly means a lot to us when guests take the time to leave us a nice review. We hope you realize how much we appreciate this.

If there is ever anything we can do to accommodate you in a future visit to our hotel, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pier 5 Hotel
#10 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral Fell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral Fell Inn

Property: Admiral Fell Inn
Address: 888 S Broadway, Historic Fell's Point, Baltimore, MD 21231-3486
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#10 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral Fell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfortable inn in Maryland that is similar to the home of a well-to-do nineteenth-century sea captain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Admiral Fell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admiral Fell Hotel Baltimore
Admiral Fell Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing