We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Monaco for four nights during November for business. Conveniently located, its only five minutes from the inner harbour.

Good service, and excellent decor. The lobby is particularly stunning with its marble staircases.

My only fault would be the fact that electronic keycards kept failing. Id use it once no problem to access the elevator but when I get to my room it suddenly denied me access. This meant several unnecessary trips to the reception to update. On one night, the updated keycard did not work!

Overall, a lovely hotel that I will definitely come back to when next in town.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Doug C:

Thank you for your review.
I was happy to hear you had a nice visit. I will be sure to look into your key card issue.
We look foreward to your return so we can turn that nice visit into an amazing one.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    417
    144
    54
    27
See reviews for
293
630
93
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Excellent quality and good value. The room and service were excellent and the location is only a short distance from Conference Center and Inner Harbor. I also appreciated morning coffee and the wine reception at end of afternoon. I did not have occasion to use the pool or spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarkgable99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear clarkgable99:

Thank you for your kind words.
It was great to read you enjoyed your visit.
Our central location is perfect for a visit to the convention center or really any where in Baltimore.
We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, Missouri
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel is defined by the building in which it's located. This is the former headquarters bulding of the B & O Railroad, built in the 1910s. The street-level lobby is resplendant with white marble staircases, walls, and trim. The hotel lobby proper and check-in are on the second floor. The hotel occupies a restored portion of this building. About half the building seems to be still devoted to offices, using a separate elevator bank.

My King bedroom was very large and well-appointed with a large bathroom.

The location is right in the heart of downtown. It is not far from the Inner Harbor and the sights and activites there.

I ate in the hotel's adjacent bar and restaurant for lunch and had drinks there later in the evening. I liked it better as a bar and lounge than I did as a restaurant, but I didn't hold that against the hotel. The restaurant was fine, but the style was not to my taste.

As always, Kimpton service was top-notch. This is definitely a hotel to visit when in Baltimore.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear TravelerKC:

Thank you for your kind words.
We appreciate you staying with us and enjoying our restaurant and bar.
We look forward to your return.

All the best,

Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My family and I only stayed for one night as we were meeting up with some other relatives in Maryland. No problems with check-in and getting our rooms which is great since we arrived very late and were too tired for problems. In our room we had the normal excellent amenities you expect in a Kimpton. In the bathroom the faucet on the sink moved completely. Yes you read that right, the cold water handle wouldn't turn on unless you held the base in place with one hand and turned the handle with the other. I thought I was delirious so I went to bed. In the morning I verified I wasn't crazy then made a mental note to tell the front desk however when I went downstairs for the free continental breakfast (an anomaly because the hotel's restaurant was closed due to the holiday) I was stunned to see empty bowls but lots of juice. Hungry people were milling around like zombies and I asked someone how long they were waiting and they said about 15 minutes. So, my sister in law and I got coffee and sat down to talk while we waited. 20 minutes later I got up to ask the front desk and the lady said she had been trying to call the kitchen but.... Then she would trail off probably trying to not place blame on anyone. So I refreshed my coffee and continued to sit while more families with children arrived looking confused at the now empty tables. They were kind enough to remove the empty bowls to stop teasing us. Another 5 minutes later I asked the gentleman that was cleaning up the coffee area and he didn't know either but at least he went to speak to someone then he and another man disappeared through a door then came back within 10 minutes with bowls of croissants, scones and muffins. Unfortunately since the living room was filled with hungry families those bowls were gone immediately and now sadly so was the coffee. My sister in law and I started talking about the bathrooms and how we liked the jacuzzi until she mentioned the only thing that made her uncomfortable was the fact that the two windows in the bathroom had no secondary shade just the one white shade which she could see clearly through so she assumed it went both ways. During the day you couldn't see in other windows across the way that had the same shades but at night she said she could see in other windows so she was paranoid that people could see her! I'm not entirely sure why it was designed that way but maybe it is something that should be looked at. The final thing was the valet service- I called before I even left the room then went downstairs to the lobby to checkout while I sent the rest to the first floor to load the bags into the car. When I called I gave them my ticket number and when I sent my family downstairs I gave them the physical ticket. It took a little time to check out of both rooms since you tell them what you raided at the mini bar etc. But Kaya(?) was so great to talk to it didn't matter. I hope I got her name right, I'm notorious for messing up names! I was also able to tell her about the faucet which she promptly wrote down. She appeared to be a diligent worker but her co-worker at the desk appeared to wish she was anywhere but there. The phone kept ringing while Kaya was checking me out and it seemed to pain the other one to have to answer it. At one point she told my person that some guy would get it but since it kept ringing she excused herself to me and promptly answered the phone. The other one kept twirling her hair. Anyway I got to the first floor to see my family still waiting for the car because evidently they kept bringing them the wrong car! You have the physical ticket in your hand that clearly does not match the valet ticket they put on the car so what exactly is the problem? Three cars later we got our car and left. This in no way is going to stop me from going to other Kimptons because generally I have had nothing but positive experiences at the other hotels. Maybe they were short staffed because of the holidays. But I had to be honest and say why I was disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Alisa C:

Thank you for your feedback.
I was stunned at your experience as well as this is not the service we are know for.
Please know I take this feedback very seriously and will appropriately adress these issues.
I do hope you return so you can see the type of service so many other reviewers rave about.

All te best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We spent only one night at The Monaco Baltimore... A 45th Birthday gift to me from my wife. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. We had a King sized bed, chaise lounger, a two-person hot tub and separate shower. They provide his & hers bathrobes and extra amenities.
The hotel offers a Happy Hour from 5-6pm in the Main lobby, serving wine and lite fare. The only downside of staying downtown, so close to the main tourist attractions is that parking is not free. Valet parking was $38.00/day.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1222, located on the N side of the building. The view was of the cityscape, so I m...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is very conscious of environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAD68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear JAD 68:

Thank you for your awesome review.
It was great to read our team took such great care of you.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

What stands out to me most about this hotel is that it is located in a beautiful historic building and that the hotel has taken that already gorgeous backdrop and run with it. The decor is first rate and very attractive.

We had dinner and drinks in the hotel bar. It is a very cool bar and the food was great. It is quite a bustling place. Later that night we had some good room service too.

I've stayed in Baltimore many times, and this hotel was by far my favorite.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblingRazorback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear RamblingRazorback:

Thank you for the kind words!
Our team will be delighted to know you had such a great experience in both the restauarant and bar.

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Beautiful hotel in a historic building. Room was perfect. We requested and got a very early check in and a late check out. Wine reception was wonderful in the lobby.....great lounge area with fire. The hotel restaurant was really good. We had breakfast, lunch and late night drinks here and it was all great. We stayed in the Mediterranean Suite and it was gorgeous. Again, the Kimpton line of hotels goes above and beyond! We have stayed in NYC, Philly and now Baltimore and have always been pleased!

Room Tip: 1019 end of corridor, Mediterranean Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edelweiss40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe P, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear edelweiss:

Thank you for the fabulous review.
I will be sure to share this with our team.
We hope to see you soon..

All the best,
Joe Pagone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Address: 2 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21201-3754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#15 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In one of our nation's most distinctive cities, you'll find one of its most remarkable hotels. Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor, uniquely reflects the spirit of this vibrant, historical city. Situated in the landmark Baltimore & Ohio Railroad headquarters, built in 1906, our downtown Baltimore hotel provides an experience like no other. From our elegant three-story lobby, with its original marble floor and Tiffany stained-glass windows to each of our 202 beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites, Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor surrounds you with spacious, timeless style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaco Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing