We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to stay while visiting Inner Harbor Baltimore” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
196 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay while visiting Inner Harbor Baltimore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Friendly staff, nice rooms, good breakfast and only ten minutes from the Inner Harbor and Little Italy. This is a very convenient hotel to visit Baltimore. Parking at the hotel is affordable.
We were very early and got a early check-in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamEnjoyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiebaltimore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. We value your comments and look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    137
    62
    11
    23
See reviews for
112
100
44
143
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount joy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

There were a bunch of girls (12) who stayed here this past weekend for my bachelorette party. The hotel itself is nice, horrible location. My maid of honor booked 3 rooms two months in advance for all of us to stay next to each other, that didn't happen. We got there at 2:45, check in was at 3. The rooms were not ready, we stood around for a half hour, then when they said the rooms were ready, said they weren't all on the same floor. We all came together, booked all rooms at the same time, you would think after asking to have us all together they would do so, nope. Two rooms were on the first floor and one was on the second floor. When we went into our room, it smelled like straight smoke! Why would they even have us go to that room, when it's a nonsmoking hotel? So we had our room switched, and then we were moved to the third floor! So all of us were on each separate floor, how convenient for a party that is together, not!!! It was reserved well in advance and should've made it happen.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cfetrow05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiebaltimore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We really appreciate having the opportunity to have you visit with us and will look at ways to better manage and prepare for guest arrival and specific room assignment request during very busy times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel was frightening, it was like 8 mile. I did like the staff a lot and the room was clean. However- across the hall one night there was a prostitution party literally men were going in and out all night. The shuttle service man was great and funny. The breakfast buffet was bad, the eggs and bacon were horrible. The eggs were in water and soggy. The sausage was like a mushy dirt patty. I don't think I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiebaltimore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your comments. Having the opportunity to address your concerns will help us to improve the hotel's service, facility and quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menomonie, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This property was a great deal for the price. The hotel was within walking distance of the Inn Harbor which was fantastic. However I would recommend using the hotel shuttle at night. It was not the best neighborhood to be walking in at night. Our room was very spacious and spotless. Overall very comfortable. The hotel staff could not have been nicer. The front desk people were very helpful for directions and explaining our public transportation options. We were there for sightseeing so their help with where to eat and how to get there were 'spot on!'. The shuttle was pretty good, but did have to wait one night for a long while. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oskybri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiebaltimore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. We value the opportunity to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is clean, friendly, and everything you could ask for from a Holiday Inn Express. However, this is not located in a good neighborhood and guests should be prepared to take cabs or coordinate with the free hotel shuttle for transportation. My boyfriend and I both live in major metropolitan areas and enjoy walking vs cabs, so we are used to urban living but this neighborhood really was not very safe to walk around in. Across from the hotel is the Juvenile Detention Center and behind the hotel is the Baltimore Police Station and Homicide Investigation Unit. After arriving, it was decided we would not be walking and rely mostly on cabs to get around.
Bottom line: Sketchy neighborhood aside, it was a reasonably priced hotel with free wifi, good continental breakfast, and clean, quiet rooms. As long as you are prepared to put some cash toward cabs or plan your day around the free hotel shuttle schedule, you will enjoy your stay. Cabs are reasonably priced, with most rides costing between $8-15 (Fell's Point, Inner Harbor, Little Italy).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margenpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiebaltimore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We appreciate hearing about your most recent experience and want to remind you that there are other options for transportation other than the hotel shuttle that do not cost but are reliable. The Charm City Circulator is free to the general public and takes passengers to most all major attractions in Downtown Baltimore. The hotel's breakfast is actual a Full Buffet Breakfast. The Juvenile Service Center is a very comprehensive facility that serves the needs of families with troubled kids. In addition to the Police Headquarters being located just a block away, City Hall,the Fire Commissioners Head Quarters and the States Attorneys Office are all within a one block radius of the hotel. This hotel is as safe in this location as any other hotel located anywhere in the City of Baltimore. Even more so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

My girlfriend and I decided to stay here for a one night get away. We chose this hotel due to price and location. The price was cheaper than most of the other hotels that were right in inner harbor, or by the stadium. When we arrived we were greeted by two young ladies. They weren't the nicest people in the world, but seemed professional. Parking was 15 dollars in addition to the hotel room which is about average for the area. There are a ton of homeless people very close by (across the street) which made my girlfriend a little nervous walking through the area... The room itself was very clean with a nice over look of the city. The bathroom was spacious and had great shower water pressure. Our only complaint was that in the middle of the night our room phone kept ringing off the hook. they apparently had problems with a software upgrade. I slept through the ringing but my girlfriend got very little sleep and was upset until she unplugged the phone from the wall. It was approximately a 5 block walk to inner harbor and a 10 dollar cab ride to fells point or federal hill. Overall it was what we expected for the room rate. I may stay here again if the price is right!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiebaltimore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your comments. The appearance of homelessness in the area is due to the Health Care for the Homeless facility that many people visit the area to receive free medical treatment. The issue relating to the phone system you experienced was resolved immediately following the conclusion of the System Refresh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Booked this hotel because it was one of the cheapest near the downtown area. Then I figured out why...it's not at the best part of the downtown area. The hotel itself is clean and wonderful! The rooms are nicely sized especially the bathroom. Many hotel bathroom are cramped and you barely have any room when opening and closing the door. The rooms were excellent! Even came with a microwave and fridge. The bed and pillow were one of the best I've slept on. Walls and window were sound proof or the hotel was just very quite because when other people were coming back late I wasn't woken up by doors slamming or people talking in the hallway. You can get easily confused when going to your room after you get off the elevator because it isn't a typically hotel with long hallways. The lobby is very unique since the building used to be a bank. They do have a complimentary shuttle that goes a one mile radius of the hotel so that helped me get to dinner at the inner harbor and back safely. I wouldn't recommend walking around the area at night but location isn't a thing they can change. They do have customer service and clean rooms which is very important.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiebaltimore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Your comments are very important to us. Being able to provide a facility that is clean and well maintained cared for by associates who are friendly and caring along with the value of added amenities that include free breakfast, shuttle transportation and Internet access is important to our guest. In addition to having a microwave and refrigerator in the rooms we also have safe, coffee makers, hair dryers and 32" flat screens televisions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Address: 221 N Gay St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#27 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in downtown Baltimore is now accepting reservations for arrivals after July 26, 2009. Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Baltimore Downtown is conveniently located off I-83 a block away from the city hall in the heart of the city business and government district. The closest downtown hotel with free shuttle to Johns Hopkins Main Hospital and Medical Center, at the back yard of Merci Hospital, and with easy access to the Inner Harbor, the Baltimore National Aquarium, Science Center Museum, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Hospital, Art museum Mount Vernon, Fort McHenry, the Orioles Camden Yard stadium and the Ravens M&T Stadium. Baltimore, Maryland will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of outdoor activities such as Baltimore Zoo, Power Plant night life, Historic Fells Point, Pimlico Horse Race Track. The 1920 historic, elegant building offers 68 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 5 suites equipped with deluxe, new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access.This brand new hotel also features spacious elegant lobby and grand room, Jacuzzi suites, exercise room, business center, meeting room. Stay Smart, we are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing