We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Basic Hotel if you Get a Good Price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2009

New hotel, small rooms but clean and crisp, free wifi, very fast, breakfast included but very basic - don't expect blueberries and eggs how you want them! Getting wifi and breakfast of any sort included with a clean room, climate control - can't go wrong. Very basic hotel, not much going on so if you want a clean room with internet, go for it if you get a good price.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irlundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

492 - 498 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2009

stayed in oct during a conference. THe hotel is new, and it is truly a good hotel. The rooms are spacious, nice. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the convention centre, perfect. (one day the shuttle wasn`t there and we needed a trip to the convention centre, the staff arranged a taxi, for free.
free breakfast,
free internet acces,

the fitness centre is the only thing that could have been better
The staff is truly very friendly, kind and very helpful.
a truly good hotel !

Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
Thank dutchietraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Previous reviewers have commented on the degree to which this new hotel has opened without really having everything checked and working - and our experience was no different. It should be a flagship for Holiday Inn Express - an elegant bank building that has been sensitively refurbished with a particularly large and elegant lobby space. It also has a first rate staff team. The neighbourhood is 'up and coming', which means that it has a slightly edgy feel, but it is close enough to the Inner Harbor - about five blocks - to be confident that improvement will continue. Besides, it is only about one block from a major police post and patrol cars are constantly in evidence. However, what we Brits call the "snagging" process at the end of a big construction job has plainly not been done satisfactorily, if at all. Our room had a chipped bath, a badly scratched side panel on the bath, a loose faucet over the bathroom sink (tap over the basin), power circuit that did not function and rendered two lights inactive, and a loose leg on the studio chair. We were staying over a weekend so it was not unreasonable that some of these could not be fixed by maintenance, but they do raise issues both about building management and construction quality. If a plumber got away with fitting a chipped bath, or dropping a wrench into it and not replacing it, what does this say about construction standards - and what other problems are lurking? The front desk were charming and thanked us for our courteous reports - if we didn't tell them about problems, they couldn't be fixed. Well, there are consultants in the hotel business who do that sort of pre-occupancy checking - and I don't think they would miss a chipped bath. Is it really fair to expect customers to do that checking for you? Is it really appropriate to charge them quite a full rate for being the test-drivers? I do think this is a hotel with a good future - but I would track its reviews quite carefully to be sure that the problems reported by this, and other early reviewers, do actually get fixed.

By the way, if you are there on a weekend, there is a really good farmer's market on Sunday morning just one block down the street.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I had booked this hotel as it was literally across the road from the venue I was attending, which was my whole reason for being in Baltimore. It's a lovely building, and the room was of excellent quality. There were a few missing items; no general information about Baltimore, and no Guest Directory, but as I knew this was a relatively new hotel, I overlooked this omissions.
What I can't overlook is what happened when I tried to do a load of laundry before I left. Unbeknownst to me, the guest laundry was not operational. As there was no indication AT ALL that this was the case (not even a simple "OUT OF ORDER" sign on the machines or door), I loaded the (apparently working) washing machine with my laundry and detergent, but could not start the machine. A call to the front desk confirmed that it wasn't working. This knowledge would have been helpful before I'd soaked my dirty laundry with detergent.
As I had 90 minutes before I had to leave to get a bus to Philadelphia, I accepted the offer for housekeeping to do my laundry for me. Ninety long minutes later, I still didn't have my laundry back, and I had 20 minutes to get to the other side of Baltimore to catch my bus. Eventually after practically begging for my clothes back, they were returned (still wet) and despite the best efforts of the young man driving the hotel shuttle, I did indeed miss my bus and had to forfeit my prepaid fare, then fork out $70 for a train ticket in order to get to Philadelphia in time for a pre-arranged engagement.
To say I was upset and disappointed is an understatement.
If I was in Baltimore in a year's time and needed to stay close to the same venue, I'd consider it, but would probably stay elsewhere and fork out for the cab ride instead. Particularly as they charged me for the shuttle because a cab would have taken even longer to get there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellalily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

A great new hotel built on an old bank site. Excellent service and close to the all the attractions including the port. We were concerned at first about the location (across the road from the juvenile offender’s court and located on a rough looking street) but it turned out to be fine. We walked two blocks and were in down town Baltimore close to the inner harbour. The only problem is there is no parking lot and I wouldn’t recommend parking on the street. We were allowed to park in the unfinished car park at the rear of the hotel, which is ok and is regularly patrolled by security staff. The place will be perfect when they complete the car park. We got a great deal making our booking on line. I would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitchAndRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Zeen 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank JaKoaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#16 of 67 in Baltimore
1,158 reviews
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown

Address: 221 N Gay St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4811
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#27 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: £85 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel in downtown Baltimore is now accepting reservations for arrivals after July 26, 2009. Brand new in 2009, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel Baltimore Downtown is conveniently located off I-83 a block away from the city hall in the heart of the city business and government district. The closest downtown hotel with free shuttle to Johns Hopkins Main Hospital and Medical Center, at the back yard of Merci Hospital, and with easy access to the Inner Harbor, the Baltimore National Aquarium, Science Center Museum, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Hospital, Art museum Mount Vernon, Fort McHenry, the Orioles Camden Yard stadium and the Ravens M&T Stadium. Baltimore, Maryland will keep you fully entertained by offering a variety of outdoor activities such as Baltimore Zoo, Power Plant night life, Historic Fells Point, Pimlico Horse Race Track. The 1920 historic, elegant building offers 68 luxuriously appointed guest rooms, including 5 suites equipped with deluxe, new bedding, Smart Bath Collection, granite counter tops, 32 flat panel multimedia televisions, and free wired/wireless high-speed Internet access.This brand new hotel also features spacious elegant lobby and grand room, Jacuzzi suites, exercise room, business center, meeting room. Stay Smart, we are confident that your stay with us will be a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Baltimore-Downtown Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing