We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant Rest Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elegant Rest Spot”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This place was gem. Trish made us feel very welcome, gave a tour, carried our luggage, and had tea and cookies to enjoy. While located in a residential neighborhood, it was just across the street and down from the stadium. All of Inner Habor was within walking distance, but because it rained, we road around a little on the free city bus. The place was very quiet and the furnishing were lovely. They had spared no expense in the renovation. I plan to go back again soon since it is only an hour from Washington.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw had a fireplace, but one even had a washer and dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louandlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
241
19
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

First of all, this bed and breakfast is in a fantastic location, within walking distance to almost every attraction and restaurant in the Inner Harbor. My friend and I were able to walk everywhere, which was a lot more handy than having to find parking everywhere we went.
Secondly, the house is probably the most beautiful building I have ever seen. It is completely restored and updated to the very last detail. It is a thousand times more beautiful than even the pictures suggest. Our room had a view of the courtyard, which houses one of the city's oldest trees. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and there was even a fireplace to keep us warm and cozy.The owners are also eco-friendly so you're doing good for the earth also!
Most importantly, though, the owner and staff were the nicest people ever. When you arrive at the parking lot, the owner comes out to meet you and walk you around to the building. She asks when you would like breakfast to be served, rather than dictating a time. She makes you feel completely at home, offering us hot tea and freshly-baked cookies. It was more like oing to see an aunt who will spoil you than signing papers with a proprietor. She also knows a lot about the area and was able to suggest places for shopping and eating and gave us directions.
Bottom line: if you are in Baltimore, Rachel's Dowry is the place to stay. We are going back in spring when it is warmer. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flower_child1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

I attended a trade show at the Convention Center and decided to stay over, a first for me in my decade of coming to this show. As a single female traveler, I wanted cozy comfort and safety. I could not have asked for a better place. The B&B is a 2 minute walk from the Convention Center and there is private parking in the back. Norman was more patient with my myriad phone calls and requests than any mortal should be. He was flexible, friendly, and responsive. The room was elegant and extremely comfortable. There are tons of large hotels in the area, but I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere but in this historic home when I return. The price with parking and breakfast was lower than those huge and anonymous labyrinths. It exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NaomiBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Excellent all the way around. I only wish my stay could have been for a longer time. What a great find. I'll be back this coming spring.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank parismi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozet, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Absolutely charming historic house in a great location, within walking distance of the inner harbor. Elegant breakfast and warm hospitality--including accommodating my gluten-free diet. Our two teenagers loved it as well. On top of that, a mere two blocks away is a great little cafe (Corner Bistro and Wine Bar) with a butter pecan ice cream made with Glenn Fiddich single malt scotch whiskey. Wow! We all want to come back next time we are touring Baltimore.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hot Springs, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Our family group of six chose Rachael's Dowry for a wonderful and memorable Christmas together. What a great choice it was !!!

Rachael's was in a very convenient downtown location for our son, a Hopkins intern, who was working at the hospital during the Christmas weekend. He greatly appreciated knowing he had a Free Parking spot waiting for him at the B&B each time he went back and forth from hospital to family.

Our beautiful bedrooms and the lovely downstairs living and dining areas were so comfortable and charming. Tish and Norman anticipated our every need, gave us excellent restaurant advice, and made us all feel at home. After each fun sightseeing venture to the nearby Inner Harbor, we eagerly returned to Rachael's Dowry to sip hot tea by the cozy fireplace, admire the fresh Christmas tree in the parlor, and look forward to our next delicious breakfast.

The delightful atmosphere during our stay at Rachael's Dowry was a true gift that made up for being far away from home at Christmas, and gave our family much more "holiday cheer" than a hotel ever could have.

To Tish and Norm, "Y'all have a Happy New Year"

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marziwaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Rachel’s Dowry is a fabulously elegant bed and breakfast in downtown Baltimore. The beauty and charm of the inn is rivaled only by that of our hostess, Tish who greeted us warmly upon our arrival. We entered the inn from the off-street parking area, through the courtyard and into the library, which is when Tish began the history of the house. As she showed us to our room, she acquainted us with inn, revealing the beauty held within the walls of each room. The dining room, which was so elegantly set I could not await my return in the morning. The warmth and glow of the fireplace in the parlor was enough to make you want to curl up with that special someone and enjoy the beauty of the room and the company you share. We ventured up the grand stair to the third floor, where our room, The Randolph, was located. The room was very peaceful and cozy, but do not take that as “small” it was perfectly inviting, well-appointed and immaculately clean and following suit, did not disappoint.

The location of Rachel’s Dowry couldn’t be any better! We found the area to be very quiet and suited our needs perfectly. It is within easy walking distance to 1st Mariner Arena and Inner Harbor and for those who enjoy walking and taking in the sights and sounds of the city as we do, even Little Italy and Fell’s point are well within reach.

Upon our late night return to the inn we strolled from the Arena back to the inn where the soft-glow of the inn once again welcomed us. The following morning our day began early and as we left our room we were greeted by the aroma of freshly baked scones and it was clear breakfast would be as superb as the dining room was beautiful. Tish had prepared a wonderfully delicious breakfast… which started with fresh fruit and yogurt, followed by quiche, home-made sausage and alas, warm scones.
Though the inn’s guest rooms were over half occupied with multiple other guests at the time of our stay we never felt like her attention was divided or our privacy encroached. Tish took the time to talk with each of us and made us feel like we truly were her only guests.

Staying at Rachel’s Dowry was a wonderful experience; I only wish we could have stayed longer! I would highly recommend this beautiful inn to anyone looking for a special getaway, be it one day… or one week.

Thank you Tish for making our trip so special, we hope to see you again soon!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any selection!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 637 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown B&B across the street from Oriole Park,close to Convention Center, M&T Stadium and the Inner Harbor. Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast is the premiere Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore, MD. The highest quality Lodging, Inn, Motel, Hotel, Bed Breakfast, Country Inn, Travel, Bed and Breakfasts & Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing