We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engaging Portal to Baltimore!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 12 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Engaging Portal to Baltimore!”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Spent three nights at Rachael's Dowry on my first visit to Baltimore. The charming, beautifully appointed inn set the stage for a great visit. Norman was an engaging host, providing a history of the inn, cooking great breakfasts, and providing information about the area. Cookies, water, wine, tea always available. Wonderfuly library. The rooms are comfortable (loved the fireplace!); the inn is quiet; the area safe. Parking in the rear. The Inn is in the Camden area of Baltimore, directly across from the stadium. The Inner Harbor is about a 15-minute walk away; access to City Circulator and buses are near. I would stay there again -- it's much nicer and less expensive than even the moderate hotels. Restful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirdWatcher_108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
249
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hooversville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Even though I had worked in Baltimore for 8 years back in the 1990s, I had no idea this charming little historic neighborhood was there. Everybody raves about Fell's Point, but this little gem gets no press. Rachael's Dowry is a 1798 colonial house, perfectly restored just a few years ago. My historian husband found it on the Internet because he is VERY fussy, and as the number one B & B in Baltimore, it caught his eye. The restoration is stunning, with original floors (not kidding!)

We weren't disappointed. Our room was gorgeous and very spacious, with a king bed and a real fireplace (fake flickers look very pretty, and it's also a heater if you want!) Very quiet street, too. Since I had a medical appointment at Hopkins early the next morning, we couldn't eat, but Tish kindly sent four warm cranberry scones along with us so we could eat after my tests. YUM! We'll go back again soon just for the pleasure of it -- and we live three hours away! Well worth it ...

Room Tip: I think all the beds are king except for the queen on the third floor. Comfortable and authentic-loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaDeLia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Virginia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We spent a night there and couldn't have been more pleased with the accomadations. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. We had a cup of tea in the afternoon when we arrived and a tasty breakfast the next morning. For us the location is perfect becasue our family is right across the street, but it is conviently located to the Inner Harbor and Candem Yards. I felt like I was staying in a comfortable cozy home. The owners were more than graciuos.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallowell, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The B & B was located near the Light Rail, which made traveling from the airport easy. Norman, the owner, was helpful without being intrusive. He does not live in the B & B, so I didn't feel like I was a boarder in his home. The room where I stayed was clean and attractive, as were the other rooms of the B & B. Breakfast was good, especially the muffins and served at the time requested. I would definitely stay at Rachel's again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We just had our second visit to Baltimore and stayed at Rachael's Dowry for the second time. This last trip was due to my husband having surgery at Johns Hopkins. Norman was wonderfully flexible, kind, and caring throughout our stay. A friend came to visit us there, and she felt exactly the same way. From the beauty of this restored home to the care and attention we received, we were grateful to be in such a welcoming environment. As the other reviews state, the location is wonderful and the breakfasts are delicious. Thank you, Norman!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, VA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

This place was gem. Trish made us feel very welcome, gave a tour, carried our luggage, and had tea and cookies to enjoy. While located in a residential neighborhood, it was just across the street and down from the stadium. All of Inner Habor was within walking distance, but because it rained, we road around a little on the free city bus. The place was very quiet and the furnishing were lovely. They had spared no expense in the renovation. I plan to go back again soon since it is only an hour from Washington.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw had a fireplace, but one even had a washer and dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louandlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

First of all, this bed and breakfast is in a fantastic location, within walking distance to almost every attraction and restaurant in the Inner Harbor. My friend and I were able to walk everywhere, which was a lot more handy than having to find parking everywhere we went.
Secondly, the house is probably the most beautiful building I have ever seen. It is completely restored and updated to the very last detail. It is a thousand times more beautiful than even the pictures suggest. Our room had a view of the courtyard, which houses one of the city's oldest trees. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in and there was even a fireplace to keep us warm and cozy.The owners are also eco-friendly so you're doing good for the earth also!
Most importantly, though, the owner and staff were the nicest people ever. When you arrive at the parking lot, the owner comes out to meet you and walk you around to the building. She asks when you would like breakfast to be served, rather than dictating a time. She makes you feel completely at home, offering us hot tea and freshly-baked cookies. It was more like oing to see an aunt who will spoil you than signing papers with a proprietor. She also knows a lot about the area and was able to suggest places for shopping and eating and gave us directions.
Bottom line: if you are in Baltimore, Rachel's Dowry is the place to stay. We are going back in spring when it is warmer. :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flower_child1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 637 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown B&B across the street from Oriole Park,close to Convention Center, M&T Stadium and the Inner Harbor. Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast is the premiere Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore, MD. The highest quality Lodging, Inn, Motel, Hotel, Bed Breakfast, Country Inn, Travel, Bed and Breakfasts & Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing