We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic Haven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Historic Haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Amidst the hubbub of the city, Rachel's Dowry provides a classy get-away. Actually, you're right at the hub of Baltimore, walking distance from the harbor, the Convention Center, the Aquarium, and an abundance of restaurants. You can stroll right past Camden Yards (it's nearly out the back door). You have exclusive parking. And let me say, the breakfasts which Norman provides are exceptionally tasty and well planned. This house has some glamorous history (I'll let them explain) and has been restored impeccably. You'll want to return like we do.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marwag00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
236
19
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Gordon, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

I would recommend this location for weekends away, family reunions, or small business trips. The location is about a five minute walk to the stadium, a great local restaurant, and a sports bar.

Tish (The co-owner) was an absolutely amazing host. She made every bit of our trip comfortable. We had somewhat of a difficult time finding the parking lot (it really wasn't that hard) but she was there out in the parking lot waiting for us to arrive.

The property itself is gorgeous. It feels like home, and it's really comfortable. There were multiple sitting rooms, and the breakfast room was great. The room we stayed in had everything you needed and more. I was coming home from a deployment and Tish was nice enough to have a bottle of sparkly waiting in the room for my wife and I. The room was beautiful with incredibly nice linens. And, the WIFI was free!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

What a great time we had at Rachael’s Dowry! We were only in town one day but Norman quickly oriented us in the right direction to make the most of our limited time. Great host, great building, and what an amazing bed! Only regret is that we could only stay one day. We had to leave early the next morning for flight back to Seattle, but Norman took good care of us that morning and got us on our way quickly, thanks Norman! If headed to Baltimore, you’d be a fool to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I recently returned from 4 nights at Rachel's Dowry and really enjoyed my stay there. I was in town for a conference which was being held at a nearby hotel but I wanted to stay in a smaller place for a more personal experience and this B&B was perfect. It was only a 5 minute walk from the Convention Center and I had a great breakfast every morning as well as friendly conversation with the owner, Tish. I also enjoyed visiting a couple of the neighborhood bars & restaurants which are mostly sports-themed since Camden Yards is a block away. Unfortunately, Opening Day was the day after I left so I didn't get to catch an Orioles game while I was there. I may have to come back!

Room Tip: I stayed in the Randolph room on the 3rd floor which was very nice for a solo traveler but would als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank up2late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Happy to have found this convenient treasure for our recent visit to Baltimore. Tish and her team provided the perfect compliment to our busy weekend. Artistically furnished and comfortable aurora with a served breakfast, we appreciate dthe attention to detail at RD's, and highly recommend to all that travel through Baltimore......Cheers!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamNeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

My family spent 2 nights in at Rachael's Dowry and couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The Inn was beautiful with lovely interior details and a great location (10 minute walk to the Inner Harbor and right next to Camden Yards). Tish (the owner) was wonderful and had great insight into things to see as well as tips on using the free bus system in the city (also a quick walk from the Inn). Breakfasts were delicious and filling. We stayed in the Carrie Frank Suite which was perfect for my wife, teenage daughter and myself. We will definitely return to Rachael's when we come back to Baltimore!

Room Tip: The Carrie Frank Suite was perfect for a a family of three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1958Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

It was so exciting to find such a warm and comfy place to stay in such a large metropolitan city! The B&B is nestled on a safe and quiet street, but within a short walking distance of all the city restaurants and attractions. From the moment that we were greeted at the front door, Norman made us feel like this was our home away from home! The wonderful king bed and fireplace made our room extra appealing given the cold temps and snow over the St. Patrick's Day weekend! The breakfasts were amazing -- elegantly presented, healthy and tailored to my vegetarian requests! In short: affordable elegance and comfort with 18th Century Charm!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 637 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown B&B across the street from Oriole Park,close to Convention Center, M&T Stadium and the Inner Harbor. Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast is the premiere Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore, MD. The highest quality Lodging, Inn, Motel, Hotel, Bed Breakfast, Country Inn, Travel, Bed and Breakfasts & Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing