We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE only place to stay in Baltimore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“THE only place to stay in Baltimore”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After passing through Baltimore from New England to points south for 5 decades and planning to explore the city 'someday', I finally did it. Long overdue. Charm City is an apt name due to the distinctly diverse neighborhoods, each with its own charm, the friendly residents and hospitality types, and the largely-left-intact vintage architecture and delightful open spaces. Walkable to a great degree, this gem of a city provides convenient public transit busses and even water taxis on logical routes ... all free for the rider. This city, indeed, cares about its citizens and guests. While full of lodging of all types, I can highly recommend one as THE place to stay in Baltimore. Rachael's Dowry Bed & Breakfast is just as so many of the reviews here claim: homey, historical, well-located, well-appointed, and sincere in hospitality. This, of course, is the heartfelt desire of Tish and Norman, the sister-brother team who coordinates their guests' pleasures and experiences. They are sincere in their hospitality mindset, and are also proud to be historical preservationists and 'green' in example. It IS like staying with friends at their large home, the common areas invite exploring and use, and the breakfast is the perfect time to meet the family, other guests, and review or preview one's day in this city. Steps away are Babe Ruth's Birth Home and Museum, Edgar Allen Poe's home and resting place, fun bistros and restaurants, convenience stores, wine shops, Orioles Park at Camden Yards, downtown, the activities, features and museums at the Inner Harbor waterfront, the views from historical Federal Hill, and, of course, a short bus ride to the cobblestoned Fell's Point shops and residential 'hood, Little Italy for wining and dining, and the iconic Ft. McHenry is a do-not-miss when in Baltimore. Indeed, my trip was planned around seeing the July 4th fireworks over the same water and views as Francis Scott Key when he was inspired to write that poem in 1812... it is known now as our national anthem! But, now that I have a home away from home in Baltimore, I plan to visit Tish and Norman again and feel pampered at Rachael's Dowry bed and Breakfast. I'm already looking ahead to peak foliage week this fall ! Ah, Baltimore's vast Druid Park's trees will be awesome ! After a nice hike around, a nap at Rachael's Dowry sounds good before strolling out for dinner.

Room Tip: Being really 'across the street' from Orioles Park, part of the experience is hearing the an...
See more room tips
Green Features: wow... Tish & Norman should write the book... they walk the walk and make it easy to be 'green'
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calvin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
236
19
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I am a seasoned traveler and part owner of my own beachfront resort hotel in St Pete Beach, FL. For reasons unknown, I had never stayed in a true "Bed & Breakfast" Inn until this last weekend in Baltimore for a long baseball weekend.

All I can say is this place is excellent! We felt like we were staying in a good friends house, with all the warmth and hospitality we could possibly hope for.

The room we occupied was clean, very comfortable, and had the most unbelievable comfortable 4 poster bed with sheets to die for. The bathroom was big, well appointed, and spotless.

The breakfast served each morning by the owner / operator was delicious and creative, with some very nice touches....and at our convenience!

The public areas are charming and comfortable as well, with brandy and cookies there for the taking 24 hours / day in the library room.

All this and only a 5 minute walk to the ballpark (it's very close to the Ravens football stadium as well.) and easy walking to many fine restaurants and bars, not to mention the fabulous Inner Harbor area.

I am a huge fan of this B & B and will gladly come back and recommend to friends.

Thanks Tish and Dale for providing us fantastic lodging and a wonderful weekend...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgaryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernandina Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This place is so convenient to free bus service to the Inner Harbor, Little Italy, water and land tours, Walter's Museum plus of course the baseball and football stadiums. Tish and Norman immediately make you feel like family including cookies and drinks, immaculate housekeeping and beautifully decorated rooms. The breakfasts each morning were something to look forward to each day. My wife and I can't imagine staying anywhere else in the Baltimore area.

Green Features: Tish and Norman are very proud of their recycling practices and energy efficient equipment. All innkeepers should be this thoughtful.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRIS N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martins Ferry, OH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We found this B & B on Trip Advisor and booked it based on the excellent views. We were not disappointed, and all of the reviews are absolutely true! Norman, the proprietor, could not have been more accommodating and gracious. We changed our arrival time, and that was just fine with him. The home is very spacious, elegant and beautiful! We stayed in the Odorian Room and it was just LOVELY! Norman was helpful by telling us sites and restaurants in the Inner Harbor area. The breakfasts were delicious. My favorite was the yogurt and fresh fruit cup! If we return to Baltimore, we will be sure to book Rachael's Dowry before we set our travel dates.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hockeymom56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

This past May my wife and I had to go to Baltimore for a family function. We looked at the different, usual suspects, hotels and motels and then came across Rachael's from TripAdvisor. It was close to where we needed to be, so we made the reservations. It was the week of the horse race... This is a great, no GREAT place for a little getaway... no hotel hustle and bustle... Just pure elegance... We were disappointed when we had to return to Baltimore this past weekend and could not stay here, they are booked... For those parents of John Hopkins, UMB, etc students, this is a GREAT alternative, if you need lodging near the Universities... We found it because of their great reviews on TripAdvisor and we found it to be everything their guests have written about... Not only a great time, but opened our eyes to what the benchmark of B & B is...

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spa, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

All major hotels booked for the convention were full, and I luckily found this gem on booking.com. The owner always responded to emails while we were preparing the trip. We had a warm welcome, and the owner adapted to our needs due to the conference (two keys, early breakfast some days). The house is elegantly decorated with ancient high-quality furniture with excellent taste. And breakfast was awesome. What a privileged environment compared to these call all-lookalike hotel chain rooms!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Beautiful Inn a block from Camden Yards and easy walk to Inner Harbor. The owners go to great lengths to insure your comfort and privacy. I booked it based on the reviews and it was all and more! We will return when we get a chance to visit Baltimore again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southbethanyliving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast
Address: 637 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Downtown B&B across the street from Oriole Park,close to Convention Center, M&T Stadium and the Inner Harbor. Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast is the premiere Bed and Breakfast in Baltimore, MD. The highest quality Lodging, Inn, Motel, Hotel, Bed Breakfast, Country Inn, Travel, Bed and Breakfasts & Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rachael's Dowry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing