We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Hotel Room -An Icebox!”
Review of Hotel Brexton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Brexton
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Croton on Hudson, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a Hotel Room -An Icebox!”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Room was nice enough, but nothing makes up for the fact that they do not provide adequate heating! The room thermostat was set at 80, but it was nowhere near that in the room. Somehow we managed to stay warm under the covers, but that's not was prompted my bad review - the bathroom was totally unheated, and therefore was as cold as an ICEBOX. We kept the door closed so as to keep as much heat as possible in the sleeping area, but each time we had to use the bathroom it was like walking into an ICEBOX. In the morning I woke up early and called the front desk to ask them to bring a portable heater - the guy told me that "it's an old hotel, so it's to be expected", but he would try to see if he could call housekeeping and get us a portable heater. In the meantime he told us to turn on the hot water to heat up the bathroom in that way. The heater never came, and needless to say, all the surfaces in the bathroom became sopping wet. When I finally had enough and got dressed and went to the front desk I was told that the "night guy" was gone. The new guy opened a closet next to front desk, took out a heater and came to our room and plugged it in. In addition, the coffee machine was broken, and there was no shampoo in the bathroom, which I would normally just shrug off if it wasn't for the fact that I am so upset about the bathroom situation. For what they charge for a room, I could have stayed at the Marriott or other some such, and gotten my money's worth at least.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jojokon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
I sincerely apologize for all of these problems, and can assure you this matter will be looked into so another guest doesn't have to go through such an ordeal. Please feel free to contact me to discuss this matter further. Your experience is not indicative of the high standards of service to which we hold ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    112
    35
    18
    24
See reviews for
65
206
55
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We stayed for one night this weekend to get away... the renovated rooms are excellent and the space is very nice. The breakfast was OK as well. The location is great, very close to bars, restaurants, etc...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you found our location to be very ideal. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Booked this online and got a great rate and really enjoyed our stay. The building itself is really cool with turrets and a brick facade and it's close to some really charming streets with little townhouses, beautiful old churches and lots of cultural activities. Mt. Vernon is an elegant old Baltimore neighborhood and it's a nice alternative to the chain stores and chain hotels of the Inner Harbor. Our room was clean and renovated with a comfortable bed and decent bathroom. Flat screen TV and nice furnishings with a modern feel. We were on the second floor and overlooked a beautiful little city street with lovely small townhouses. The staff was friendly and breakfast was included, although we didn't take advantage of it. The offerings looked fine, but nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We take great pride in the charm and character our hotel offers. We look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I was scheduled to stay at this hotel on Sunday Dec 9. Our plans changed and I called to cancel on Fri Dec 7 at 3:00 and left a message. The internet confirmation stated I needed to call 48 hrs in advance to cancel the reservation. Check in was not before 3:00 so I assumed I could call at that time. They returned my call and told me in order to cancel it I would have need to call earlier in the day. In a follow up call I spoke with the manager and he stated I would have needed to call before 12:00 on Dec 7 and that the 48 hrs started at that time. They charged me for the room and refused to refund it. I was really pissed in that first, as per confirmation I " needed to call 48 hrs prior to arrival". If I wasn't able to check in until 3:00 then how could the 48 hr time start at midnight the night on the Fri before. Second, they were incredibly rude about it. I will never ever stay there nor recommend any one else to. I do a lot of travel and never had such a ridiculous experience as this.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for sharing your frustration in regards to our handling of your situation when you called to cancel a reservation outside the cancelation period. We do value all our guests and even when they try to cancel last minute we work with them and make exception to use their credit for a future stay. We always extend credit for use by our guests whenever an emergency occurs and in your case, I will be more than happy to assist you. Kindly feel free to contact the General Manager whenever you get a chance so that we can work with you on your issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Difficult time finding parking, parked in a lot down the block and were told we had to move the car by 5:00 AM!

i would go back, but would request a room on a higher floor, street level room was noisy, plus the continental breakfast room was right down the hall, too much early morning traffic.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for your review. As any city location free parking spaces are normally a challenge, but we do have reserved guaranteed parking spaces at a fee, and we always recommend advanced reservation for parking. We will do our best to address the parking issue in future. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utica NY
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

My husband & I recently planned a trip to revisit Baltimore and the Harbor since last visiting in 1984. Our choice of accomodations could not have been bettter! We reserved a room at the very charming and eloquent "Hotel Brexton" and stayed for three nights. So wish it had been longer. This place is not only a piece of history but employs a very small and exceptional staff. It offers a kind of intimacy that is rare. The amenities, the room and esp. the bathroom are incredibly gorgeous and special. Check it out online; but beware the only way to really appreciate this place is to visit it in 'the flesh'. We were mesmerized by the architecture; esp the spiral staircase. There is so much to do in the area, and the transportation system is phenomenal. There are areas outside the "safe zone" that appear a bit scarey, but not to worry; just walk enjoy and when you enter an area that feels uncomfortable turn around and walk back to point A. You won't regret it. This area is loaded with history and incredible architecture. The Drake Museum if free and also incredible; just a short walk from hotel. You could spend days there. Be sure to bring a camera. During the week you can take the train into D.C. for $14.00 RT & get to see both beautiful train stations. This is not your Motel 6 or even Holiday Inn, but so worth the "specialness" of a historic landmark and great staff who work hard to make your stay so enjoyable. See my restaurant reviews for the area also :) Enjoy

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor which was amazing, but I'm pretty sure any room would be awesome. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamiltonmom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to your return to Baltimore much sooner this time around! We can guarantee your visit will be just as amazing as this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west norriton, pa
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Stumbled on this gem by way of a computer package (KGB). Loved the ambiance, hospitality and location. If you like uniformity, generic, etc this will not be your cup of tea. Better you go to holiday inn, works for lots of folks, no judgement here. We love the uniqueness of boutique hotels and this filled the bill. Coffee machine in breakfast room for all your coffee fantasies. Cappuccino anytime you want, awesome . Melanie at desk seemed genuinely interested in our well being. Paul the manager was a very accommodating gentlemen. Lots of closets in room, great tv reception, well stocked Keruig coffee maker and great shower. What more could you ask for!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank selma1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brexton, General Manager at Hotel Brexton, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We agree that our entire staff work hard to make each guest's stay remarkable, one guest at a time. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments with us. Your kind words energize our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#16 of 66 in Baltimore
1,090 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#7 of 66 in Baltimore
1,283 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brexton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brexton

Property: Hotel Brexton
Address: 868 Park Ave, Baltimore, MD 21201-4863
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Brexton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome you to the Hotel Brexton in Mount Vernon, a Designated National Landmark Historic District and a Baltimore Cultural District. Hotel Brexton is a 29-room Queen Anne style boutique hotel, originally constructed in 1881 and beautifully restored in 2010. It is certainly one of Baltimore's Most Unique Historic Hotels and appropriately situated a short walk from Baltimore's finest museums, art institutes, restaurants, night life, antique shops, colleges, symphony and theatre, galleries, and public transportation (train, light rail, and free City bus!). Escape the ordinary and immerse yourself in first-class service and accommodations in this boutique hotel located in the heart of Baltimore, just North of the Harbor and the perfect Hop from NY, Philly, DC or abroad. Rich colors and a trendy atmosphere set the tone for a luxurious experience. The charming and historic hotel offers business and leisure guests the ultimate in comfort and style. Come reacquaint yourself with dedicated service on an intimate scale, recapture the romance of travel and delight in the art of individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Brexton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing