We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Grill - Baltimore

Kona Grill - Baltimore
Reserve with OpenTable
Kona Grill - Baltimore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 1,999 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, Sushi, Japanese, Asian, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Charles St & Pratt St
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My family ate here on a recent visit to Baltimore. My kids (ages 5 and 7) were entranced with the huge fish tanks in the entrance. The host was very nice, pointed out some fish to them, and spoke to them very welcomingly. The sushi was excellent, we got a bunch of different kinds and all of it was all good. I love sushi and am pretty picky, you could really taste how fresh the fish was. The service was excellent, as was the atmosphere. Overall a great experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    165
    51
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Hour, Reasonably Priced, Decent Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Kona Grill is an Asian-American inspired restaurant in Inner Harbor located on Pratt Street near the convention center. The Happy Hour (up until 7 pm) specials here are great (typically at least 50% off the normal menu price) and include sushi, some drinks, a rotating draft beer, draft sake, and menu items like BBQ chicken pizza, satay chicken, spicy lettuce wraps, and calamari (these are some of my favorites). Note that happy hour only applies to the patio outside; the patio is quite nice with a relaxing atmosphere. Fireplaces with couches around them provide a good setting for a drink, while wooden tables have enough space for 2-8 people. There is also happy hour again in the evening around 9 pm, so Kona Grill serves as a good place for an after baseball/football drink or snack. As an aside, the meals are quite caloric (found this out after looking at nutritional facts on the website out of curiosity). As long as you are not searching for a healthy meal, Kona Grill is a good place for a happy hour lunch or dinner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Austin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
209 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A little bit of Kona”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We were in the mood for sushi and a lighter fare meal and this restaurant serves the bill . Great fresh food and drinks . perfect for a casual dinner with a Hawaiin type decor. The pad Thai and spicy salmon rolls were very good. The desserts were too tempting particularly the brownie Sunday and Red Velvet Cake.

Helpful?
1 Thank WBDover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Bartender”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Felicia is awesome at tending bar! Very friendly and very familiar with the menu! Was able to whole-heartedly recommend some quality Sushi options as well as recommending the frozen margarita. Service was great and the food and drink were amazing! Very god Sushi and the happy hour prices are phenomenal!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SantaBBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAYTON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

My family and I dined at Kona Grill on Monday. We love sushi so all ordered from the sushi menu. Not the best sushi I've had, but not bad at all. The fish was good quality. What most impressed us was the decor. Dim lighting, warm ambiance, a lovely fish tank as you enter the restaurant. We most loved the fire pit and sofa area. Cleverly designed restaurant with warm tones. You have many different seating choices from booths to high tables at the front. The music wasn't great, could be better. Very good service. We'd go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MG1926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kona Grill - Baltimore also viewed

 

Been to Kona Grill - Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing