We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere. Staff totally dig what they do.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bluegrass Tavern

Bluegrass Tavern
Ranked #171 of 1,999 Restaurants in Baltimore
Price range: US$29 - US$31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere. Staff totally dig what they do.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Brussel sprouts were spiritual. Cauliflower gratin was fine. Pots du creme tasted vegan but it wasn't. Very pleasant place and staff. My being vegetarian may have been in the way. You just think you don't like brussel sprouts. You will there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ap2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    22
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Awesome Food, Superb Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

This is one of the most unique restaurants in downtown. The menu changes seasonally or as items become available, as every farm to table restaurant should. Chef Tim is a master in the kitchen and prepares unique dishes you'll find nowhere else. He uses local ingredients wherever possible. The charcuterie is all made in house and even the chesses are locally sourced. (Who knew they made an excellent blue cheese in Federal Hill?) The Hogshead Onion Soup is a perfect example - slow braised pig's head meat, a hearty onion broth topped with a crouton and cheese. More like a stew than a soup, but heavenly. Other entrees and sides (rabbit pot pie, sauteed brussel sprouts with blue cheese, etc.) will tempt and delight. We came in with a group on Monday night and the restaurant was uncrowded allowing Eric, our expert server to give us time to savor the entire meal. We will definitely be returning to this restaurant. Note: As one reviewer mentioned, Valet Parking is a must. The restaurant is located within a residential area and towing ordinaces are strictly enforced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fishboy555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Absolutely everything was perfect at Bluegrass Tavern. Personable, thoughtful service and creative, perfectly balanced dishes made the evening very enjoyable. We shared the crawfish hushpuppies and the charcuterie plate with camembert, country pate, and juniper tasso. The rabbit pot pie and the lobster chowder with blackened catfish were both extraordinary. The pecan pie bars were delicious and were just as good with coffee the next morning. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meggan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Came for the bourbon, enjoyed it all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My son and I are both bourbon lovers and enjoy trying different distillers' spirits. He suggested we take Mom to Bluegrass for dinner so that we could sample their bourbon list. When we first saw the menu we were sure we had made the wrong decision since she doesn't eat meat! It turned out there was a nice assortment of appetizers and a fresh fish entree that gave her plenty of options. The menu on line is just an example of the menu you will be handed. Chef Tim changes things seasonally while keeping some standards always on the board. We especially enjoyed the assorted cheese plate (pick your own cheeses) and the tomato bourbon shrimp. I recommend their house special Manhattan that comes with a black cherry. And I must mention that our server was cordial, well informed of everything on the menu, and very attentive even though all the tables in our section were occupied. Always nice to have valet parking available when dining in the city. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Willis1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food and lousy parking...valet is required during dinner hours.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This place has a very unique and Kentucky inspired menu. They serve rabbit pot pie and onion soup with pig's head meat. For those who prefer more typical fare, the cheeseburger is excellent as are the Brussels sprouts with blue cheese. We tried several small plates and all were terrific!

We prefer not to pay for valet if possible, and were surprised that the entire neighborhood is permit parking in the evening. Restaurant guests will receive a $50 ticket for street parking. Valet parking is reasonable at $5 but I would prefer to spend that money, along with the tip, on my dinner!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shelandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bluegrass Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Bluegrass Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing