We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baltimore's Best kept secret! A get away you won't soon forget.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at The Black Olive

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn at The Black Olive
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Gwynn Oak, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
“Baltimore's Best kept secret! A get away you won't soon forget.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

Just spent the last couple days at what must be Baltimore’s best-kept secret “The Inn at the Black Olives.” OMG the service was 2nd to none. Every thing was so elegant but yet not over done. Organic sheets, towels and furnishings with a spa Jacuzzi bathroom that was superb and stocked with organic bath salts, lotions and creams. Just minutes from the harbor, valet parking too!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    39
    15
    12
    18
See reviews for
60
179
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013 via mobile

I think I have a different experience than most but, none the less, important. I found the Inn at the Black Olive because I needed a place to stay while my husband had major surgery at Johns Hopkins. To say that this was just what the doctor ordered is an understatement. This is an Inn where the philosophy is twofold: when you walk through this door you are part of the family; and the health of our planet and ourselves is paramount. Everyone on the staff went out of their way to ensure that we were comfortable. Though there was difficulty with the thermostat, there was never a shrug of the shoulders. They kept trying to get the air conditioning working (it was the end of January!) and they did.

It was also restaurant week in Baltimore. After a grueling day at the hospital, all I wanted was comfort food; not a price fixed menu. When i explained what i wanted the response i heard was "don't worry, we will make it happen". The chef checked off all the dishes he could make for me off menu and I was able to have delectable lamb chops, yummy couscous and baklava.

My husband's discharge date was uncertain, and though I explained this with the understanding that if the discharge was late in the day we would pay for the room, the response I received was "we are not concerned with charges only of your comfort and well being". I know this would not have happened at a chain hotel.

The amazing thing to me is that The Inn is less than two years old. Yes, there are kinks that need to be worked out, but the kindness is overwhelming. We look forward to our next visit (this time for pleasure).
Thank you Dimitris...Alyse and Steve

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank fallingtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Falling Tree:

First, on behalf of the my family, we send our best wishes and prayers for the continued recovery of your husband. We feel like all of our guests are like family to us. Our families dream to marry fine food and fine lodging in the tradition of our ancestors is what keeps us going. This also includes forming the personal relationships with guests to provide a service that is different than all the "box" hotels.

It is an honor to serve people during their times of need. We are here to partner with our wonderful medical institutions to make Baltimore a welcoming place for the recovery of patients and their families. We are honored to be located next to one of the greatest Hospitals in the world.

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenixville, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Checked in early and was told our room was ready and that wine is chilling in the refridge. Got to the room and the door was hanging open, refridge was hanging open with a cleaning cloth on top. No wine, missing pillow cases in bed room and toilet seat sitting up. Clearly not ready for us. Staff did get everything taken care of until we heard the smoke detector in the bedroom chirping. Staff once again took care of everything and was apologetic. Tried to call down to the front desk in the late evening for room service, but our room phone was completely dead. Had to use our cell phone for room service and to order our breakfast in the morning. The room and amenities were great. Price was good and breakfast was good. Poor attention to details made the stay frustrating. Would like to stay again in hopes of things going better the next time, but would only be willing if there would be a buy one night get the next free. Would not want to pay for the same situation again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear David:

Thank you for visiting The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay and sharing your thoughts and experiences with the TripAdvisor Community. Our guests have voted us one of the top Small Hotels in the Country. For this, we are very grateful. Our families dream to marry fine food and fine lodging in the tradition of our ancestors is what keeps us going.

Feedback that is not the best is very helpful for us to get to the level of customer satisfaction that we have. I would like to assure you that we have reviewed with all of our staff the importance of checking before a check in and trying to communicate about the preparedness of rooms so that customers do not experience your frustration even during an early check in. We put in place a battery replacement schedule to avoid such inconvenience of a customer hearing a low battery alert. We also apologize for the outage of the phone. The phone issues were an extremely rare outage of our T1 line. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience you may have gone through. This is our public response. We will also reach out to you personally to confirm that you realize the importance we place on every guest and their feedback good or bad. We look forward to serving you again and incorporating your helpful feedback into the best hotel experience that we can figure out how to deliver!

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2013

We recently returned to Baltimore for a weekend getaway--we stayed at the Inn at the Black Olive. The service was outstanding. Demitris, the owner, was an amazing host. The design, food, and service were all "top-shelf. " Even though the wine and breakfast were complimentary, nothing was held back. The presentation and quality were very impressive!

The environment was comfortable and relaxing and very clean. The experience in the Black Olive restaurant was equally as welcoming and the food is excellent. We lived in Baltimore for many years and now we are delighted that when we return to the area from New York, we have a great place to stay that is organic and refreshingly comfortable. The artwork in our room was fantastic--it was available for purchase and was reasonably priced.

The location is excellent for sight-seeing, shopping, walking or getting your morning run in without the crowd!. And, the walk to the Inner Harbour only takes a few minutes.
Great place to relax and enjoy.
Christine and Irv'

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. The whirlpool is an added feature in each room. The suites are large --t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, Owner at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Christine:

Thank you for visiting The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay and sharing your thoughts and experiences with the TripAdvisor Community. Our guests have voted us one of the top Small Hotels in the Country. For this, we are very grateful. Our families dream to marry fine food and fine lodging in the tradition of our ancestors is what keeps us going.

You and your wonderful husband have been the joy that keeps one in this grueling business, and with a smile. To provide service to gracious brilliant people like you is an absolute pleasure!

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

This was my first stay in this hotel but not first stay in Baltimore. If you want to feel like you are going to stay in an extended apartment in downtown, then this is the place. The whole time we were there, we kept saying how we felt like we had just moved into our new place downtown. The location is great too; halfway between Fell's Point and the Inner Harbor. The view is great, especially on the fourth floor. I will say that I proposed to my girlfriend here and she had said that she would not have wanted it any other way. Oh, and the complimentary bottle of wine was no "Franzia", it was very good Greek wine.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, General Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Emory:

Thank you for visiting The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay and sharing your thoughts and experiences with the TripAdvisor Community. Our guests have voted us one of the top Small Hotels in the Country. For this, we are very grateful.

What an honor for you to have proposed at our hotel. It means it must be a place that you hold in great esteem. To us that is music to our ears. We so gratefully appreciate each and every customer, but when a customer chooses us for such a significant event, it is like winning an award. We wish you much success!

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

What a lovely experience we had in Baltimore. We decided to have dinner at the Black Olive, Grecian Cuisine, and found out they also had an Inn. We called for reservations and had the nicest young man, Ryan, gives us the complete rundown on how it was designed as a "Green" property and everything was organic. I only thought that fit the food category but we are talking bed linens, towels, walls and floors and the spa and toilet. It all fits and it was delightful. No germs here and the comforts were all first class. It also included a sanijet spa that made it even more special. We travel all over the US and the world and have never had such a wonderful experience. Many thanks to the owners for making something like this available and for Ryan adding all the special touches. We truly will be back. Mike & Simone

Room Tip: All the rooms are named after Greek wines. Choose any wine that you like and the room will be delig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, General Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Greetings Michael:

Thank you for visiting The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay and sharing your thoughts and experiences with the TripAdvisor Community. Our guests have voted us one of the top Small Hotels in the Country. For this we are grateful.

Our families dream to marry fine food and fine lodging in the tradition of our ancestors is what keeps us going. Thanks for highlighting this in your review

If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact us at concierge@theblackolive.com. Our customer service dedicated team is at your service 24 hours. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,

Dimitris Spiliadis
Managing Partner

E:dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

My husband and I visited Baltimore for the first time, a friend refered us to this place and we loved everything. We were greeted by Dimitris the Owner at the front door. The next morning complimentry breakfast prepared by chef Alicia was just amazing. We felt so welcome and at home. Definately recommend this place is worth everything.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rabli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitris S, General Manager at Inn at The Black Olive, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Greetings Rabli:

Thank you for visiting The Inn at The Black Olive and spending your stay in historical Fells Point with us. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your stay and sharing your thoughts and experiences with the TripAdvisor Community.

We are proud to be a place that you can feel at home! We are a small family owned hotel and feel a personal connection with all of our guests.

Our staff takes great pride in making sure our guests have a remarkable experience. If we can assist you with anything in the future please don’t hesitate to contact myself or the concierge team at concierge@theblackolive.com. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in Service,
Dimitris Spiliadis

E:Dimitris@theblackolive.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Courtyard Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#5 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at The Black Olive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at The Black Olive

Property: Inn at The Black Olive
Address: 803 South Caroline St, Baltimore, MD 21231
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Fells Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at The Black Olive 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Inn at the Black Olive is Baltimore's Premier Boutique Organic Hotel. From the building materials to the Organic materials and ingredients are the focus.* Cozy Pure Certified Bed, organic bedding, and organic towels* Balconies with harbor views * 800-1000 Square foot rooms with separate dining/living area, bedroom and large spa bathroom with with Sanijet Aqua-therapy tub/Separate walk in shower*Sony Google Internet LED Television with netflix and satellite*Complimentary WIFI and wired broadband*We are ideally located on the boarder of Fells Point and Harbor east along Baltimore's historic waterfront, within walking distance to the convention center, sporting arenas, and the Inner Harbor. We are 14 Blocks south of Hopkins Hospital and all rooms have a view of the Baltimore's harbor. 24 hr Concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Inn at The Black Olive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing