We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I stayed at Marriott for a week despite only living 14 miles away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The company for which I work has an annual Directors meeting some place in the world and this time it was in Baltimore, our headquarters, and we were expected to stay in the hotel despite living so close. This was the end of a 5 week trip for me, and staying so close to home, and not being able to commute was somewhat challenging to me. However, I had a great room facing the Inner Harbour - anything less might be a shame. All our events were held inside the hotel so the views were always nice but this has to be the coldest hotel in Baltimore.I've just been in Asia, where all buildings are cool enough to store wine. This hotel is cool enough to turn your hands blue. Seriously though, great views, close walk to Fells Point and the Inner Harbour - equidistant. Room clean and people nice. Parking is SUPER EXPENSIVE but you can save $8 by parking it yourself. Drop off your stuff and park near Fells Point and save money. WIFI is acceptable although somewhat spotty. I did not have to pay for WIFI but that may have been part of our corporate deal. There are cheaper places to stay but none will have a better view than this property and, that is, after all, what sets one hotel apart from another.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlennStrachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,928 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

I spent two weeks at the hotel caring for my five-month-old grandson while my daughter attended a conference. Everyone from bell hops to housekeeping staff, to concierge were caring and friendly. Every need we had was met quickly and efficiently. We were treated with great courtesy. All staff had smiles for the baby and me.

The room was large, and from the 18th floor, we had a beautiful view of the city. The refrigerator kept the baby's food nice and cold. The housekeeping staff provided a portable crib and gave us extra wash cloths and cups each day for baby food and clean up.

The hotel is located perfectly for walking to restaurants, shops, coffee places, and wine bars. I felt safe walking with an infant in the surrounding neighborhoods. People on the streets were friendly. Although traffic was heavy on occasion, most drivers respected pedestrian crossings.

At best, two weeks is a long time for a hotel stay with a baby. Everyone made the experience easy and fun. I would definitely recommend the Baltimore Marriott Waterfront to anyone staying in the city for a short or extended stay.

CW

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My reasons for giving this hotel and average rating is as follows:
1) $40 per night for valet parking.
2) $12.95 a night for Wi-Fi that was average at best.
3) No free water in the room, nor the option to purchase a bottle.
4) No refrigerator in the room.
5) Only one K-cup for coffee in the morning. (I had to call for another K-cup and waited almost 20 minutes at 8:00 AM)

I know all this may sound ridiculous, but for the rack rate at this hotel (which thankfully I did not pay) I found hidden, extra costs everywhere I looked. It was like a restaurant where you order the steak for $46 and then have to pay extra for the mash potatoes.

If I was on vacation, maybe I would be less critical because the hotel is beautiful and the location cannot be beat. However, I travel all over the country and have stayed in very nice hotels for a lot less money where I felt I was receiving superior value. So for my $$, I'll pass on this hotel next time and stay at the Courtyard down the block.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I'm a Platinum Marriott Rewards member so I am used to being treated well at Marriotts but I can tell you that virtually every staff member at this hotel was service oriented, courteous and professional. Every question was answered quickly or researched and responded to. The property itself is in a great location and is in great shape. In particular, the concierge lounge folks were absolutely top notch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CinVinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my sons last weekend to see my beloved Red Sox take on the Orioles. I had stayed here a couple years ago when I was here for a conference and liked it, so I was happy to come back.
Visit started out great, arrived a few hours early, asked when I might come back to possibly check in early and was checked in right away. Don't remember the name of the woman at the counter who checked me in (she was from Manchester, England) but she was great, friendly and helpful. We got a room with a beautiful view. Beds were super comfortable, room was bright and airy and impeccably clean.
I like the location just off the Inner Harbor. I've stayed in the Renaissance right on the Inner Harbor, it's almost too close. This area down by Little Italy is great, you can walk to some nice shops, a Whole Foods and to the restaurants of Little Italy.
They were also kind enough to upgrade me to free internet, even though I'm Silver Marriott level, not gold or above.
Only small suggestion, next time you paint the deck around the pool (which was very nice) add some non-skid. It's wildly slippery when wet down there, my 11-year old ended up on his butt, and I almost did the same.
I'll be back to this hotel for sure. Great staff, location and just a real nice hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

I stayed on one of the top floors and had a great Inner Harbor view even though the room was considered to have only a partial Harbor view. The location near the Inner Harbor and new Harbor East neighborhood was great--many restaurants and shops (including Whole Foods) are within easy walking distance, and Little Italy is not that far away. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful, rooms and common areas were new and spotless, the restaurant is good, and the casual deli is great for breakfast sandwiches in the AM. (For really great coffee, the nearby Four Seasons hotel has a terriffic gourmet coffee shop.) Baltimore really has a lot to offer the tourist, and this hotel is an excellent launching pad for your adventures in "Charm City."

Room Tip: Even partial harbor views are good (and less expensive). Also, self park your car in the nearby tier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFA202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We loved this hotel! We checked in and said we were going to use our vehicle again, so valet left it close by. When we got to our room, it overlooked the harbor. The front desk gave advice on dinner which turned out to be great and valet gave us perfect walking directions. We easily received a late check out because we went on the sailboat that sails from the Marriott 4 times a day. The sailboat experience was also great and we purchased tickets for it from the back side of the hotel at the sailboat's booth. Excellent comfort.

Room Tip: Definitely want to overlook the harbor and get a balcony. We enjoyed sitting on ours that evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesthetraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,611 reviews
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baltimore Marriott Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltimore Marriott Waterfront

Address: 700 Aliceanna St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4339
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Little Italy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#8 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#13 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#16 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: £119 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baltimore Marriott Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 750
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked along the famed Inner Harbor, Baltimore Marriott Waterfront offers guests an unsurpassed location from which to explore the vibrant city of Baltimore, Maryland. Our top-rated hotel in Baltimore is superbly situated in the Harbor East district, home to the city's best dining and nightlife opportunities. Upon arrival, guests will be delighted to discover spacious, well-appointed rooms with perks including luxury bedding, high-definition TVs, and stunning water views. Additional hotel amenities include a 24-hour fitness center, a refreshing indoor pool and a sauna. Boasting a staggering 80,000 square feet of event space and situated near the city's Convention Center, our hotel is ideal for business travelers to Baltimore. Families, too, will appreciate our superior location near local attractions like Camden Yards. Head towards the water and see why Baltimore Marriott Waterfront is the perfect option for business and leisure travel alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baltimore Marriott Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront Hotel Baltimore
Marriott Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing