We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast anywhere”
Review of Miss Shirley's

Miss Shirley's
Ranked #12 of 2,025 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best breakfast anywhere”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We've come to Baltimore two years in a row and both times had breakfast at Miss Shirley's. In fact, my daughter told everyone in her school about Miss Shirley's pancakes. It was top of her list of what she most wanted to do in Baltimore. The white chocolate raspberry pancakes or waffles are sublime. This year I also tried the white chocolate and chocolate chip waffles which were a plate of decadent deliciousness. The bacon is crisp and tasty. The only thing we didn't care for is the coconut french toast. I wish I could go there every day but then I'd also need to buy some new pants.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tgruber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    211
    98
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food all around, AND good gluten free choices”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had brunch here on Sunday and Monday. Great food, with a wide variety of choices of breakfast food, but also lots of choices for lunch. They don't have a separate gluten free menu, but all pancakes and sandwiches (including burgers) can be made GF. The GF cinnamon danish pancakes are out of this world! The grits (regular) are great! Creative combinations, and service was helpful and attentive. Close to Inner Harbor, so a great location. Indoor and outdoor seating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KLPCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
274 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“good food - will stick with you”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were looking for someplace for a late breakfast, and we decided to try Miss Shirley's because of the "southern" cooking. My husband and I were both pleased with our meals. I had the shrimp & grits on fried green tomatoes, and it had just the right about of spice (just enough to make my nose run, but not so much that it was uncomfortable). My husband had an eggs benedict dish with crab, and when he asked that the Hollandaise sauce be on the side, the reply was "no problem." So we were impressed with the food and the service. But be aware, the tables are very close together so you can't help but overhear your neighbors' conversations.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KLGri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Miss Shirley's was recommended by a dear friend and Hotel for a great meal. We were definitely all pleased with the location, ambiance, and attentiveness to our schedule. The food was not cheap, however, it was cooked exactly as we ordered and very tasty. Very diverse menu with unbelievable selections. If you're traveling to Baltimore, make sure you don't miss this spot for a meal! You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LA729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Indiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

When asked a good place to eat while we were in Baltimore Miss Shirley's was recommended highly. So we decided to go to Miss Shirley's and we were blown away by the choices on the menu and wonderful wonderful food that they had. The service everything was just wonderful would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miss Shirley's also viewed

 

Been to Miss Shirley's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing