We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy 100th Birthday to the Hippodrome Theater!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hippodrome Theatre

Hippodrome Theatre
Ranked #37 of 224 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Happy 100th Birthday to the Hippodrome Theater!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

I have seen many shows at the Hippodrome since they renovated and reopened this theater. It has all the charm of an old theater with a modern twist. I think it is worth the increased ticket cost to purchase orchestra seats for more leg room. If you are looking for values, choose the Cloud Seats (top three rows) or obstructed view seats in the orchestra- you might miss a bit of action stage right or left. I have read that National Tour productions almost have to be better than their Broadway counterpart as they get reviewed in every town. I just saw Warhorse and The Book of Mormon at the Hippodrome. They were both terrific with wonderful casts. Check out the Hippodrome for an excellent theater experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SheilaMcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    61
    13
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good show, lousy ventilation system”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

After spending good money to see The Book of Mormon we were stuck under a ventilation vent that was like having an air conditioner above your head. I absolutely froze watching the show. Row Z on the right orchestra on the aisle. There is also a problem on the left side too. Guess they don't care about their patron's comfort.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank columbiatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Even if there were no Broadway shows here, this place would be worth a visit just for the history. It is an old theater which once showcased the best of vaudeville. They don’t build places like this anymore. We saw “Lion King” with the kids and the acoustics were great, and there isn’t a bad seat in the house. It is easy to forget you are in Baltimore here and not, say, New York. Plenty of parking as well, another plus.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CClore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Theater Response mixed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

War Horse was a very good show...no problems there. Other positives were the ticket prices--$35 for limited view were a bargain as we were on an aisle in row K. Very little was hard to see...only a bit of action on the far right side of the stage. Excellent staff in VIP Lexus lounge. Gracious ushers. Also friendly service in Hipp Cafe ahead of time; unfortunately, the food there was average at best: salmon in salmon club was terribly dry and turkey BLT wrap was just OK. worst part some warm crab chips that were stale! The real reason I wrote was the Hippodrome's allowance of food and drink during show! This isn't your neighborhood movie house, but folks near us had drinks, popcorn, and candy. Really Annoying, Not necessary! Theater decorum should be a bit more upscale!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davidsonville, MD
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Would have enjoyed the evening if anything went right”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Went to see Blue Man Group. We bought tickets through Ticketmaster including parking in the attached Grand Garage. No way to print a ticket from web site so I brought receipt. Parking garage would not accept receipt and made me pay to enter. The prepay of $11 was supposed to save me $2 but in fact the parking fee was $9. Person at box office had apparently been dealing with all evening. She was very nice, gave me a ticket that I had to walk back to the garage and give the attendant in order to get my $9 back. I told Box office person about overcharge and said to find her during intermission. But there was no intermission! So out the difference in the parking fee and Ticketmaster's cut and had to run around like a banchee between garage and box office. When an evening at the theater starts off like that, it is really hard to relax and enjoy the evening. While I enjoy Blue Man Group very much, I was disappointed that it was exactly the same show as in Chicago 5 years ago. No new material? Buy the DVD and save yourself the hassle of going to the Hippodrome. If you have never seen Blue Man Group, see them. But only once since it is just a rerun. Better yet, go to DC and see The Capital Steps. New material which is very topical every time I have gone. Now that is a great show!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Candee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hippodrome Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Hippodrome Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing