We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Lovely Evening”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Went out for a friend's birthday party and we rented a room for the evening. Very clean and included a kitchenette which was great! We were a little too loud at one point and the hotel was polite enough to call and ask us to turn down our music. Other hotels will kick you out on a dime. Check out was easy and it felt like a safe, convenient location. Will stay again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virginia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Residence Inn by Marriott.
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I love great service, and this place had it. Everyone I came across was very nice and helpful. The location of the hotel was within walking distance of all the inner harbor sights and numerous restaurants. I will definitely stay here again when I go back to baltimore.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank J0ng0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for recognizing the service that my staff provides. They work extremely hard and truely care about people. They make my job very easy.

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Excellence is depicted in every area at this hotel. First of all, the staff does whatever they can to ensure that everone has a pleasant resident eperience. Hats off to Chastity and Howard who are exceptionally sensitive to customers' needs! Problems are solved quickly and accurately. The restaurant, 17 Light, provides a good variety of food on Monday-Saturday. However, the front desk provides two menus from local restaurants on Sundays. Customers can either order carry out from the menus or be taken to the locations by the restaurant drivers. The free breakfast buffet is organized and convenient. In the area, there are several places to eat. Rhoyal Farms has great sandwiches, chicken and snacks. McDonalds and Dunking Donuts are in walking distance. CVS and Wells Fargo Bank are also close by. The free Purple Circulator bus is available for transportation to the train station and other local sights such as the Inner Harbor. It runs approx. evey fifteen minutes. An amazing, colorful, updated decor really makes the hotel stand out. The decor creates a beautiful, pleasant, relaxing atmosphere. It is just what is needed on a short term get away or a long term stay! The caliber of this hotel is impressive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thanks for such a great review! Not only did you give my staff some recognition, but you gave out some very good tips as well. Thank you!

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The scene is a midday Sunday with a threat of snow, the Raven's are playing a 1pm home game in downtown Baltimore. If the weathermen are right, the roads will be atrocious after the game, and the fans rowdy and maybe slightly tipsy if the Raven's win. Who wants to be stuck in traffic, skidding and sliding all the way home.

We decide to pack an overnight bag just in case the moon and stars align. As we trek into Baltimore, we realized that packing work clothes for Monday morning was the right choice. Snow was flying as we arrived at our parking garage.

As we meandered to the stadium in ankle deep snow, decided to make a hotel reservation, called the Residence Inn on Light Street in Baltimore, and lone behold they had rooms available and for a special rate, too! Secured our reservation, as the room rate was definitely less than the insurance deductible if something were to happen heading home from the game.

The Ravens having won, feeling good, too good to drive ourselves, we were thankful we had a hotel reservation. Friends at the game were envious of our choice to stay overnight and not drive home in the mess.

We arrived at the Residence Inn, to a friendly front desk clerk who checked us in and kindly upgraded us from a standard room to a deluxe room without asking. We settled in, and watched the snow fall. Once warm, we headed out for dinner and enjoy the solitude of Baltimore during a snowfall. Amazing how snow clears the streets of cars, and the sidewalks of people. It was eerily quiet and rather enjoyable.

Our stay at the Residence Inn was quite enjoyable, while no 5-star luxury resort hotel, the Residence Inn met our expectations for a modern, clean, comfortable hotel with space to stretch out, and a full breakfast the following morning, plus the added convenience of being downtown, center city Baltimore, within walking distance of the Inner Harbor, and many parking garages.

We would return if not for anything but a romantic overnight getaway to our city! Many fine restaurants to choose from and quite a few establishments to enjoy adult beverages at. Again, the room rate was definitely less than the insurance deductible if something were to happen heading home. And we awoke feeling refreshed, and energized!

Room Tip: Rooms in Baltimore that front any street are prone to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WaterMark67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thanks for the great review. I really appreciate the detailed feedback.

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed for just one night; upon friendly check-in for a family of four was asked for a high or low room preference. Elected high and assigned to 1511, with a tiny partial view of the harbor which I assume is obscured by all rooms due to a high rise. Declined $32 daily/overnight parking with in/out privileges after dropping our minimal luggage off .We then drove to Faidleys in Lexington Market for a late crab cake lunch then parked our car at a garage for a $19 overnight fee knowing that we were now committed to walking. Went to the harbor and enjoyed our aquarium visit. Walked back for a private happy hour and rest before walking to Little Italy at 8pm using the most traveled route. Room for four had just 2 towels, asked for 3 more and 10 minutes later, 2 towels were delivered (minor blip). Full hot breakfast was busy at 8:30 (a good thing as all food offerings were frequently replenished) and most importantly adequate seating was offered using adjacent conference avoiding any competition for a table!

The room was extremely clean. Although we did not need any of the "short stay" kitchen options offered, any thing you would expect to be provided was available.

All staff were very friendly and happy to offer advice; a friendly man was ready to offer directions to all to the breakfast upon exiting the elevator. It appeared to me that the choice was obvious but he also appeared to be a "manager" directly operations.

I regret that I did not get the name of the friendly check-in man who gave us room 1511 and provided restaurant recommendations on 12/28.

Room Tip: Trust the front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mnmel1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for the review. The person giving direction to the breakfast room was me. We try to get our customers to use the second door to keep the flow of the buffet going. I also like to speak with my guests and make sure that they are happy. Thanks again!

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I must say I had a great stay and have absolutely no complaints. My family is originally from here,but we had tickets to the Ravens/Patriot game and figured it would be easier to stay in the harbor. We we're originally going to valet park, that was $32 a day (a little steep but convenient since there are very few parking spaces near the hotel) but we found a great spot the next block over and opted to park there instead since we weren't going to drive anywhere else that night. Check in was easy & smooth (THANKS STEVE U WERE WONDERFUL). Loved the fact that you had to have your room key to even get upstairs via elevator. I guess if there were more of us or if we had visitors it may have been inconvenient, but in this case it was fine. The room was very spacious and clean. Nice size fridge, a little stove, and plenty of dishes available. Two flat screen tv's (one in the living room, one in the bedroom). Great view from both the living room and bedroom. Bed was super comfortable, requested extra pillows beforehand so there were plenty. Plenty of things to do surrounding the hotel where if you're comfortable walking you wont need your car. Was able to hop on the light rail and ride to the stadium for the game. Breakfast was great too. Steve was also there during the checkout process. He was friendly, kept a smile on his face, and talked to the guests as though he knew them all personally (GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE)! Will definitely make this my first choice anytime I'm in town and do not want to stay with family!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thanks for the great review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

My husband and I came here for an overnight after a business meeting in Pennsylvania. The hotel was a bit hard to spot in the heavy Friday evening traffic on Light Street so we had to circle back. They did say they are getting a new sign. Once we arrived, the greetings and service were just great. Even the valets were super! Chastity, the manager in training, is so personable, helpful and welcoming. She called shortly after we got to our room just to make sure everything was to our satisfaction. We had a nice comfortable 2 room king on the 6th floor away from Light Street - no views except of buildings and rooftop - but reasonably quiet. All was clean and comfortable, as we have come to expect from Residence Inn. Breakfast was convenient and good. My husband also made use of the fitness center which he said was very nicely equipped. He usually never comments much about the hotels we stay in, but he was very impressed by all the service personnel at the Residence Inn.

Our only complaint - no fault of the hotel - was that, unbeknownst to us when we made this reservation, that we arrived for Baltimore's Dollar Days. We added this overnight at the end of our business trip specifically to visit the Aquarium. Well, the line at 10:30 was 1 1/2 hours just to buy timed entry tickets for later in the day - we learned the line started forming around 7:30 am. Not happening for us. So if you plan to visit in early December, be forewarned.

We'll just have to make another trip to Baltimore, and we will happily return to the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank themice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pminer, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for the detailed review. We look forward to your return.

Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Downtown
Baltimore Marriott Inner Harbor at Camden Yards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor

Address: 17 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-1228
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#18 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#21 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: £76 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is Baltimore, Maryland's premier, downtown all-suite hotel. Our hotel's Inner Harbor Baltimore, MD location is perfect for travelers visiting the city for work or leisure. We offer 188 studio, one, and two-bedroom suites with fully equipped kitchens and spacious living and dinning areas. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor is the ideal choice among Baltimore hotels near Inner Harbor for guests visiting for a day, a week, a month, or longer. Located in the heart of Baltimore, business travelers can walk to nearly any office in the city, and we are just steps away from the Baltimore Convention Center and the Baltimore Courthouse. Leisure guests can walk two blocks to Baltimore’s famed Inner Harbor to visit the US Constellation or the multitude of shops and restaurants on the waterfront. Our hotel is situated perfectly for you to experience all of the best that Baltimore has to offer. If you are a sports enthusiasts, you may want to pre-game at our 17 Light on-site restaurant and lounge. Our guests love the fact that Oriole Park at Camden Yards is close by, and M&T Bank Stadium and the First Mariner Arena are within walking distance of our accommodations. Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/ Inner Harbor is an excellent choice if you are planning a meeting or a group event as well. Our hotel has 1,100 square feet of meeting space, which can accommodate fully catered events for up to 80 people. Should you want to eat at our hotel, our on-site restaurant and lounge is open for lunch and dinner, and for room service during limited hours. Our restaurant also features happy hour specials Monday through Friday. We invite you to come replenish in our hotel after a long day of meetings or touring “Charm City”, and enjoy American Cuisine as well as some Baltimore favorites too. Kick back, relax, and enjoy a beer, glass of wine, or your favorite cocktail before taking the elevator home to your room. Come experience 17 Light Restaurant & Lounge and stay in our Baltimore accommodations! We offer easy access to Baltimore’s top medical facilities, and Johns Hopkins Hospital and University centers provide our guests with complimentary shuttle service to and from our hotel. The University of Maryland Medical Center and Mercy Hospital are also convenient to our accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor Hotel Baltimore
Residence Inn Baltimore Downtown
Baltimore Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing