We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff makes this location stand out”
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 2,016 Restaurants in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Your ship has come in. The Capital Grille in Baltimore is located right in the Inner Harbor. A location every bit as special and impressive as our restaurant is. Come and experience everything from our famous dry aged steaks and chops to exceptional seafood. An award-winning selection of 400 wines. And an atmosphere of comfortable elegance. Any excuse to not try it, simply won't hold water.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The staff makes this location stand out”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Even though it's a chain, the staff at this location makes it stand out: friendly, accommodating, hospitable... they make you feel like you're "home." I always love the calamari and their "Stoli Doli's"

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Frank U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    94
    25
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“We were insignificant.. Service was lackluster”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We visited during restaurant week. We were seated at a table in the bar area. The waiter never came by to introduce himself. Our first introduction to him after approximately 15 minutes was "Are you guys ready to order drinks?"

I cant tell you what his name is, cause he never introduced himself. We ordered off of the regular menu and the restaurant week menu.

The interesting thing is, the table next to us was visited by the manager asking if everything was good, even getting them another drink, while we were still waiting for our drinks.. The manager also was busy socializing with people at the bar, but never stopped by our table. When the next couple was seated at the table next to us, our waiter went over, introduced himself, and listed all the specials that were not on the menu. Sadly we never knew there were any other specials offered.

I guess because we weren't drinking wine by the bottle and martinis, we weren't as important.

The waiter was not very attentive and we had to get his attention for drink refills.

The waiter even said that the kitchen was running slow and seemed overwhelmed when explaining why our food took forever to come out.

Now, I will say this, when the food came, it was very good. The steak was cooked as ordered.

We asked for our dessert to be packed up to be taken home. When we opened up the container the next day, I have to say they cheesecakes looked very dainty and small. Once again, it tasted excellent, the sauce was very good.

I think our experience would have been better if we had better service. Sadly, it overtook the overall experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjutzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Second to none”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was our first time visiting The Capital Grille in Baltimore, and we thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience. The restaurant is right in the heart of the downtown Inner Harbor area, and we took advantage of the free valet parking, as well as the special Restaurant Week dinner menu. The restaurant was also quick to accommodate a last minute change in timing. I had the clam chowder, the parmesan and herb crusted tournedos of filet mignon, and the cheesecake for dessert, all for the fixed price of $30. Wouldn't it be nice if Restaurant Week lasted all year?

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
95 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This week in Baltimore is Restaurant Week. Since my husband and I relocated to Baltimore 2 years ago we have tried out new restaurants during Restaurant Week. Usually I am dissappointed with the choices offered by restaurants for their Restaurant Week selections.
My husband and I and a friend had wanted to go to the Capital Grille for some time...well...it was amazing. The Restaurant Week menu was perfect...salads, soup (amazing New England Clam Chowder), steak selections, chicken, fish ...and dessert!
Wow...everything was amazing. The filet mignon was so tender...the sides were perfect (mushrooms and au gratin potatoes)...the desert (no flour chocolate cake and the cheesecake...decadant!)
The wine...wonderful.
The service...perfect! Our server was Carlos Ramirez...he was a delight. Knowledgeable about the menu, wines....everything...and so pleasant!
We look forward to our next visit! Bravo Capital Grille!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RitaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Waiter Takes All”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My visits to Capital Grille in NY and Washington DC have been fabulous. Food, ambience and waitstaff are always consistent. However, the Baltimore visit has taken the lead due to our waiter, Tom White. He was do attentive to our needs we never wanted to leave. Very knowledgeable in wine, particularly in the red category.

Helpful?
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing