We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A convenient option for an Orioles game” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A convenient option for an Orioles game”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We arrived at the hotel 3:15pm on August 9th for a 1 night stay. The valet parking area was in disarray but the attendant did an outstanding job getting us a ticket & on the move into the lobby. Check in was a breeze (no wait) and the elevator was never a long wait. Our room faced Camden Yards. It was cool for my 4 year old son to look out the window & see the ballpark. We had two queen beds. The room was clean & the air worked well (except for the muggy bathroom with no air to speak of). We received a call from downstairs asking how we like the room (great touch that more hotels should practice). We went to the lobby for dinner advice & the hotel receptionist was very helpful. We ended up at a nice seafood place 2 1/2 blocks away. She also helped us locate the Charm City circulator (free bus that takes you around the city).

The only negatives were the beds were a little soft for our taste, the people in the room next to us were yelling at the tv late at night (Olympics) & breakfast was average at best.

We'd definitely stay at this hotel our next trip to Baltimore.

Tip: Book the Wheel INN package to have valet parking included (you save $5 over the regular parking price of $29).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philsrule06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    369
    77
    25
    7
See reviews for
457
270
72
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We enjoyed the breakfast in the am was close to the harbor and the camden yards. We were there for the African American Heritage Festival .Was within walking distance and we couldnt complain we will probably Stay there again. Only think parking 30$ a day an they squeeze your car in tight. They did get it but they have to move all the other cars to get to yours. Other than that was a good stay very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tropical202tj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Your typical Hampton inn centrally located right across from Camden yards and a safe walk to the inner harbor.

$30 a day for valet parking and the hotel staff is not your typical friendly staff. My wife and I are hilton honors members and stay at Hilton exclusively.

Breakfast ends at exactly 10am which is too early if you are a late sleeper or have little ones. There are not many breakfast restaurants in the area.

Overall its a typical Hampton inn in a great location for tourists.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haywood16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, OH
Level Contributor
162 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed four nights while attending a convention at the convention center, which is within walking distance. Our room was very nice, and overlooked the Camden Yards ballpark across the street. We were disappointed the Orioles weren't in town while we were, as we couldn't take advantage of being so close. Housekeeping was good and, as we requested two of the mornings, cleaned our room while we were out so I could be in the room to relax later without being disturbed. The hotel staff we came in contact with were friendly and helpful. Even though we liked the hotel, and would stay there again, there were some negatives I feel I should share to help others make an informed decision. There was a lot of outside noise audible in our room. A couple of streets outside the hotel are heavily traveled, and traffic noise, especially trucks and motorcycles were heard throughout the day and night. Also, a helicoptor would make multiple trips overhead daily and that was also heard. It wasn't unbearable for us, but it would have been nice if the room had been better soundproofed. Also, the sink is outside the bathroom, which is always annoying for the person who is still trying to sleep. Breakfast choices weren't as good the one morning we ate at the hotel. There were plain cheese omelets, no crossaints as there had been the day before, and my husband had to wait for bagels to be brought out, and then there were only raisin bagels and he doesn't like raisins; you would think there would be a choice of plain bagels for picky people like him. So you might like the breakfast, or you might not. Also, we did not park a car, but it seemed the hotel does not have enough parking, as it appeared the vehicles were parked where ever they could be, including in the area that is usually the entrance and temporary registration parking for most hotels. Cars were parked two or three deep in that area, and very close together, as well as on the street and it looked like in a narrow alley behind the hotel. Even though the valets/bellhops were very friendly and helpful, and I'm sure capable and used to dealing with those circumstances, we were glad not to have to worry about a vehicle. Not to mention that parking is expensive, especially considering the parking conditions.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatshoptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We just stayed at this Hampton Inn and had a very positive experience. We walked over to the game in a few short minutes and it was particularly nice to be so close when the game went into extra innings and we walked home late at night. The manager's special in the late afternoon was good, as was the breakfast. Our room faced the stadium which was nice for the view, but not so nice as they were doing road work on the street. Even though it was 7 floors down, we still easily heard the beeping of the construction trucks and their loud engines. Still, it was a great stay and the valet guys were great in dealing with our car.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clifton park, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

My wife, son and I stayed at the Hampton inn for 3 nights.The hotel is right across the street from Camden yards, one of the best ballparks in the country, and a 5 minute walk to the inner harbor.We walked to the aquarium and several restaurants.Be sure and check out the Corner Bistro and Wine bar, its a 3 minute walk from the hotel and a nice place to eat. Fells point, which boasts many good restaurants and bars (don't miss the Cats Eye Pub), is a quick water taxi ride.

Valet parking is not cheap but it is the way to go. Check in was quick and efficient. the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was clean. No mini fridge or microwave. We asked for a quiet room and had no problem with noise. Free breakfast, standard fare but good

All in all a very good Hampton Inn experience. If you plan on going to an O's game , this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband and I love this hotel. We come to Baltimore every year for Otakon & have stayed at many different places, but this is our favorite. It's modern and clean, beds are comfy and the staff is friendly and helpful. It's close to the convention center, and we feel very safe allowing our kids (older teens) to walk there & back by themselves day or night. That's saying a lot - it can be a little hairy walking back to your hotel at night in Baltimore, even if you're only a couple of blocks from the inner harbor. The breakfast they provide is nothing spectacular (bagels, waffles, oatmeal, powdered eggs, bacon or sausage, etc), but it's adequate & saves you the time & expense of having to go eat elsewhere.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing