We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than happy with this choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“More than happy with this choice!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel will be my only come to place when I travel to Baltimore, hands Down! My first call was at 10:00 at night and I spoke with Erica who was commendably helpful with answering my questions. I had to make a second call and again the same positive attitude (we know this is what to expect, however is rarely done therefore it should be complimented). Based on that I chose this hotel. I was greeted by the valet guy, and really didn't want to have to pay $29 but I knew this ahead of time. He (didn't get his name) was also professional and kind. I arrived before 10:00 and was checked right in again by another pleasant person! We were early enough to have breakfast. It was plentiful, with omelets, potatoes, donuts, bagels and all that a continental breakfast should be and most important was kept clean!!! Once in the room I was surprised at the amount of space we had which was another bonus (video attached). It was clean, no odor and was well furnished. Or trip was for the Baltimore aquarium which was in walking distance, although it was cold and icy, it was still a pleasant walk from the hotel... And last but not least is Jesse (lifeguard) a fabulous down to earth gentleman! Loved every moment (1 hour) speaking to him! You don't find many genuinely polite people without having to do a massive search, he was a breath of fresh air!!!! I will be going back again!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ieesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello Ieesha,

Thank you for posting such a great review of our hotel. I honestly believe that our biggest asset is our staff. We know you have a lot of choices when selecting a hotel and we are thankful that you chose to stay with us. Your review lets us know that we made a difference in your day and I look forward to sharing your comments with our staff. We can't wait to have you back with us again.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    393
    82
    29
    7
See reviews for
482
299
81
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I choose this hotel because it mostly had good reviews on tripavior and the price was good. When I checked in I asked about getting a fridge for the room, was told there wasn't any right but to wait a second so she could check something... was then given a suite at no extra charge.. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello Amanda B,

Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad to hear we had an upgrade available that helped meet your needs. I also want to thank you for taking a minute to tell others about your stay with us. We hope you will come back for another visit soon.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Great customer service. I was allow to check in early upon my early arrival. The room was clean and spacious. Valet and hotel staff was very customer friendly and kind. Over all a great stay for me. One small dislike was that I could here music coming from one of the other rooms. They played it pretty much the whole time I was there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nicky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hello Nicky J,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad to see our staff took good care of you on your recent visit to Baltimore. We appreciate your business and hope to have you back with us again the next time you come to town.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I have stayed at Hampton Inns all over the country and this one is great too. I've never had a problem at any Hampton Inn. The staff at this hotel was clearly working hard to provide top notch service - everyone was super polite and speedy. At first I wasn't real excited about the required valet parking since it's more of a hassle and a bit pricey but all the downtown hotels have the same program, apparently because it's downtown. The entire hotel is super clean and the lobby area is very nice. The free breakfast is always excellent and they're very good at keeping it stocked. There's a gas station right across the street if like me, you want some choices for soda or whatever to take along on your morning ride. A couple decent bars next door too. If you're ever there during a game, you'll have somewhat of a front row seat. You can't see into the stadium of course but you can see the lights and hear the crowd - pretty cool even if you're not a fan. Great hotel and staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hello Mark H,

Thank you for your comments about our staff and the service they provided you. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team. I also want to thank you for mentioning the valet parking. Downtown Baltimore presents some challenges with parking, but we do our best to make this a pleasant experience. We hope you will come back for an Orioles game to experience the excitement first hand. We will be here waiting for your return!

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This was the last stop of our cross country road trip from Maryland to California and back. We stayed in 17 different Hampton Inns across the country. Each one a little different but always clean and the beds were awesome. My wife wants to buy one of these beds because she usually doesn't sleep well in other places but found these beds to be the most comfortable and always had clean sheets. The Baltimore location did not let us down and was conveniently located near the convention center. We had a great stay, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the Inn was within walking distance to Restaurants, Camden Yards, Babe Ruth Museum and Raven Stadium. We highly recommend this Hampton Inn for anyone visiting Baltimore!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Albert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hello Albert D,

Thank you for your loyalty to Hampton and the Hilton Family of hotels. We are so happy that you've enjoyed your experience at our sister properties as well as our hotel here in Baltimore. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you back for another visit soon.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I'd recommend the Hampton downtown Baltimore any day; the staff is cordial and professional and the complimentary continental breakfast is very good. The location is right across from Camden Yards, and can't be beat for the area. Taxis can be hailed from across the street by the very helpful staff, and you'll feel very safe at all hours upon returning to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Torben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Hello Torben B,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff took great care of you. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horse Shoe, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly They tried to be the best they could be and make my visit as pleasant as possible. Lobby is too small for a downtown hotel Bathroom was very clean and well stocked. There was noise form the street below and the heat was slow to warm up the room. Overall my visit would be rated average.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Hello John M,

Thank you for your candid comments about your recent visit to our hotel. I'm sorry that your experience with us wasn't better. I have located your reservation and will have maintenance inspect the HVAC unit in your room. I do want to thank you for staying with us while in Baltimore for your convention. I hope you will consider coming back for another visit if you return for the same event next year.

Thank you,
Bill Dillon
General Manager
Hampton Inn - Baltimore Downtown/Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Hilton Baltimore
#28 of 66 in Baltimore
2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing