We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, tiny rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

PROS:
Staff was super friendly and quick to help with any problems.
Free breakfast in the A.M. and free coffee 24/7.
Across the street from Camden Yards.
Modern baseball decor.

CONS:
Tiny room. We're booked a King bed Studio Suite and there was barely any room to walk around once the sofa bed was out.
City noise - there is a medical school a few blocks away and it sounded like helicopters were visiting our room throughout the night.

If you need transportation to the airport, call the front desk and request the hotel's car. It's a fancy black SUV and cost $35 to the airport.. roughly the same as our yellow cab from BWI.

There is a very busy pub next door and the crowd was quite large when we arrived on a Friday night. There seems to be a lot of nightlife within walking distance. If you are going to see an Orioles game, there really isn't any hotels more convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coast911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi coast911,

Thank you for taking time to post your review, we appreciate the feedback we receive. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. That is the best measure of success, that you have confidence to send others to our hotel. We hope you will come back for another visit soon.

Thank you,

Cara DiPietro
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,033 - 1,039 of 1,534 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for one night on business last week. This is a great Hampton Inn. Clean rooms. New furniture. Located directly across from Camden Yards. Terrific location for business or leisure. Love the baseball theme- in keeping with the surroundings. Staff was friendly and inviting. Only small downside is the exercise room doesn't have a lot of equipment. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank rickmluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hi rickmulna,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stays at our Hampton Inn and it’s nice to hear that you have been pleased with our location, services and hospitality. Our goal is that every guest has an awesome experience while staying with us and it’s certainly great to hear that you have noticed our efforts.

We’re glad that you’ve chosen us as your preferred hotel and look forward to welcoming you back whenever you’re visiting the Baltimore area.

Warmest regards,

Cara DiPietro
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed here on a Sunday night after a Baltimore Orioles game and the staff and accomodations were excellent. Some of the friendliest hotel staff I have ever met. Valet parking available also. Will stay here again, perfect for your Inner harbor excursions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hi Keith R,

Thank you for posting an awesome review on Trip Advisor after your recent visit at our Hampton Inn and I’m glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. I will defiantly share your kind words with our team and especially our Front Desk staff.

We truly appreciate all comments and our goal is that all guests experience a great visit with us, whether staying for a one night stop-over or for several days.

It’s great to hear that we were a convenient location on your trip and we hope to see you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

Cara DiPietro
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hotel is a two-minute walk to Baseball Park entrance, five minutes to Convention Center and 10-minutes to the Inner Harbor – a central hotel with an Outstanding Staff and comfortable rooms. If coming to town for a baseball game this is a “must consider” for the access to and ambience of all the activities that makes a baseball game fun.

Rooms are in good shape, beds are comfortable with large pillows (some Hampton Inns have gone to the very small bed pillows – why I do not know). If a game is in town, you can hear the crowd in the park while in your room – so be advised and ask for a room away from the park if this bothers you. Our room overlooked the baseball park. Wifi is fast & breakfast is standard hotel type – nothing fancy here. The gym is good size but could use a few weight machines – especially a cable machine to make for a much better gym experience.

Tip: Take the Light Rail in to either the Camden Yards or Convention Center stop and walk (5-minutes) to the hotel – cost is $1.60. A cab ride is $40 before the tip and parking is not cheap…and the city is walkable. The ride into the city is approx 35-minutes on the rail.

Tip: If going to the ballgame, consider the Picnic Seat tickets where all the food is included in the price ($41/ticket) and you can even get tables for four that are in great locations to watch the game and have all the hot dogs, popcorn, peanuts, nachos, salad, ice cream and soda you can chow down on. When you factor in a $20/ticket and what food will cost…..this is a great deal.

Tip: If you are a Hilton fan and need a large gym with weight equipment there is a Hilton right next to the hotel – and on the other side of the Inner Harbor (20-min walk to this hotel) there is a Homewood Suites and HGI that are connected to a MAC gym that is very nice. Should be considered if you are here for a while and require a full gym set-up.

This hotel is an excellent choice when coming to Baltimore.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello FoxTraveler,

Thanks for posting an awesome review! We truly appreciate it when guests take the time to share their experiences to help other travelers plan future business trips, vacations or a weekend get-away.

We are definitely in a location that has a little bit of everything and we hope you had a chance to enjoy some of it! You are absolutely right about the picnic tickets at Camden Yards, they are great!

Thank you, again, for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again!

Warmest regards,

Cara DiPietro
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel that posses competent staff, great facility, and atmosphere. My stay was very rewarding. Bravo!!!This is an excellent hotel that posses competent staff, great facility, and atmosphere. My stay was very rewarding. Bravo!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi Tina A,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel! I will be sure to share you kind words with our team. Providing good customer service and a clean room are very important to us. Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Warmest Regards,

Cara DiPietro
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My family traveled to Baltimore to catch a couple of Orioles games. The hotel was clean, safe, and convenient. Located just across the street from the stadium, the hotel had plenty of security after the games to keep out any over excited fans! We were also close enough to walk to the waterfront and see the sites! All in all, great stay....we'd stay there again, and again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 93clayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi 93clayj,

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review of our property. We are delighted that your stay with the Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Warmest Regards,

Cara DiPietro
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view! Good price and nice view!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Kwok K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Hi Kwok K,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Convention Center. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay, and that we are your go to hotel when in our area. We look forward to hosting your stay again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Cara DiPietro
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#5 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: £72 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, and University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can enjoy spacious accommodations and in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a free hot breakfast and WiFi access. Guests can recharge with a workout in the 24 hour fitness center or a dip in the indoor heated pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing