We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Value and Excellent Location ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Cayey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding Value and Excellent Location ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights checking in on 8/21. The checkin process was flawless, typical oh Hampton Inns.

The Room

We got a room at the 8th floor, the top, with a view to Camdem Park. We were extremely surprised. The room was bigger than suites we have stayed. It had a small kitchen area, a lovely sitting area with a queen size sofa, an oversized chair, 3 coffee tables with lamps and an ottoman. The area of the bed with a long bed, a dresser with TV, a desk with its chair and an additional chair.

Outstanding and extremely comfortable.

Location
It is located right in front of Camdem park. One block to the hilton and other big hotels, about 20 minute walk to Inner Harbor and two blocks from U of M.

This is a fantastic location. You can't get a better deal.

The Parking
They provide valet for $29. We took a parking close by that cost a lot less.

I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking time to review our hotel. I am thrilled to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Thank you
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    885
    378
    78
    25
    7
See reviews for
464
278
74
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights while the stadiums were inactive. I must say, this is a great hotel for the price! Very spacious and well kept rooms. The walking proximity to inner harbor was wonderful. While the coffee maker did not work, it wasn't a big deal as we haven't used it until the end of our stay due to the plentiful availability of coffee downstairs. Overall I would gladly come stay at this hotel again! Thank you very much for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hampton Inn Camden Yards. I am sorry that the coffee maker didn't work in your room; please; allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We thnak you for choosing the Hampton Inn Camden Yards for your stay
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

Clean room ☆
Good size room☆
Spotless large bathroom☆
Nice breakfast included ☆
Fabulous, friendly staff☆
Good location☆
We love this place. I never can believe the hotel is so reasonably priced.
Very expensive parking, but it is in a city.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments about our hotel and staff. We very much love great feedbacks. We will share your comments with the entire staff.
Thank you again
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

I would like to say that of all the staff I encountered from the employees at the front desk, the valet, the security, the lifeguard they were all so very friendly! They offered smiles and light conversation, I was pleasantly surprised! The breakfast buffet that is offered is absolutely wonderful! So many choices. My only disappointment was the air conditioning, it worked just not great.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gini H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hampton Inn Convention Center, MD. I am sorry to hear about the air conditioner, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
We hope to welcome you in the near future
Best Regards
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewa Beach, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The staff is great and very accommodating. Valet area is small, limited parking. Morning breakfast was sufficient since it was free- eggs, waffles, pastries, fruits but come early. Especially, if there's a conference in town, like the weekend we stayed _"Tastefully Simple" conference, OMG! Diners close by "Frank and Nick's" and "Potbelly", couple bars on the way. Close to JHU and Inner Harbor area, about 10 minutes walking to National Aquarium.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I will share your comments with the rest of my team.

We very much appreciate sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Thank you
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

My family stayed here for the weekend and overall had a pleasant experience. However, I must say although the hotel staff were friendly they were not very informative. When checking in, they basically give you your key or swiping card and send you on your way. They don't tell you about the pool or the free breakfast (hours) or explain how the valet parking works. I am used to going to hotels that at least inform guests about the amenities of the hotel. Thank goodness I knew a little bit about the hotel only because I researched it before traveling there. We didn't realize that there was a free (Charm City bus) that is easy to walk to from the hotel that takes you around the Baltimore area until the second day we were there. A kind guest at the hotel told us about it! I will say the hotel was clean and offered coffee/tea 24 hours/day which was nice and the free breakfast was good. Wish they offered more fresh fruits because of my grain sensitivity. Everything offered was primarily carbs (Danishes, bread, waffles, etc.). Needless to say, my kids were in heaven! I think that valet parking should be an option (expensive) not a necessity. We had no other choice because parking was limited in that area. I wish they offered self parking for a discounted rate per day so we didn't have to rely on the staff to constantly bring us our car to go somewhere and to have the pressure of tipping them something each time. Not to complain, but I found that everyone expects you to tip them for everything! We paid for a pirate ship cruise that was awesome but at the end, they asked you to tip them. I feel if you pay $20.00 per person for an hour cruise that they should not ask for another dime! We loved our weekend getaway but it was expensive making you think how do avg. people afford big vacations! This was a mini one and not cheap! Lastly, there was an Italian festival in Little Italy that was nice. My kids enjoyed walking through seeing the Italian foods offered and eating water ice. We ate at the La Tavola restaurant because we had a groupon but honestly not impressed. Small portion of pasta served to my kids for $9.00 with no vegetable. Also, my husband ordered a seafood combo dish that he always gets at our local Italian restaurant and it was pricey with again a small serving. My husband is 6'5! Felt nickeled and dimed there. I heard great things about the food here but was disappointed. We did go to the Medieval Times in Hanover, MD. which was the highlight of our trip. Good entertainment with plenty of food = great time! This was definitely a memorable experience for my kids. There is a lot to do in Baltimore but you have to find things that are not too expensive because it gets pricey there!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much for your time to review our hotel. I am so sorry to hear that the staff at check in didn't inform you of the hotel amenities. I will definitely address with my staff. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback
Mustapha Agourram
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

My family (2 adults, 2 young adults) recently stayed 3 nights at Hampton Inn-Downton Convention Center on 5th floor across from Camden Yards (Orioles) stadium. We could hear some traffic noise overnight, but it wasn’t overbearing. All staff we came in contact with was very friendly and courteous. Added to your hotel stay is valet parking ($29/day + city + state taxes)—other parking garages in the area, but appear to be similarly priced. Room was fine, bedding/pillows comfortable and housekeeping kept it clean, supplied with towels. Coffee/tea and microwave/toaster available 24 hours at breakfast area near front desk. Included breakfast was good, very adequate to feed growing young adults appetite -- i.e. variety available (some changes daily) including eggs (scrambled, hardboiled), potatoes, French toast, waffles, cereal, bagels, bread, muffins, juices, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. Pool was staffed with lifeguard and although small in size, adequate for fun activity after day touring Baltimore. Near to hotel are several taverns busiest probably during home baseball games. We ate at Camden Pub and food was good. Hotel is within walking distance (15-20 minutes) of Inner Harbor Area and its many sights/Baltimore Visitors Center, lots of shopping (pavilions at the Harbor and the Gallery across the street from the Harbor) and eateries (few are Uno’s, Five Guys, Chipotle, Hard Rock Café, Cheesecake factory, Starbucks). CVS and Rite Aid are also within walking distance. We toured/walked everywhere (felt safe) in Inner Harbor area and saw Babe Ruth Museum, Historical ships, Aquarium, Federal Hill overlooking the Harbor (beautiful), and traveled by car to Antiques on North Howard Street, Baltimore Basilica and Fort McHenry. Watched talented street performers at the Harbor place amphitheatre (free). There are other free activites (including parks, farmers markets, etc.) on Baltimore website. Also free city bus (Charm City Circulator-nearby stop) is available to get to sites, we didn’t use it, however many do. Inner Harbor area parking in garages ($$) or charges/meters on streets. We were able to tour, shop and do things within our budget and definitely enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors would have less street travel noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhiladelphiaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mustapha A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hampton Inn Convention Center. We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Mustapha Agourram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Holiday Inn Baltimore-Inner Harbor
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center

Property: Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center
Address: 550 Washington Blvd, Baltimore, MD 21230-2209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Family Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance to many of downtown Baltimore's main sites, including Oriole Park at Camden Yards, The Convention Center, University of Maryland Medical Center, this hotel provides comfortable accommodations and modern amenities, in the heart of the city. Guests can also visit the nearby Babe Ruth Museum, the B & O Railroad Museum, M&T Stadium and the exciting Inner Harbor. Guests at the Baltimore Downtown Convention Center Hampton Inn can also relax on comfortable Cloud Nine beds and enjoy in-room movies on flat-screen TVs. The hotel also offers a delicious free hot breakfast as well as wireless internet access and free guest laundry services ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Baltimore-Downtown-Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Hampton Inn Camden Yards
Baltimore Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing