We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely overnight stay”
Review of Gramercy Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gramercy Mansion
Ranked #2 of 13 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
1 review
“A lovely overnight stay”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The setting for the lovely Gramercy Mansion can't be beat.
It is a relaxing venue with easy access to interests in Baltimore.

Our Country Room was pleasant but the bed turned out to be way too small -
though we knew it was a double from the start it had an extra mattress pad on it that kept slipping over to one side and was very awkward. The ironing board had a crooked leg and iron past its due date. I had a lot of trouble trying to iron something in the a.m. and would recommend a bit more attention to these sorts of details by the innkeepers in the future.

The rest of the experience was stellar - lovely food, setting, walks around the grounds. We would consider returning but not in a room with a double bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LaTeteRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your review! We appreciate all feedback as it helps us improve our accommodations and services. Thank you for bringing the mattress pad and iron and ironing board in the Country Room to our attention. That particular room is one of the smallest guest rooms in the historic mansion and we do realize that the bed is smaller than many couples would prefer. We will take a look at the extra mattress pad to see if it can be better secured or replaced for more comfort. And we will also look at replacing the iron and ironing board.

Thanks again for making us aware of some improvements we can make to the Country Room. We hope you'll visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    53
    8
    10
    15
See reviews for
82
322
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Gramercy provides a beautiful location for a wedding. The grounds are gorgeous and the inside of the mansion is stunning. More than enough room for over 100 guests. The staff can't do enough for you. The rooms are luxurious, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast is delicious, especially the pancakes!!! Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Pay attention to bed size when booking rooms. The rooms with king size beds are the bigger and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SharPiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your wedding experience with a terrific review! We so appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. If you loved the pancakes, you have to try our French toast as well!
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The wedding was in October, it was almost out of a fairy tale, everything was so perfect! The grounds were outstanding glowing with fall colors. The wedding was held on a large outdoor paved garden overlooking trees and fields. The reception took place on a covered porch, decorated with green plants, sparkling lights and flowers. Dancing was indoors, along with quiet areas for pictures and conversation. The staff went out of their way to make this a perfect day, and it was. We and our guests stayed in the mansion and loved it. Breakfast in the beautiful dining room or in bed, were the only decisions we needed to worry about. We plan to go back and visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience, Elizabeth! It's always a pleasure to welcome guests celebrating such special occasions at Gramercy and October is a truly gorgeous time to host a wedding in our neck of the woods. We're so glad you enjoyed the wedding and your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I stayed at Gramercy Mansion after we had a simple civil wedding ceremony in Washington DC. We loved Gramercy so much that we ended up staying an extra night and were loathe to eventually have to return home. Karen greeted us upon arrival, and was extremely welcoming and helpful. In fact, everyone we interacted with was lovely, and really made us feel at home. We were very pleasantly surprised to have our room upgraded at no cost - that was a real treat. My family also had a gourmet food basket waiting for us as well upon arrival and then, after we returned from dinner, we found a dozen red roses, along with votive candles and rose petals, in our room…very romantic. The room was beautiful (Bar Harbour), with huge comfy bed, fireplace (gas, which I prefer with my asthma), deep jacuzzi tub, and lovely furnishings. The rooms also have a small coffee maker with sugar/creamer, microwave, and mini fridge with complimentary water and soda. The mansion is a wonderful place to relax and explore at a leisurely pace...each room has so many fascinating historical pieces to take in.
The breakfast (included in the room cost!) was out of this world. We tried several dishes during our stay - eggs benedict, breakfast burrito, french toast, omelette…and all were delicious. Homemade coffee cake in the AM and cookies in the PM were great as well. They also will bring a pot of coffee to your room before breakfast. On our first night, we ate nearby at Linwood's, which is one of Baltimore's top restaurants, and was amazing (but pricey). To work off all of the food, we took walks on the grounds which I can imagine are spectacular in spring/summer, and hikes in nearby places such as Soldier's Delight and Patapsco State Park.
The bottom line is that this is one of the best places we've stayed in, and we've both recommended it highly to our friends and family. We will definitely consider Gramercy for our vow renewal ceremony next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Wow! You just absolutely made our day with your amazing words! Thank you so much for the glowing review. We would love to host your vow renewal in the future and welcome you back for another stay soon!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed one night here during the week and really enjoyed the stay. The rooms are spacious and every detail of the stay was well attended to. We had a wonderful visit and will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much for your recent stay and for taking the time to share a review. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a winter getaway. Food was excellent, staff was friendly, we loved everything about this place......especially the fireplace. It made the room so warm and enjoyable. You will really love this Bed & Breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robindavis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with future guests! We're glad you enjoyed your winter stay and we hope you'll visit again when the gardens are in bloom. We have a new outdoor fire pit, perfect for toasting marshmallows on warm summer nights!
Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearny, NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I very much enjoyed two stays at Gramercy Mansion within a single month. The staff is attentive without being obtrusive, and the setting is a dazzlingly decorated 1902 mansion located in the horse country north of Baltimore. It's easily accessible to the main highways, while you can also find nearby roads which pass farmland and old towns. The outdoors had snowdrops in bloom even in February. When it snowed in March, the staff cleaned everyone's car. There were also nice unexpected touches, such as a beautiful orange rose being placed on our table. There is also a grand piano available for guests to play. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for an elegant bed and breakfast in a non-urban setting.

Room Tip: My favorite is the Aphrodite room because of its panoramic view of the woods and beyond, and its qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenJonKaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer S, Public Relations Manager at Gramercy Mansion, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We love hearing from returning guests! Thank you for your positive review, and we are happy that we could provide you with a lovely stay. We love surprising guests with unexpected touches such as cleaning off cars and flowers that you picked up on! All we want is for our guests to be happy. We hope that you will come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
The Ivy Hotel
#1 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gramercy Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gramercy Mansion

Property: Gramercy Mansion
Address: 1400 Greenspring Valley Rd, Baltimore, MD 21153-0647
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gramercy Mansion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gramercy Mansion is a historic Tudor mansion and bed and breakfast peacefully secluded in Baltimore county's Greenspring Valley. Boasting eleven elegantly furnished guest rooms and suites, each unique and stunning, guests enjoy the luxury of whirlpool tubs and fireplaces, the convenience of complimentary WI-FI, cable t.v., in-room refrigerators and microwaves, decadent full breakfast prepared to order each morning, and the beauty and tranquility of landscaped gardens throughout the property. The Mansion and Carriage House may also be reserved for private and corporate events year round and provide a breathtaking backdrop for wedding celebrations and special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gramercy Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gramercy Mansion Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing