We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Piece of History”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
1840s Carrollton Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We celebrated our anniversary at the Inn and loved the history and romantic charm. Our room was spacious and elegantly furnished - loved the double whirlpool tub. The staff was personable and eager to accommodate. The breakfast menu provided a variety of delicious choices, and we especially appreciated the option of having breakfast served in our room. The location is near the harbor, and right next to the neighborhood of Little Italy, so a host of excellent dining options are within a short walk. A bus stop for Baltimore's free bus system is located just a few steps outside the front door, so we parked our car for the weekend, walked to Harbor destinations, and took the bus to explore more distant city locations. If you prefer historic character to a modern highrise, this is the place to stay in Baltimore.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ulrichbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 862 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

If you visit Baltimore, you have to stay here. The location; the warmth, friendliness, and helpfulness the staff; the elegant decor in and the cleanliness of the room and elsewhere, and the lavish breakfast all make choosing this place a no-brainer.

Room Tip: We loved the Scholars Room but it may be too over the top for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmlandow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Our entire stay at the Inn was perfect from start to finish. The staff was incredibly warm and accomodating, the room (Patriots room) was soft, luxurious and incredibly large and well-apointed, and the breakfast was delish. The location of the Inn is so perfect for walking around the city. Little Italy is steps away and the beautiful harbor area is a few blocks away, but also a nice easy walk. Do not miss the harbor area it is just stunning, with old factories, ships and cobblestone walks. The Circulator is a great (and FREE) way to experience the city. But back to the Inn, honestly they could not have been better, I know that we will return again and again!

Room Tip: Courtyard view is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laurens819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Not what you would expect! I was told there was a working gas fireplace in the room which is was key to me on cold snowing romantic evening out (a very special night planned). However that is not what it was. It was a cheap fake fireplace with lights to simulate flames! The room was small, the furnishings were nice, but absolutely not worth the money. When I contacted management to complain, they really could care less, I mean after all there are no refunds or any other compensation when your deceived. I would not recommend this place to anyone, because its not what you expect or what they tell you about it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael0861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The rooms were beautifully decorated and very spacious, including the roomy bathroom with a double sink vanity. The staff were friendly and personable. We only booked a day but would have loved to stay a week.

Room Tip: The staff had upgraded us without being asked beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We were in Baltimore for my niece's wedding, her reception being held at the 1840s Ballroom. We stayed in the Diplomat Room, finding it comfortable, spacious, and well appointed. The period decor and furnishings are beautiful. The staff was welcoming, helpful, and attentive. We appreciated how we could personalize our breakfast to our own liking. Also, temperature control in our room was wonderful - no issues there. Overall, our stay here was memorable and romantic, complete with attending my niece's perfect wedding reception in their Ballroom.

Room Tip: The Diplomat Room could be a little noisy, as it is a corner unit facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Originalonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

The building is charmingly historic, and extremely well updated. We chose the Liberty Room, which was luxuriously furnished and very large. The whirlpool bath was very enjoyable, and the bathroom was beautifully tiled. Staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They were very helpful in explaining the parking situation; at first it seemed to be far away, but turned out to be only a block away (lots of one way streets makes it further to drive than to walk to the garage). Once we became oriented to our location we were delighted to find that everything we wanted to do and lots we didn't know we wanted to do was within walking distance (and I am not an intrepid walker!). We were very pleased with the value we got and plan to stay here again on our next trip to Baltimore.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 67 in Baltimore
1,014 reviews
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#12 of 67 in Baltimore
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#16 of 67 in Baltimore
1,180 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840s Carrollton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840s Carrollton Inn

Address: 50 Albemarle St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4602
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range: £112 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 1840s Carrollton Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Jonestown, the 1840s Carrollton Inn is just blocks from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, Little Italy, Harbor East and Fells Point. Luxury rooms and suites are decorated with boutique furnishings and artwork and feature whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your 1840s Carrollton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840s Carrollton Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing