We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect couples retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
1840s Carrollton Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I grew up in Baltimore, but met my husband in Canton Ohio. It's been tradition for us to go back to Balto at least once per year to get some steamed crabs. Since it was our 10 yr anniversary we wanted a private get away rather than staying with family - and I have to say I was delighted to stay at this B&B. It was close to all the things I love to visit and equally close to a great crab restaurant. It brought back so many great memories. The food was great, and there was a great variety of choices. They served us breakfast in the privacy of this wonderful room. We loved the double Jacuzzi and fireplace too! Friendly, helpful and accommodating! I highly recommend staying here if you want to see Balto City!

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, and had a view of the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

533 - 539 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had our wedding here on 4/5/14(it was BEAUTIFUL), so we thought why not stay the at the bed and breakfast the night after the wedding. Dianne was ABSOLUTELY amazing! She made sure that our wedding started ON TIME and she also made sure our room accomadations were perfect for my rather large bridal party and she made sure the next morning we recived our breakfast...as we, the newly weds almost over slept. The rooms were very nice, breakfast was delicious, and all the staff were very welcoming and helpful. WE WILL BE BACK!! We'd reccomend this place to anyone:)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nishadime .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My boyfriend and celebrated his birthday in Baltimore and decided to try a B&B since neither of us have done so before, and what a pleasant surprise it was. This was worth the price plus more. The room was gorgeous, the staff was excellent and the whole place was just breath taking. The next time I am in Baltimore for anything and need to stay the night, Carrollton Inn is my place to stay. Lastly, the breakfast was to die for. We chose to have breakfast in our room and it was delicious!! There is not enough good things to say about this place. You deserve 10 stars for a job well done.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Congressional Room and it was a gorgeous room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelieta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We just completed a long 2 week vacation travelling I-70 from Baltimore to Denver. Of all the memories gathered along the way the first and best was our stay at the 1840's Carrollton Inn. The Innkeepers provided us with great directions and information about local attractions and just across the street was a free city shuttle bus that took us to every site we had planned to see.
Saving the best for last; The breakfast menu. We enjoyed wonderful gourmet quality meals each of the three days we stayed at the Inn. Each meal could be tailored to our desires and was served at the exact time we had requested (we ate in the dining room with other guests both enjoying the food and company).
If we are in the Baltimore area again; we will most assuredly stay at the 1840's Carrollton Inn. If it were possible to give the Inn and Innkeepers more stars we would. Both were outstanding and first class all the way.
If there was a negative aspect; it would be the traffic noise. Certainly the Innkeepers have no control over this, but as we have learned from past experience; a simple pair of earplugs will take care of most noise problems. It's the city, so just relax and enjoy. Ric and Gail, Torrance, Ca

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a great time. The building was great and the food was amazing. I haven't slept that well in a long long time. The surrounding area was a little sketchy but we would love to go back if we get the opportunity.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our children got us a weekend getaway for a Christmas gift and what an incredible time we had. We never dreamed it would be so fabulous. The room and grounds were absolutely beautiful. The staff could not have been more gracious and accommodating. We had a delicious breakfast served in our room each morning. Everything you would want to see was in walking distance. We will definitely go back again and recommend it to all our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms off the patio are nice and have easy access to outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank duckworthsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I spent our anniversary here; we had an appt at Johns Hopkins the next day. The place was beautiful, the workers nice, and the room.... well... mind boggling. Comfortable yet old school. I hope to go back and stay awhile under better circumstances. 5 star all the way!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,636 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Fells Point
Admiral Fell Inn
Admiral Fell Inn
#11 of 66 in Baltimore
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840s Carrollton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840s Carrollton Inn

Address: 50 Albemarle St, Baltimore, MD 21202-4602
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range: £101 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 1840s Carrollton Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Jonestown, the 1840s Carrollton Inn is just blocks from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, Little Italy, Harbor East and Fells Point. Luxury rooms and suites are decorated with boutique furnishings and artwork and feature whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your 1840s Carrollton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840s Carrollton Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing