We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“EXCEED EXPECTATION” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1840s Carrollton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
1840s Carrollton Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Baltimore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“EXCEED EXPECTATION”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

It is a perfect experience to stay in 1840s Carrollton Inn for two nights in baltimore. The perfect suits and the yards and the breakfast....The staffs are so nice and considerate. I strongly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Qi Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    98
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
69
532
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

My brother got married here a couple of years ago and the reception, ceremony, and B&B rooms were all gorgeous. I took advantage of a last minute reservation there this past weekend and the service and facility was great once again. Rooms are super-luxurious, definitely the best place in Baltimore. Rooms rates vary but even the least expensive is gorgeous with plenty of room. Breakfast delivered to your room, huge comfy beds, thick towels.
LOVE IT!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I've stayed at the 1840s Carrollton Inn about 5 times over 7 years, but this is my first review (shame on me.) In fact, the only times we haven't stayed here is when I've been too late booking and they're already full. So it's always our number one choice. We love this place - the rooms are lovely and comfortable, and the staff is fantastic - friendly and accommodating.

We like the location - easy walk to Inner Harbor, Fells Point, Camden Yard, etc. We didn't have a problem with street noise from our room, but I've lived in cities most of my life, so I doubt I'd even notice it.

What to say about breakfast? It's always been excellent. We usually have it in the pretty dining room or in the courtyard, but our little dining nook was so inviting in our last room (the Estate room) that we decided to have it in the room. It was beautifully presented and even the Eggs Benedict didn't suffer on the way up to the room. Just perfect.

And I seriously wish every hotel bathroom was this large and luxurious!

We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YankyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This little inn is just fabulous! We had originally only booked 2 nights but ended up staying 4 not just because we loved Baltimore, but this inn made the stay just perfect. We stayed in the Congressional Room which is huge and beautifully furnished. The staff were welcoming and full of information if you need. The breakfast was lovely and we were able to choose something different everyday. The location brilliant for wandering not only the inner harbor, but Fells Point, and Harbour East. Secure undercover parking is discounted for guests and is just a short block walk away so no hassle to us at all. In terms of restaurants...we stuck to those around Fells Point and Harbour East. The inner harbor is worth visiting but is it really touristy and the food options reflect the "fast and furious".

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

You have to be a city person to enjoy a stay here. You also need to know that 'safe' parking is in a garage 3 blocks away, though you can unload for 10 minutes in front of the inn. There is a small parking area next to them, but they discourage your using it and will tell you they are not liable for any damages. Having had our car broken into at a B&B in DC, this wasn't the best of opening statements to us, but we did survive the stay with the vehicle intact! They validate the parking so the cost is $10 per 24 hour period, though you cannot remove the vehicle during that period unless you pay to go back in. The inn is only a couple of blocks from the Inner Harbor so there is no need to drive to anything if your agenda is exploring and eating down by the water.

We had The Patriot's Room and it was very nice, en suite, though it was the first room in the hall on the first floor. It was right next to the foyer as well as the kitchen, which didn't bother me, though it did my wife a bit in terms of noise level. The amenities in the room are nice. Complimentary water and soft drinks, a small refrigerator to store left overs, a couple of chocolates, as well as a single long stemmed rose all greeted us. The room has heavy curtains so sleeping in is a definite option! The room also has a small eating/writing table, fireplace, TV, and the bathroom had a large shower and jacuzzi tub.

The staff is pleasant and accommodating, and breakfast was probably a highlight of the stay. You have your choice of eating in your room, eating indoors in a smaller sized dining area, or eating in the courtyard out back. If the weather is pleasant, I highly recommend this option. The tables and chairs are iron, but they set the tables with nice heavy tablecloths to soften it up. There is plenty of room so you feel that you have privacy, the food is great, and the service was top notch.

Overall, it was a nice stay, the inn is clean and in good shape, and location is great for walking to the harbor or Little Italy.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may want to look at another room other than the one we had, The Patr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

A gem of an inn. Fabulous location for the Inner Harbor, good restaurants, Little Italy, great little local osteria down the street for an after-dinner drink where everyone says hello (Osteria da Amedeo on South Exeter). Relaxed, comfortable, elegant inn with a thoughtful staff. Get your great breakfast served in the room at no extra cost and you can avoid that whole "Bed and Breakfast" awkwardness altogether. It's much more of an upscale inn than a B & B. There was even a rose on the bed. Separate shower and whirlpool tub were great. Next time we'll get a room facing the inner courtyard to perhaps avoid the early morning truck noise (hey, it's a lovely historic building right in the city), but still a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

An unplanned 2 night stay for my cousin and I - 2 Baltimore born natives - was absolutely perfect. An ice storm by necessity changed our other plans and so we had a stay-cation in our hometown. Neither of us has lived locally for many years but our families are still in Baltimore so accommodations have always been built in. This couldn't have been better. We had a beautiful room with fireplace and jacuzzi, as well as our own microwave complete with packets of popcorn! Breakfast was terrific and delivered to our room.

We celebrated a belated Christmas together sitting in front of the hearth, opening our presents and talking, talking, talking. We dined in Little Italy, walked (carefully) all around the inner harbor and up to Lexington Market (Faidley's crab cakes - YUM!), and went to the top of the World Trade Center to look over the city. Love, love, love the 1840 Carrollton!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dancerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#2 of 65 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#1 of 65 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1840s Carrollton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1840s Carrollton Inn

Property: 1840s Carrollton Inn
Address: 50 Albemarle Street, Baltimore, MD 21202
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 1840s Carrollton Inn 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Jonestown, the 1840s Carrollton Inn is just blocks from Baltimore's Inner Harbor, Little Italy, Harbor East and Fells Point. Luxury rooms and suites are decorated with boutique furnishings and artwork and feature whirlpool tubs and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your 1840s Carrollton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1840s Carrollton Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing