We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as advertised” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Biltmore Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Biltmore Suites Hotel
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

We were told at the front desk we did not need a voucher for parking at the hospital lot. Unfortunately that is not true and we were charged $14 a day for parking. It was also advertised that breakfast was included in our stay. There was only a pot of cold coffee during the 3 nights we stayed. And yes, fourth floor walk up was not what we planned for.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreSuitesHotel, Manager at Biltmore Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide comments on our hotel. I apologize for the lack of information on the parking garage. There was certainly no intention of not providing you the information. Breakfast is served 7AM - 9AM in the lobby and coffee is brewed fresh at that time. We also provide a coffee maker in your room. We will try to improve our procedures to better inform our guests on the parking and breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    30
    26
    22
    30
See reviews for
15
35
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

It is a nice old building and I was in love with the room immediately. It was lovely and a kind of romantic, I liked it much.
The staff is helpful and very flexible. I wish to experience such service in other places too.
Maybe the breakfast offer could be wider, but this was the only thing I found to improve. The wifi access is perfect too.
The hotel is located in the Mount Vernon district close walking distance (5-10min) to the center am lot of restaurants are in the area.
I would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GyFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreSuitesHotel, Manager at Biltmore Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time to offer comments about our Victorian hotel. We are trying to expand our breakfast choices and hope to implement this in the upcoming months. We are also upgrading our WiFi so every room will have great access. We try to keep our rooms filled with different type of furnishings and decor so it does not have a "generic" feel to it. We hope to see you again and once again thank you for your thoughts on our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I enjoyed this hotel, an older Victorian mansion. The suites are just that - they have a bedroom with a sitting area and TV, a walk-through kitchenette and a bathroom. The house needs a little love in the form of new wallpaper and carpet but is charming. There is no elevator so be prepared to climb a lot of stairs! The staff and housekeeper were very nice, chattly and helpful. The stay included continental breakfast though I didn't take advantage of it. One of the best features is that it's within a two-block walk of Mt. Vernon Square. I'd stay there again. Check out the tavern closeby - the kitchen closes at 9 p.m. even on the weekends, so beware!

Room Tip: The side facing the street can be noisy, even three floors up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PopuluxWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreSuitesHotel, Manager at Biltmore Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2013
Thank you so much for providing comments on our hotel. We are trying to provide our hotel the "love" you mentioned and hope to clear up most of these issues this year. As you mentioned we are located in the Mount Vernon district and there are plenty of restaurants on Charles Street, located 2 blocks from the hotel. There are also places on the side streets, which make Mount Vernon unique in Baltimore. We would love to have you back as our guest and once again thank you for your time and comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Their non-refundable two night minimum requirement shows the management deception toward travelers. Horrible Rooms - left before spending the night. Only takes 15 minutes in the room to realize the mistake - after your credit card is charged. No elevator, no parking, no paint in the last decade, and no love or care provided to what was certainly once a gorgeous property.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WVnCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreSuitesHotel, Manager at Biltmore Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
We apologize for the condition of your room. We have since made provisions to fix the issues you raised. We also refunded all but $30.00 to your account and we will refund that also. As for the minimum 2-day requirement, we have no such policy and we did not intend for it to be misleading in any way. While we don't have an elevator, we did locate your room on the lowest floor, which was one floor above the lobby. While we don't have our own parking we do have an arrangement with the Maryland General Hospital Garage located 1 block from the hotel, which is free on the weekends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Biltmore hotel in Baltimore, MD 2/15 -2/17/13. First, there is no elevator and the steps are very winding and long. The carpeting was very dirty and the doors did not lock well. The first room we had, the linen had not been washed and two bed bugs crawled across the pillow the first night. After I complained, we were transferred to another room. The linen in this room had not been washed and the pillows were soiled as if urine stains appeared on them. One of the pillows the stuffing was coming out of it. I complained again and asked if we could have new pillows. The front desk rep stated he could not find anymore pillows and stated he would at least try and find us some clean pillow cases. He came to our 2nd room with one pillow case, because he stated this was all that he could find. The bed spread was not fresh and my daughter began to break out in a rash, from what I believe were either more bed bugs or dust mites. Nonetheless, I removed the bedspreads from the bed and placed them in the corner on the floor and we slept under the sheets. The atmosphere of this hotel gave me the feeling in being in a scene from the movie Psycho. It was very eerie. The pictures depicted do not look anything like the actual rooms. Oh, I forgot to mention, in the 2nd room we were given, there was a mouse trap in the corner. I would not recommend staying here and will never stay at this dirty run down place again. This hotel needs serious cleaning and renovations. Also, this hotel does not have a parking garage. You have to walk across the street and use Maryland General Hospital's parking lot. Don't forget to retrieve a parking ticket, otherwise, the parking attendant will charge you the full day parking fee.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AJMikell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreSuitesHotel, Manager at Biltmore Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the cleanliness issue in that one room, and addressed the issue with the pests. I hope that you will reconsider our hotel for your future stay in Baltimore. If you do not, then I thank you for bringing some of these issues to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Run down and shabby, yet clean and welcoming. The staff is warm and helpful, the decor is a bit eclectic. It's like stepping into a Tennessee Williams play. Not a cookie cutter corporate hotel experience. If you are up for a bit of an adventure and want a very good deal, this is the place for you. Enormous rooms, high ceilings, convenient location, very well priced (just compare to the chain hotels located about a mile down the road). Parking is a half block away at the hospital parking lot, but it is very cheap, especially considering parking downtown is over $20 a night (even when the parking lot is almost empty). Would love to give it above average, however there is no elevator which is something to keep in mind. Also, the carpeting on the stairs is in dire need of replacement. Would't want this place to get a complete overhaul since then it wouldn't be as affordable. If you want a unique and quirky experience, and your knees are up to it, this is a great place (there is a suite on the ground floor by the way). I plan on returning,

Room Tip: The suites are enormous. Can easily fit a family of four, and come with a mini fridge, microwave and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank momofbecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreSuitesHotel, Manager at Biltmore Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your thoughts on our hotel. We appreciate your comments and are very happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We have repaired the carpet on the stairway. We are slowly trying to repair and improve our Victorian hotel and comments from guests like yourself provide us with great enthusiasm. Thank you and we hope to see you again at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

I've been to over 30 countries and stayed in every kind of accommodation imaginable, from no stars to five stars, and the Biltmore Suites in Baltimore is just what a hotel of its kind should be. What is a hotel of 'its kind', you ask? That is a bit hard to nail down: unpretentious, original, steeped in faded elegance, homey comforts (and some homey wear and tear), and odd-ball detail and eccentricities. Its not a frilly Victorian B&B, its not a full-on "kitsch" design, it is NOT a dump (as some clearly close-minded and unimaginative reviewers have suggested), and its certainly not mainstream. It is all its own, all Baltimore, and all around charming.

Outrageously inexpensive, we were extremely happy to be warmly welcomed by hotel staff and management, offered a room on the spot without reservations, and upgraded for no extra expense to a king-sized suite. On entering the suite, our jaws hit the ground - two HUGE rooms (living room and bedroom) with decorative Victorian fireplaces, high ceilings, huge windows looking out onto the extraordinary First and Franklin Presbyterian Church (view alone worth a $200 room), all in the heart of the great Mount Vernon district. Most of all, we were struck by the overwhelming sense of comfort and homey-ness of the space, achieved against all logic through a haphazard assortment of mismatched furniture, from antiques (such as a complete footpedal sewing machine) to an odd modern futon, pink papered walls against earthy toned upholstery and starkly deep red drapes (!?), to clean soft sheets, good quality pillows and a truly comfortable mattress. Not to mention mini-fridge, coffee makers and all the trimmings.

This place is paradise for a specific type of traveler, but others should steer clear: if you want five stars, go and pay for it someplace else; if you want the cheapest place in Baltimore, don't gripe about the wilting edges of the Biltmore; if you like chain hotels, go find one. Otherwise - stay here and soak it up, this place is wonderful in every way.

The Biltmore made our trip to Balitmore, hands down. We didn't stop smiling for the rest of the weekend, happy in the knowledge that authentic, kooky and comfortable places still exist. Thank you to the owners for sharing this wonderful place with us and marching to your own drummer.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DC_Traveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiltmoreSuitesHotel, Manager at Biltmore Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your kind review and we appreciate your comments and take heart in them. We try to maintain the Victorian feeling with a little bit of Baltimorian flavor to it. I do hope you come back to our hotel and we look forward to seeing you at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Mount Vernon
Midtown Inn
Midtown Inn
#54 of 66 in Baltimore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Hotel Brexton
#29 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Downtown
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
Baltimore Plaza Inner Harbor
#51 of 66 in Baltimore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Radisson Hotel Baltimore Downtown-Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biltmore Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biltmore Suites Hotel

Property: Biltmore Suites Hotel
Address: 205 W. Madison St., Baltimore, MD 21201
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Biltmore Suites Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Biltmore Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biltmore Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing