We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“doubletree near johns hopkins”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“doubletree near johns hopkins”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a very nice hotel, with a pleasant bar and very good dining room. It's walking distance from JHU Homewood offices. The beds are comfortable, the air conditioning reasonable, and there are outside patios and a pool. The valet car service is attentative.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jordan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    246
    185
    83
    35
See reviews for
433
122
93
324
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We had a very good experience at this hotel. The receptionist (Doina) was extremely knowledgeable and helpful. She helped us getting the room right away. We were very satstisfied by the service at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed for one night at the Colonnade when attending a business conference. Downtown hotels had no vacancies so I chose this place because I had stayed there a few years back. The Colonnade has gone down hill.

It always surprises me that people choose to work in the hospitality industry who don't have a hospitable bone in their bodies. I arrived around noon. One of the two desk attendants told me that check in wasn't until 3:00 p.m. The second quickly added that I should have let them know that I was arriving early, because the hotel had been sold out the previous night. I then asked them if they had a room available. Turns out they did. So why the gratuitous hard time? They had my Hilton Honors Gold card, so they knew I was pretty loyal to the brand.

I went upstairs and started working. I thought about having a sandwich sent up from room service. I reached for the phone in the small living room. It did not work. I checked the phone jack and it was frayed. I tried the phone in the bedroom. The room service button didn't work, but someone picked up when I dialed 0. He connected me to room service, but they did not pick up after 10 rings. I hung up and went down to the lobby, but the small store selling sandwiches was closed . . . at 1:35 p.m.!

The next day I was up early working. About 6:30 a.m. I asked to be connected to room service. The desk attendant told me that room service did not open until 7:00 a.m. That seems a little late on a weekday for guests who may have early morning business. I quickly showered and went down to the restaurant. No server came to the table, so I just went over to the breakfast buffet. A server did come over and offer coffee when I was about halfway through my meal.

When I checked out, I asked the bellman for a cab. He said another person was waiting and that cabs were hard to come by when it was raining (actually, it was not raining, just the merest hint of a mist). After 10 minutes with no cab for my fellow guest or me, I set off for St. Paul Street where I caught the bus to the train station.

On the plus side, the croissants at breakfast were absolutely delicious. The lobby is large with a stab at elegance circa 1983. The room was reasonably clean, but the furnishings were frayed. The bed was quite comfortable.

This employees at this place have just stopped trying. The Doubletree Colonnade is in desperate need of renovation. Maybe the fact that it is across the street from Johns Hopkins means they can get away with tattered furniture and lousy service. But paying $249.00 a night plus tax for this experience left me feeling cheated. I will not return.

Room Tip: This place is not up to par. The only good room is a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stropertre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Everyone was very helpful to my family and me on our stay for a weekend event at one of the colleges. We drove in from out of town, arrived early, our rooms were ready, the valets assisted in flagging down cabs, concierge got bags to our rooms and recommended rec events, and the desk staff was very welcoming and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel was convenient for my business at JHU. I was impressed with the very good, attentive service. But very thin walls meant I heard my neighbors' coughing, alarms, etc. For this reason, it seems to be a high price for what is offered.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Colette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambodia
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I ordered breakfast to my room, but it was simply forgotten. When I notified a person at the reception, I was pleased to obtain a coupon for a free breakfast the day after. However, the room service then insisted that I'd still have to pay $10.10 for gratuity and tip (yes: both!). Also, the bathroom had an unpleasant smell.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Rene' H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montoursville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Everyone was helpful, courteous, and attentive. Facilities were excellently cleaned and attractive. Foods and services were well prepared, well presented, and quite good. We had a great experience and were highly satisfied overall.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#28 of 67 in Baltimore
618 reviews
Mt. Washington
Mt. Washington Conference Center
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Property: Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Address: 4 W University Pkwy, Baltimore, MD 21218-2387
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#29 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing