We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel here is a well-kept secret in Baltimore........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Ranked #25 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2009

The management here has got it together. Everyone there was very gracious, and seemed like very happy employees. Very classy place at a fair price. You feel comfortable immediately upon entering the hotel. Very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popececil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,069 - 1,075 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2009

We stayed overnight for a campus tour at Johns Hopkins - can't beat the location - right across the street.

The staff was wonderful and went above and beyond in all respects. The hotel is immaculate, and our suite was very pleasant. Great free wi-fi access in our room.

My only complaint - I wish they had a complimentary continental breakfast for guests or a discount for the Starbucks in the lobby. I would absolutely stay here again next time I visit Baltimore.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2008

Terrible experience. Booked in Jan for a June visit, confirmed directly with hotel staff night before arrival, confirmed details of suite.
On arrival told suite not available, could only give room with two double beds for our family of four. Room turned out to have one double bed.
Went back to desk and then given two adjacent rooms, with a double bed each, no connecting door, but figured my husband and I would have to each sleep in one room with one child. One room stank of cigarette smoke.
Returned to desk again, manager personally took us to another pair of room, both of which stank of smoke. Management stated rooms were smoke free but would place machine to filter air. Machine had no effect.
Finally management decided to give us suite larger than origianl booking.
ENTIRE CHECK IN PROCESS TOOK OVER TWO HOURS WITH US RUNNING BACK AND FORTH TO DESK TO CHANGE ROOMS.
Although hotel conceded and did not charge us for one of the two nights, the time spent was worth much more than the cost of the room to my husband and me (we are a software development consultant and a physician respectively). Will never ever stay at a Doubletree hotel or indeed a Hilton again.

Stayed: June 2008
3  Thank INDILongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2008

I think most of the crappy reviews were written before this hotel was given a complete renovation in December 2007. First, the hotel staff was nothing but wonderful and friendly, and helpful. The place looks new, with all the renovations done. The room was great with granite countertop in bathroom, wall in shower, and counter in walkway (coffee pot area). Flat screen tv, mp3 player plug in on the alarm clock, and very quick valet service. I would suggest valet instead of self park due to the fact that with valet it is one price per day ($24) no matter how many times you go in and out. There was a nice outdoor garden area with tables and chairs set up. We ordered in and ate out there. We have 2 children under the age of 3, so going out to dinner can be a hassle. We really enjoyed our stay, and would come back here on our next visit to Baltimore without question.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam12475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We were visiting Johns Hopkins University and needed a place to stay. The university directed us to the Colonnade; I called and was given a room on the spot at the university guest rate. For the convenience, the rate was excellent. To avoid the hotel parking fee, we left our car in the university parking garage and schlepped our luggage across campus.

The front desk was very hospitable and helpful and the complimentary cookies were a nice touch! The room must have been recently renovated because it was more than we expected -- spotless; beautiful marble bathroom; wonderful, soft beds, HUGE flat screen TV; and more. Excellent value. We will definitely stay here if we need to be close to the university again.

The only thing on our wish list would be complimentary, continental breakfast. Traveling with a prospective college student can be pricey and we look for the 'little things' to help us cut costs.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collegetraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2008

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to Johns Hopkins University. In that regard, the location is excellent -- across the street from the campus.

However, the stay was not excellent. For the premium prices charged, this property should have a high level of customer service and quality settings.There were so many issues that we will thoroughly check out other hotel options for our visit next year.

Issue One: Parking. No where on the website or when you check in are you told that you will have to pay every time you enter and leave the garage. A 1.5 hour stay was $8 alone in the garage. Overnight is an additional $20. Come and go several times and your parking expense can become very prohibitive.

Issue Two: Front Desk. We only encountered one person at the end of our stay who we would consider customer oriented. Others we encountered were indifferent at best and seemed put out to have to talk or help a customer.

Issue Three: No door on the bedroom. The suites are advertised as having a separate bedroom. Yes, there is a bedroom area, with a wide entry to it; no door. The set up was more typical of a low end suite hotel; not a hotel that charges $300 for a suite. So, if you want a private bedroom to allow someone to watch TV and others to sleep, this will not work.

Issue Four: Other room issues. These included a refrigerator that did not work, a TV in the sofabed area that was older and had a fuzzy picture, a sofabed that was too short for a shorter person to sleep on with legs fully extended, a ragged blanket to use with the sofabed, a bathroom with laminate flooring as the ceiling, and a small size for a $300/night room. Yes, the balcony was nice. The room and bathroom were very clean and lots of towels were provided.

Issue Five: Business center. Yes, there were two computers to use. However, the printers did not work and the front desk indicated that we and other guests would have to wait to the end of his shift until someone could figure out the issue. This is the only location for printing out boarding passes.

This is a hotel that seems to think it has a captive audience with its location and has to do little to obtain a full house. Maybe that is true, but how much of that business is repeat customers? A strong attention to certain cost structures (such as the garage pricing policy) and customer service is greatly needed.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Often_on_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2008

Spent one night at the hotel. Had an issue with a fire alarm at about 10:30pm and was out of room until 11:15pm. Alarm also went of at 8:30 am in the morning for a reset. Needless to say did not get a good night sleep and was disappointed that the staff did not apologize and during the alarm/fire drill one staff member mentioned this was an ongoing problem. Also housekeeping was VERY noisy at 8:00am in the morning. Acted as if they had no consideration for guests trying to sleep. Parking was ok and room was nice. Check-in
very quick.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank emills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#26 of 67 in Baltimore
658 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore Inner Harbor
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#13 of 67 in Baltimore
1,210 reviews
Sheraton Inner Harbor Hotel
#32 of 67 in Baltimore
970 reviews
Downtown
Baltimore Marriott Inner Harbor at Camden Yards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Address: 4 W University Pkwy, Baltimore, MD 21218-2387
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range: £92 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing