We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient to JHU, not that great otherwise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“convenient to JHU, not that great otherwise”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2007

I stayed at the Colonnade with my family because my brother was graduating from JHU. For our purposes, it was nice because it was so convenient to the campus, but it was way, way overpriced during graduation week, and the rooms weren't even that large and/or that nice.

My card key malfunctioned pretty much every time I tried to use it, so I got pretty well acquainted with a lot of the front desk staff since I had to get my key reprogrammed so often.

The breakfast buffet was similarly overpriced and not that great. After the first day, we ate at nearby restaurants instead. Brasserie Tatin is a few blocks away and is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank elchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    239
    179
    78
    30
See reviews for
406
119
92
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2007

Similar to other review, we found the lobby to be glitzy, but the rest of the hotel is falling apart. The rooms were very plain. The bathroom was missing grout and had a growing case of mold around the tub. Not what you'd expect from an EXPENSIVE hotel. It seems they are riding on 2 things, and 2 things only:
1- the nice lobby
2-being across the street from Hopkins.

Unfortunately we also found the front desk staff to be quite rude. We were also suprised to find that the pool was no more than 3 feet deep in all places. Great for young kids, but not for adults (unless they are accompanying small kids).

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank marriagerightsforall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2007

I was a student at JHU when this hotel was being built (20 years ago!) and always thought it looked so nice from the outside. I finally had my chance to stay at the hotel when I was invited to participate in an alumni advisory committee in April 2007 (I did not have to pay for the room myself). I have to say I was a little disappointed with the hotel. First, the rooms are kind of dark and a little run down. Next, I could not figure out how to set the clock, let alone the alarm (it had the wrong time!) and the lock of my room was pretty bent and worn (but it did still lock). It was unusually warm when I was in Baltimore and I had a difficult time getting the room comfortable. After crawling into bed, the bottom sheet kept coming untucked from the mattress (I hate that!). During my stay, I saw furniture just left in the hallway (and overheard the discussion of the staff, "I wonder what that's doing there?"). In addition, I did not find the front desk staff to be overly helpful when I needed to schedule a 4:00 am taxi.
On the good side, the food we were served on our first night's meeting was outstanding.
In short, the hotel is great for convenience to the JHU campus, but is in need of renovation (which they said they were doing) and some improvements in service.

  • Liked — convenience to JHU campus
  • Disliked — dark and dingy rooms, service
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rondracek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2007

This hotel is very convenient to Johns Hopkins Homewood Campus and Charles Village, but not close to much else.

The staff was very accomodating during my stay. They switched my room when I showed up before check-in time so I wouldn't have to wait for my original room to be cleaned. I think that some strange charges and refunds on my bill resulted from this, but the staff was again very helpful in sorting it out and printing me a new bill on checkout. The key card machine wasn't working when I checked in, so they sent someone from housekeeping to meet me at my room and let me in, and called me when my key was ready. They were also very helpful with tips on how to get the semi-functional ATM in the lobby to work (unplug it and plug it back in to reboot it).

All of that being said, I was a little disappointed with the condition of my room. It was small and rather dark. The furnishings were somewhat worn. No mini-fridge. It seemed like there was a shampoo shortage because when I arrived, my shampoo was half-empty, and wasn't replaced during my stay.

Good points: I love the DoubleTree cookies. Free wireless internet.
Helpful staff. The most convenient hotel to JHU. The pool/solarium looked nice.

Not so good: The rooms need a renovation (they appeared to be renovating something in the lobby when I was there). Not close to the Inner Harbor or BWI. And what's with the shampoo?

Check out: Tamber's Nifty Fifties Diner at 34th and St. Paul. It's a 50's style diner with Indian food. It sounds weird, but it works. Try the chocolate malts, Kashmiri naan, and chicken korma.

Also: The Ambassador restaurant behind the DoubleTree has good Indian food in an elegant quasi-British Colonial setting. They open up the patio doors in the summer and seat you in the garden with tablecloths and hurricane lamps.

And: The tiramisu at Donna's at 31st and St. Paul. It's the size of a brick and light as a feather.

  • Liked — Proximity to JHU
  • Disliked — Furnishings were showing their age
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank panicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2007

The hotel lobby looks impressive. Beyond that, my experience with the property was a real downer. The rooms are spare, the mattresses are bad; they're old and lumpy. The pillows are uncomfortable.. Electrical outlets in the room are scarce and the bathroom is pretty tired.

The management of this property appears to be poor. They gave me the wrong room-- a single king when I requested a double. I am traveling with my 18 year old son who was with me at check in. Despite that, the woman at the front desk gave me a single bed. Not very attentive.

Cookies are Doubletree's signature item. However, no cookies were available at checkin or late in the evening.. The front desk said that the kitchen didn't make them today. Ridiculous. Tried reaching the front desk by phone....no answer.

Last thing....Diamond members are supposed to receive water in their rooms or be given it at the front desk at the time of check in. No water available.

Beware....the place needs a face lift and far better manangement.


.

  • Liked — location across the street from Johns Hopkins
  • Disliked — service and room condition
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stl-mvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#28 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Mt. Washington
Mt. Washington Conference Center
Hotel Brexton
#26 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Downtown
Lord Baltimore Hotel
Lord Baltimore Hotel
#17 of 66 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade

Property: Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade
Address: 4 W University Pkwy, Baltimore, MD 21218-2387
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#29 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richly appointed in European style, our guest accommodations positively envelop you in luxury and comfort. All 125 guest rooms and suites feature Biedermeier-inspired furnishings, two phones with data port, hairdryer, coffee maker, ironing equipment, and On-Command Video with first run pay-per-view movies. ADA compliant rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Inn at The Colonnade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Inn At The Colonnade Hotel Baltimore
Doubletree At The Colonnade
Doubletree Hotel Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing