We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fireworks !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Glenmoore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fireworks !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Great hotel for our stay for the 4th of July holiday. Room was excellent. We had an Inner Harbour view room near the top of hotel. It was so hot outside that we retreated to the room opened the window and saw both the firework displays and heard the military band right from our room. The buffet breakfast was wonderful. Perfectly fresh international fare and a great selection. Staff was extremely welcoming at every turn and very educated on the local area. This location is within walking distance and close to everything. I would stay here again and again! I look forward to staying here this summer!

Room Tip: Higher is best for the wonderful view of Inner Harbour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeLoew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Dee Loew,
Thanks so much for your 5-star review! Some people say that our location on the Inner Harbor to view the fireworks is the best kept secret in town! We definitely agree. JUly 4th is quickly approaching, so we look forward to seeing you again in a couple of months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    295
    102
    51
    45
See reviews for
357
464
33
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We live 30 minutes outside of Baltimore and decided to stay at an Inner Harbor hotel for our anniversary. The Royal Sonesta seemed to have a good location and was reasonably priced.

It was a pain getting to the hotel because of all the construction on Light Street.. it probably took us 20-30 minutes just to get to the hotel once we got downtown. The front desk staff was really nice and upgraded us to a Harbor view when we told them it was our anniversary. The view was spectacular, but the room was not what you'd expect from a nice hotel downtown. The furnishings were old fashioned... definitely not my taste... which distracted from my view. I always say I want my house to look like a hotel... just definitely not this hotel! Even the lobby and elevators looked like they'd seen better times... or maybe it was just the way they were decorated which was not my taste. The room also had a weird perfumey smell.

The gym at the hotel was amazing, and the location was pretty good... although I would have rather stayed on the other side of downtown since we spent most of our time near Power Plant Live. This hotel is across the street from the Visitors Center... closer to the Science Museum. There were also a ton of kids at the hotel which is usually fine, but not on the one weekend we wanted to get away from the kids!!

All in all, an OK stay, just not a great one.

Room Tip: The Harbor View was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ps12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Hello ps12,
Thanks for your interesting comments. There has been some construction throughout all of downtown Baltimore lately, so while it was not initiated by our hotel, it certainly does affect some businesses in the area. In case you did not know, Sonesta assumed management of this property just a few short months ago, so we understood from Day 1 that the previous regime left us a somewhat dated product. However, with new management comes change and I am pleased to inform you that we have a major renovation project planned over the next year to address the entire physical plant, so we look forward to the changes in store. Your choice in dates to arrive during spring break for many schools is unfortunate and one we cannot control. Given the break, this is why you saw an increased level in the amount of children in the hotel. Perhaps next time, you may wish to consider the time of year as we typically are more adult-oriented. As for our location, most people prefer being on this side of the harbor because it is away from the high density and noise on the east side. Personal preference, but we appreciate your opinion. Most guest love the location and ability to walk to anywhere around the Inner Harbor. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Just returned from our weekend stay at the Royal Sonesta. This may very well be my best hotel experience to date. First off, the location of this property is too convenient to be true. We are talking a matter of 2 to 5 minute walk to everything the Harbour has to offer (and about a 10 minute walk to Power Plant Live). We arrived about 5 hours earlier than check in, but was welcomed by the incredible Valet service reps who offered to park our car and check our bags until check in. Not only did the valet reps give us suggestions on places to eat/visit they also had copies of menus to a few restaurants and contacts at certain venues that provided shuttles services to pick up and return us back to the hotel. The valet crew and overall customer service of this hotel was 5 Star. The room was very clean and spacious. The harbor view was beautiful day/night. The in room wet bar was a great option if you were in need of a beer, alcohol, soda, snack or water. I really enjoyed the bed and the shower pressure was great. My only compliant about the room would be the carpet....looked like some water/flood damage in the past. The overall decor and size of this hotel was very impressive. Oh yeah, the workout gym is equal to any YMCA in your area. We took advantage of a 2 night groupon rate! But very well may pay full price based on our experience. Wish I would have mentioned it was my birthday like other reviewers so. Could have gotten some cake though lol.

Room Tip: Harbour View a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drob1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear drob1121,
What a great 5-star review! Thanks so much. Belated Happy Birthday as well (we owe you a slice of cake next time)! It is so nice to hear that your experience was exceptional and rated 5-star. As for the carpet, I can tell you that we are planning a complete renovation of the property in the next year, so expect everything to receive an upgrade. The Sonesta brand arrived in Baltimore last June 1, so we are taking great strides and return this property to its rightful place as one of Baltimore's finest hotels. Expect major improvements to the physical side and constant 5-star customer service for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, PA
Level Contributor
262 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I celebrated our 27th anniversary here and even though, we didn't get any of the extra perks mentioned in the other reviews, we had a wonderful time. We had a beautiful room with an incredible view of the harbor. The bed was very comfortable, the room was clean but the location and view made it perfect. This hotel would be my first choice the next time we visit Baltimore! We loved it!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaMar4486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear KaMar4486,
Thanks so much for your great 5-star review! Plus, congratulations on your 27th wedding anniversary. Did you mention your occasion prior to, or at arrival? Typically, if we know about it, or hear about it, we make special arrangements for something to recognize it. We will have to make up for that on your next visit, right? Hopefully, we get that opportunity. Meantime, thanks again for the 5-stars and we really look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband and I just spent the weekend at the Royal Sonesta Inner Harbor. This was our second stay at the hotel and will definetely be the last. We had booked a city view room, upon arrival the staff told us there were no city view rooms ready although it was check in time and that they would probably not be ready for a few hours. Instead they gave us a courtyard view room. The view sucked. We staired at a brick wall with windows into a hallway where other visitors could look directly into our room. We spen the entire time with no natural light because we did not want other visitors looking into our room. Upon arrival to the room the toilet was constantly running and would not shut off. We called down to the front desk to make them aware of the situation. They stated they would be right up. I waited and waited and they never came. I had to walk down to the front desk to ask if there was a bathroom that worked because ours did not. They showed me to the 2nd floor bathroom. By the time I got back to the room my husband had fixed the toilet himself. Although it still ran for about 10 minutes after each time it was flushed. It was so loud that it woke us up whenever one of us used the toilet at night. Also when I got a shower. I hung my towel on the towel rack. When I reached for the towel the entire rack fell landing on my foot. Once I inspected the towel rack there was nothing holding it to the wall at all.

The first time we stayed at this hotel we had a nice time, although after this time I will not return, I would rather stay a block from the harbor and atleast be able to see water or the city and have a toilet than works properly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieH326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear AngieH326,
Obviously, your experiences here are unacceptable on all levels. Please allow me to extend our humblest and sincerest apology to you for your disappointing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We were celebrating 26 years of marriage, upon arrival Khadijah acknowledged our anniversary by upgrading us to a Jr. Suite, Thank you Khadijah. Our room was by far the nicest we have stayed in at any of the 4 star hotels in the harbor area. We had a beautiful view of the harbor. They try to do everything first class. We will recommend this hotel and will return ourselves.

This hotel used to be the Intercontinental Hotel. The only negative was the carpet in our room showed signs of extensive wear or a water overflow problem at one time. Brought it to the attention of the front desk.

But overall we had a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Just ask about the best room location when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timecheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear timecheri,
Thank you for your wonderful review and congratulations on 26 years of wedded bliss. I will definitely share your comments about the great customer service Khadijah provided at the Front Desk as well. It is always great to see guests use our associate's names in their reviews as it is a great thing to share. We all have a passion for service and hospitality, in fact, our hotel tagline is: Timeless Elegance. Service Excellence. As for the rooms, you will be pleased to know that we plan a complete renovation of the property in the coming year. Sonesta just arrived here last June 1, so now that we have made the transition from the previous management, we can now take steps to return this hotel to its rightful place as one of Baltimore's great properties. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We bought two Groupons to stay at this hotel for two nights during Spring Break 2013. We chose the harbor view option and it was well worth the extra $25/night.

Pros:
*Location, location, location! Right in the middle of all the best Inner Harbor attractions
*Valet parking service was wonderful - we didn't want to leave at checkout time, so they packed our car for us. We were able to leave the car until 6pm the day we checked out.
*All staff that we encountered were very friendly, welcoming and helpful
*For an older hotel, it really was beautiful - the view from our room was perfect
*The bathroom space was huge, water hot, great water pressure, very clean, lots of towels A+
*Indoor saltwater pool with lifeguard 8am to 8pm, very large hot tub, nice workout facilities thought we did not use them
*The food at Brighton's for breakfast was very good
*Fluffy pillows, down comforters, nice room-darkening curtains

Cons:
*The double room had two full sized beds, not queen sized
*Both mornings at breakfast we had to wait while they went to get us a table and chairs from the other room
*Breakfast was very expensive, although that is par for the course in any city hotel I suppose
*The pool was over 5 feet deep all the way across, making it hard for all of us with smaller children to relax and enjoy

Overall I was pleased and would choose to stay there again. We felt very pampered during our stay... the staff at the Royal Sonesta is exceptional.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with harbor view, one of my favorite things about our stay was the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJkimmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Kohlasch, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear PJkimmel,
Thanks for your great review. We appreciate your comments and glad you had a wonderful stay. Our location along the Inner Harbor is definitely an advantage, especially this time of year as we are walking distance to Camden Yards and all of the great attractions in downtown Baltimore. Glad you took advantage of the Groupon deal as many others did the same. We hope to see you again soon and thanks once more for taking time to comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Henderson's Wharf
#2 of 66 in Baltimore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Property: Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing