We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Staff in a great hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Staff in a great hotel!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Everybody at the hotel was so courteous and kind. The people at the front desk helped us out with getting around Baltimore. We were a little surprised that parking was not free, but the guy at the door was also nice. He made no problem if we wanted to leave our car in the courtyard for a couple of minutes. The room where we stayed in was really luxurious. It was big and clean. Great view. Great location. All in all it was a really great experience. We would recommend Royal Sonesta to everyone, and we are looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Esty B. Thank you for the 5 star review of our property. The staff and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad one of our doormen were able to assist you with the parking issue. Thank you for the positive comments on our property. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    908
    307
    106
    53
    48
See reviews for
373
478
35
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belmar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I highly recommend staying at the Royal Sonesta. From the moment I arrived, I was treated very well. Everyone was so kind and welcoming. The gentlemen at the desk was extremely nice and informed me a room was ready so I was able to check in much earlier than 4. James, the bellman, was amazing. He was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure my stay in Baltimore was the best. He offered great insight and suggestions about where to go and what to do. The room was immaculate. The location can't be beat; the Inner Harbor is right across the street and Camden Yards right around the corner. Restaurants and shops all nearby. I look forward to another stay at the Sonesta.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croisette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear croisette8. Thank you for your 5 star review from your recent stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. Your comments will be shared with our team and of course James. The hotel has a superior location to the attractions in the downtown Baltimore area, many a very short distance on foot. Thank you again the staff and I look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A very nice hotel and one we'd definitely stay in again! The room was a bit outdated but it didn't bother us. With all the historic art hanging on the walls, this just added to the "ambiance." The freezer was in dire need of a defrosting but the refrigerator still kept our wine cold. The Keurig coffee maker is a nice touch...but my first cup of coffee using the over-sized paper cups the hotel provided was weak to the point of not even being drinkable. Hint...when using the Keurig, put only a half a paper cup's worth of water into the reservoir. Enough about coffee. In hindsight, I must say, the hotel was also very quiet. It was very clean and convenient to everything there is to see around the Inner Harbor. We had a harbor view room and I'm so happy I paid the few extra dollars for it. Parking is easy enough...but I'd prefer they incorporate the cost of parking into the room charge up front, that way, the customer would see the true final cost of staying there. I'd stay there again and I'd recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
2 Thank Roland E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Roland E. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the hotel. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue you had with the paper cups in your room. We will take a look at what other options we may have to correct this problem. The harbor view rooms are worth the extra money to see such a magnificent sunrise in the morning or even a sunset in the evening. It’s a wonderful and breathtaking view. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We ended up booking for a stay at the Royal Sonesta after a coworker suggested and the hotel was excellent. It is very convenient to the inner harbor and aquarium and our room was beautiful and had all we needed for a comfy pleasant stay.

I read a lot of iffy reviews about the hotel, perhaps it was just where we were, but I sampled the coffee shop by the front door in the lobby, the pool and numerous bell hop and front desk staff and everyone was very courteous and pleasant to speak to.

Our room was a AAA harbor view room w/two double beds and it had a fantastic view of the harbor. I'm not sure why they have only double beds, they could easily fit queens in the room it was very large. No issues with the thermostat and the bathroom and bedroom was all very clean. I like the keurig coffee maker in the room, and there is even a mini fridge.

The Illy coffee shop looked VERY nice, reminded me of starbucks and was happy to see some stoneyfield smoothies for the kids. Great convenience and the prices were reasonable for the drinks.

We had two 1st grade children with us on this trip and the pool on the 7th floor was great. Lifeguarded, with a big hot tub next to it, plus towel service, just fantastic. It was very hectic there during spring break but everyone's spirits working there were very pleasant and the guard was good about enforcing the lap lane the kids decided to use.

The restaurant explorers looks very nice, but not sure its so kid friendly, there wasn't a soul in there the evening we went down for dinner, so we ended up walking over to the plethora of restaurants nearby for a dinner at the cheesecake factory.

My only complaint about the hotel is really unrelated to the hotel, the parking garage is seriously gross where there's self park, the stairwell is disgusting the whole place just seems really dingy. We ended up arriving quite early on the day of checkin and having the bellhop store our luggage while we went to self park next to the hotel then enjoyed the aquarium until our room was ready. I highly recommend this! BTW parking is expensive (get over the sticker shock) :)

The beds were full sizes in our room, which we knew but man its so tiny for two adults, again not terrible we had the AAA rate and one of their cheapest rooms I think so I guess the tradeback for some savings was ok.

Also, yes the hotel uses the push button container dispensers like you see in a the gym shower which some reviewers disliked but I actually preferred. I never felt like you got a decent amount of shampoo or conditioner in the samplers the hotel usually has in those tiny bottles, so my crew of four enjoyed plenty of shampoo/etc after their pool trips. The shampoo/conditioner and soap are very good quality that they put in these dispensers I thought.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenMcD2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear KarenMCD2002. Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience from your stay. The staff and I appreciate the detailed review and we are glad you were able to experience the hotel and its amenities. Also glad to see you were able to get out and experience Baltimore. Having the hotel centrally located in the Inner Harbor makes it easier for ours guests to take short walks to wherever they wish to go. We hope you will consider us again should your travels bring you back to the Baltimore area. We look forward to being of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My family and I just got back from a visit to Baltimore and had the best time staying at the Sonesta. The entire staff was excellent and thoughtful. Great location, comfortable, it just made the trip!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Suzanne F. We are so glad to hear you had a great time at the hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and for the 5 star review. Our staff makes every effort to go above and beyond to make each guest feel special. The staff and I hope you have to opportunity to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elverson, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed at Sonesta with my ten year old grandson on a mini Spring break.
Loved the location, hotel and staff. I felt very safe. Parking very convenient. My grandson enjoyed basketball on the garage rooftop and the pool. Will definitely stay here again. The Sonesta was very quiet. No problems with police sirens or fire truck noise as mentioned in reviews of other hotels near the Inner Harbor.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Vickie B. Thank you for your lovely evaluation of your stay. We appreciate the 5 star review. The staff and I are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your grandson was able to utilize the roof-top basketball court. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Wonderful time! The hotel was fantastic. Beautiful view of the harbor. The staff at the front desk were so helpful with making our stay a pleasurable one. With the sincere and genuine help we received from Sarah, this hotel is one I will visit again and again as well as recommend to my friends.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Elaine G. Thank you for the 5 star review of our property from your recent stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore and for your lovely comments about our hotel and staff. I will be sure to pass on to Sarah your mention of her in the review. The staff and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel
#10 of 66 in Baltimore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Property: Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing