We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location and Staff Excel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location and Staff Excel”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I picked this hotel due to location and was not disappointed. Being that close to Inner Harbor was great. Parking was easy. The staff was exceptionally nice at check-in. We were spoken to every time we entered the lobby. Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Gray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Gray S, Thank you for your exception review of our property. The staff and I are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff makes every effort to make each guest feel as welcome as the next. It pleases me to hear we lived up to our expectations. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    303
    102
    53
    47
See reviews for
365
472
34
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We took a courtyard view twin room at the Royal Sonesta and were very impressed with our room. The hotel is across a fairly busy dual carriageway road so we were pleased that we had a courtyard view room which was indeed very quiet. They have very noisy emergency vehicles in Baltimore so we preferred the room at the back which was, as might be expected, cheaper than the Harbor view room. To some the decor may look dated but it is that sort of classic hotel not a contemporary place. For us it added to the charm. The room was very big and comfortable as the bathroom was always clean. Only slight problem which we decided not to make a fuss about was that the small pieces of paper that were on the carpet when we arrived were still there three days later so it would be better if the vacuum cleaner was used more often.
Our only real complaint was the breakfast. The first day we decided to take breakfast in the hotel. We had to wait 30 minutes for a cold continental breakfast and a yoghurt with berries - much too long considering that only two other tables were occupied. The wrong items were delivered for my breakfast - a few berries with a lot of tooth breaking candied walnuts instead of plain fruit as ordered. As I didn't want to have to pay a visit to a dentist in Baltimore, I left most of them. The following two mornings, we went self-service in the Illy coffee shop on the ground floor of the hotel where we were served large paper cups of tea and coffee with croissants and fresh fruit salad for a much more manageable price. We would recommend avoiding a Harbor room if you want a really quiet room and you also get a view of the hotel's own beehive.

Room Tip: Although some might like the Harbor view, you are admiring the view across a very busy road so a Cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValSurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear ValSurreyUK, thank you for taking the time review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on some of the issues you had with breakfast and your accommodations. Please know your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers to avoid problems in the future. I was happy to read that you were pleased with your accommodations. The staff and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Royal Sonesta is in the most perfect location if you want to visit the Inner Harbor. We never drove our car, we parked in their garage and were able to walk everywhere and to all the local attractions. We had a room with a view of the harbor and it was a beautiful view. The room was very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. It was also one of the quietest hotels I've stayed in, we didn't hear the usual hallway and water noises.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank swtp910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear swtp910. Thank you for the 5 star review of our property. The staff and I are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our hotels premier location affords our guests the luxury of not having to use their own transportation to get around the city. The Charm City Circulator is also another great way to travel at no cost. We hope to welcome you back in the future and look forward to the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Rooms are large but wallpaper is peeling, furniture is tired, carpets and curtains are unattractive and ancient. The mirror in the bathroom would not tilt to view. Even the floor number was peeling off the wall in the elevator lobby. Path from parking garage to lobby involves service corridors and going past trash rooms. Entrance courtyard was a vortex of swirling trash when we arrived. Seriously.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Kristin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Kristin K., Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate managers to come up with a resolution to the issues you had. Thank you again for your honest feedback and the staff and I hope that you would perhaps give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Everybody at the hotel was so courteous and kind. The people at the front desk helped us out with getting around Baltimore. We were a little surprised that parking was not free, but the guy at the door was also nice. He made no problem if we wanted to leave our car in the courtyard for a couple of minutes. The room where we stayed in was really luxurious. It was big and clean. Great view. Great location. All in all it was a really great experience. We would recommend Royal Sonesta to everyone, and we are looking forward to our next visit!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Esty B. Thank you for the 5 star review of our property. The staff and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad one of our doormen were able to assist you with the parking issue. Thank you for the positive comments on our property. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belmar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I highly recommend staying at the Royal Sonesta. From the moment I arrived, I was treated very well. Everyone was so kind and welcoming. The gentlemen at the desk was extremely nice and informed me a room was ready so I was able to check in much earlier than 4. James, the bellman, was amazing. He was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure my stay in Baltimore was the best. He offered great insight and suggestions about where to go and what to do. The room was immaculate. The location can't be beat; the Inner Harbor is right across the street and Camden Yards right around the corner. Restaurants and shops all nearby. I look forward to another stay at the Sonesta.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank croisette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear croisette8. Thank you for your 5 star review from your recent stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. Your comments will be shared with our team and of course James. The hotel has a superior location to the attractions in the downtown Baltimore area, many a very short distance on foot. Thank you again the staff and I look forward to seeing you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A very nice hotel and one we'd definitely stay in again! The room was a bit outdated but it didn't bother us. With all the historic art hanging on the walls, this just added to the "ambiance." The freezer was in dire need of a defrosting but the refrigerator still kept our wine cold. The Keurig coffee maker is a nice touch...but my first cup of coffee using the over-sized paper cups the hotel provided was weak to the point of not even being drinkable. Hint...when using the Keurig, put only a half a paper cup's worth of water into the reservoir. Enough about coffee. In hindsight, I must say, the hotel was also very quiet. It was very clean and convenient to everything there is to see around the Inner Harbor. We had a harbor view room and I'm so happy I paid the few extra dollars for it. Parking is easy enough...but I'd prefer they incorporate the cost of parking into the room charge up front, that way, the customer would see the true final cost of staying there. I'd stay there again and I'd recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
2 Thank Roland E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Roland E. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the hotel. Thank you for bringing to our attention the issue you had with the paper cups in your room. We will take a look at what other options we may have to correct this problem. The harbor view rooms are worth the extra money to see such a magnificent sunrise in the morning or even a sunset in the evening. It’s a wonderful and breathtaking view. Thank you again for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,293 reviews
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Property: Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing