We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Ranked #6 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Location”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great location. This hotel did not honor the room that was confirmed with my reservation. We reserved a King size bed with City View. We got Queen size bed with Courtyard view. Yes, they did knock off a certain amount but not per night because they deemed the rooms comparable That never seems to be the case when you are booking the trip. Not sure there is much difference between a three star and four star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Tanya P, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that we were unable to accommodate your room request for your visit. We try our best to provide the requested room accommodations, but sometimes do run into circumstances beyond our control. I do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    934
    313
    108
    53
    50
See reviews for
388
488
37
306
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Had a wonderful time in BAltimore with Family and Friends. The service at the Royal Sonesta was superior, even the staff serving room service gave you a hearty hello in passing in the halls. Reception was letting a guest know they serve one of the best crab cakes in Baltimore and hearing this, I just had to have one. What great sales and representation for the hotel. At night coming back to the hotel, Ernest and Tanya were there with a smile and asking how our evening was...very welcoming...here's hoping another relative will get married in Baltimore!
The crab cakes were yummy!

Room Tip: We had three rooms and all had a good view of the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cayuca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear cayuca22, Thank you for submitted a 5 star review from your recent stay, it truly is appreciated. I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff was very accommodating. The staff makes every effort to make each guest feel welcome and provide them with a sense of being "home". I'm also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the crab cake from Explorer's. They are, in my opinion, the best in the city. Thank you again, and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I just finished a wonderful weekend in Baltimore. We were celebrating our anniversary. We chose the Royal Sonesta primarily on its location at Baltimore's Inner Harbor.
I will tell you all we were quite surprised at how much we loved this hotel. It started with the concierge providing some ideas for a romantic start (the chocolate covered strawberries were amazing, and I believe done in house) and arranged dinner for us at a great restaurant in the Little Italy section of Baltimore..Arriving at the hotel we found the entire experience pleasant. From the parking experience, where our valet told us "you're not just renting a room, your getting an entire staff". The view from our room was as good as the the advertisements, with the Baltimore inner harbor on display. The room lighting was good, with enough light to read, dimmable lights for mood setting. We had a wonderful soaking tub, ahh how relaxing. The only drawback was the pillows. My wife and I prefer firmer pillows.
Valet parking has unlimited in and out. Our valet told us "call anytime, even if you just want to look at your car".
The room was quiet, no hall or street noise.
We had a wonderful, romantic stay. If you get the chance, stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Brendan B., thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed and wonderful review of your recent stay. I am so pleased to hear you and your wife enjoyed your stay while celebrating your anniversary. We try our best to add special little touches here and there when guests are celebrating a life event, but the staff makes an effort to go the extra mile with all of our guests. It is good to hear the staff's restaurant recommendation was a hit and to answer your inquiry, our chocolate covered strawberries are made by our pastry department. Thank you again for the glowing review and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again, perhaps for next year's anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The hotel was great. It has a very old world look to it but is located in a great spot. The room was very large and had a lot of room to move around. We will stay here again. The staff handled another customers complaint of the pool closing to early very well. very professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Michael H. Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court. We do have a premier location with an added bonus of having larger rooms than our competitors. Most attractions are within walking distance or just a short cab ride away. Thank you again, and the staff and I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court in Baltimore for three nights. We were there for a wedding which they also catered. On the positive side, the location is excellent for the harbor area and downtown. The staff was one the best overall from the bellman on up that I have been around. Food, although a little pricey, was very good. The catering group were really professional and on top of their game. On the not so spectacular side, the hotel needs upgrade and remodel. Although very clean and well maintained, the facility does not meet a four star rating. Rooms were well maintained but once again they need some updating to meet the price. Although I might stay there again, I would look at my other options first.

Room Tip: Harbor side may cost more but the other views leave a lot to be desired
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Richard J., Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you did have an enjoyable time. We receive many guest comments about how clean our rooms are kept, but they are in dire needs of an upgrading. I couldn't agree more and as I've mentioned in previous responses, an upgrade for our guest rooms is in the beginning stages. With that being said, I hope when your travels bring you back to Baltimore, that you would consider us to be your first option. I do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The ambiance of the hotel is wonderful. Staff very friendly and solicitous of our needs. Breakfast at Explorers excellent. Buffet is available but we always order from the menu. Server(s) very pleasant, polite and generous with their time. Showed my wife how to fold the napkins with panache. Lots of fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear John M., Happy belated Anniversary and thank you for the 5 star review. I am pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience when encountering our staff, breakfast in Explorer's and the overall feeling of the hotel. I truly appreciate your kind words and will be sure and share with my staff members. I hope to welcome you back soon and if not, perhaps on your next anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Issues we had with this hotel: There were stains on a lobby rug and on our hotel room carpet, a dirty glass was found behind the curtain in our room, desk staff said the would get us directions and never did, telephone in our room did not work, water from the shower (which is a stand up tile shower with no tub) ran into the bathroom and all over the floor, and the beds wre not very comfortable. Parking deck attached to the hotel was very expensive!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Angela C., thank you for sharing your experience and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We take these matters seriously and strive to work towards a resolution in an effort to prevent them happening again in the future. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate department managers. Upgrades are coming to the hotel in the future; we hope you will perhaps consider a visit after the upgrades are completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 66 in Baltimore
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Pier 5 Hotel
#13 of 66 in Baltimore
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Property: Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing