We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Felt Special”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Every aspect of this property was fantastic. We were greeted by the valet service and our check-in was efficient and extremely friendly. Room was large and elegant. Lobby gorgeous, pool great.Superior!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
2 Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Fran,
Thank you for the lovely review! We are glad to see that you enjoyed staying with us at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore. It seems as though your great arrival experience set the tone for a wonderful stay. Our Bell/Door/Valet team and our Front Desk team are renowned for delivering genuine, personalized service, and it sounds like we made a great first impression.

We appreciate the sentiments you expressed about our large guestrooms (our 420 square foot guestrooms are the largest ‘standard’ rooms in the Inner Harbor), about the beauty of our lobby with the signature spiral staircase, and about our saltwater pool.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    982
    327
    109
    56
    50
See reviews for
411
512
38
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hotel gives you a luxurious ambiance at a reasonable price with the most comfortable king bed and cushy mattress we ever slept on. We opted for the less expensive courtyard view room so were stunned at its immense size, comfortable chairs and features. It was easily the most comfortable hotel stay we ever enjoyed and I truly enjoyed the Illy espresso bar in the lobby. As a swimmer, I loved the pool which was set up in such a way that there was a wide lane for laps, separated from the family splash areas, even though overall it was far less than full-sized. The pool stays open late and opens early so I got in two full swims, and the fitness center is open 24x7. The location is right on the inner harbor, right across the street from the science center. They are attached to a self-parking garage for only $26 per night or a valet service if you need it (we didn't). All in all a classy stay at a good price. The only oddity had to do with the incompetence of the reservation staff which handles different Sonesta properties and was maddingly incompetent. It took me umpteen phone calls and emails just to get them to send me an email confirmation of my reservation. My persistence got me 4 different confirmations that arrived simultaneously five days after I booked from three different reservation specialists. Too comical. I considered canceling but am glad I didn't because the stay itself was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constant_Discovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay despite the poor beginning thanks to numerous reservations challenges. We really appreciate the detailed feedback, and we will share your comments about the difficulties encountered while booking and confirmign your accommodations with our corporate team that oversees the Central Reservations office.

Thank you for the level of detail in your review, as you touched upon several aspects of the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore that are not often touched on in many reviews. Formula Espresso, our lobby coofee shop, does indeed offer Illy-branded coffees, and so many continue to find out why so many prefer the rich European blends of Illy coffees over the more-common Starbucks coffees found in the United States.

Our slawater indoor pool indeed offers a dedicated lap lane, and is five feet deep throughout, making it a friendly spot for those looking for a workout. Even better, very soon the pool hours will expand! Stay tuned to Trip Advisor for further news on this topic.

All of our guestrooms, whether offering views of our courtyards, neighborhood streets, or the Inner Harbor, afford 420 square feet of comfort, making them the largest guestrooms on the Inner Harbor. And our suites range from 720-2600 square feet, so if you need additional space we have many choices. We look forward to welcomeing you back--and we will make sure when you return you will have a far better reservaitons experience. And you are always welcome to reach out to me directly to make sure your reservations are perfectly taken care of in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This hotel is aging, but gracefully. The carpets and furniture need to be updated, but the property is being kept up by an attentive staff. Location is just a couple of blocks from the heart of the Inner Harbor. If you want to be right in the action, this may not be a good match for you. If you are ok, or prefer to be a couple of blocks away from the noise, etc., this hotel should work well for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dan,

Thank you for you for your thoughtful feedback about your recent stay at the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore. We appreciate the sentiments you expressed about the hotel aging gracefully. Our Housekeeping and Maintenance teams do an outstanding job 24 hours a day to keep our building looking great and running well. Prior to the end of the year, we will begin a renovation that will completely transform the hotel back to its full glory. By about the time spring 2015 begins, we will offer completely new guestrooms as well as a new look to our lobby and meeting space. We are excited about this project, and we hope you''' come back and see our new look soon after!

Regarding our location, we are directly across the street from the Maryland Science Center, so we are on the southwest corner of the Inner Harbor. As dozens of other reviewers attest to, we are within easy walking distance of all the Inner Harbor attractions, such as the National Aquarium and Harborplace. As you mentioned, Dan, we're just enough away from the heart of the action that we are a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle while sitll being close enough that you can reach the action within a 5-minute walk at the most.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great location at the inner harbor. The harbor front rooms have a beautiful view. However, the "Bee Garden" provides a nice view for the interior also. I was within walking distance of so many great attractions (Science Center, Aquarium, restaurants, and shops)! The staff were awesome; very friendly, helpful and so outgoing!

Room Tip: Harbor view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Christine, we are glad to read that your stay exceeded your expectations! Your feedback touched on the three most common delights about the Royal Sonesta Harbor Court that come up again and again in guest reviews: our amazing staff that provides genuine service and hospitality; our ideal location within easy walking distance of all the Inner Harbor attractions, as well as Oriole Park at Camden Yards and M&T Bank Stadium; and of course the beautiful views from our hotel. We especially appreciate the warm sentiments expressed about our rooms that face the inner courtyard that features our apiary. Not only is the artist's rendition of a beehive next to the real apiary a great piece of art (from the distance, it looks like the U.S. Capitol building!), but did you know that we harvest the honey to make delicious honey chicken wings and our mixologists in Explorers make a terrific honey-infused cocktail? Just a few more things to try on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

What a treat, going with no expectations, the hotel was clean, staff friendly and helpful, and the location was perfect, close to everything the harbor has to offer, but far enough away to be calm and quiet. After a long hot day of walking it was a pleasure to swim at the pool and rest and the large comfortable room. Having worked for years at a 5 star hotel in NYC, I speak from experience, ands the most import things in a hotel are Clean rooms and great staff.

Room Tip: We had a court view, which made room extra quiet :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Linda, thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience staying with us along with your expertise as a hospitality industry veteran! We could not agree more: while so many rave about our incredible location within easy walking distance from the Inner Harbor and the Orioles and Ravens stadiums, what really sets us apart is the genuine personalized service delivered by our amazing team. Our housekeeping team in particular does an incredible job to ensure the cleanliness of the hotel, both the guestrooms and the public space. We are so proud of our team, and it brings a smile to our faces to receive this type of feedback from someone who knows the business so well!

By the way, we love your tip: the Courtyard rooms are very quiet because each one faces our garden, our apiary, or the private bricked courtyard entrance of the hotel. Two more fun facts about our hotel that makes ALL of our rooms quieter than other hotels' rooms: we have NO rooms in the hotel that are across the hall from one another (due to the hollow square shape of the building with the courtyards and garden in the center); and all of our guestrooms have a foyer in the entrance area where the refrigerator and Keurig are housed as well as the bathroom--you have to walk in about 10 feet before reaching the bedroom, thus making it difficult to hear any guests walking outside your guestroom in the corridors.

Thanks again for this glowing tale of your experience staying with us. We hope you'll be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandston, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had done our research before staying at Royal Sonesta, so once we arrived at the Inner Harbor and realized how close it was, we decided to stay. The hotel is very nice and the location is wonderful. Due to the time we arrived, we stayed in a room with double beds and no harbor view. This did not make a difference at all. The room was very nice and clean.The only issues we had was that upon check in there was no mention on how to connect to the wi-fi, again, not too big of a deal because we were not in the room that long. The one thing that had us shaking our heads was that we decided to do the self parking ($26.00) that when we were loading up the car (we were going to stay longer) and the staff saw us walk out the front door to go to the parking garage which is around the corner, that someone did not stop us to let us know you could access the garage through the hotel lobby saving a lot of time and hassle walking down the street with luggage. With those being the only complaints (and they really are not that big of a deal) we would recommend this hotel and will plan a stay back here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Helpful?
Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Amy, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Inner Harbor hotel! Thank you for providing such detail in your review; for instance, your comment that our Bell/Door/Valet team did not provide directions to the garage when you exited throughout the Front Door represents a great training topic for us to ensure that there is recognition that this took place and to prevent this situation from happening to any other guests. Regarding Wi-Fi, our key packet has an insert that gives directions for how to connect to the free Wi-Fi service, but if we failed to tell you those directions were there, we certainly missed an opportunity to deliver valuable service to you.

We appreciate your comments about enjoying our location along the banks of the Inner Harbor! Not only does our location result in some majestic water views, but it also means that we are in walking distance from the Maryland Science Center, Harborplace, and The National Aquarium. We also appreciate the warm sentiments expressed about the great job our Housekeeping team does each and every day to ensure the cleanliness of the property.

We look forward to hosting you again the next time your travel plans bring you back to the renowned Inner Harbor of Baltimore!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We could not have asked for a more wonderful hotel experience for our anniversary stay (july 31-aug 3)in Baltimore's inner harbor. The hotel was lovely, the hotel staff incredible and the location perfect for a stay in the inner harbor. I can't say enough positive things about our experience with the staff, particularly Jonathan Knox, the most knowledgeable, personable and best concierge that we have ever had the pleasure to work with. He upgraded our room to a gorgeous suite on arrival, made sure that our anniversary dinner was extra special by contacting the personnel at the restaurant we had booked and gave us great advice on seeing the sites as this was our first time in Baltimore. He was wonderful! The valets were also very very personable and helpful during our stay. They are renovating the rooms to give them an update this fall, can't wait to come back and see what they have done to the place!

Room Tip: Paying for a harbor view room is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank autumnmyst21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob_Haislip, General Manager at Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
What a beautiful couple! Happy anniversary, and thank you for staying with us and especially for taking the time to share your great experience with so many other travelers! Jonathan is a shining star--one of many on our team but one of the best of the best to be sure. He has a gift for personalizing each and every interaction with our guests. He takes the time to listen, and then he makes a lasting impression!

We can't wait to have you back soon! Our renovation will start at the end of the year and will be completed by the early spring 2015, just a bit off from the timing mentioned in your review. We will review the timing and scope of the renovation with our team so that we are talking about the correct timeline moving forward. The property will feature all-new guestrooms, a new lobby, and new public and meeting space. While the property is beautiful now, we can't wait to boast about the new look--the transformation will be spectacular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Four Seasons Baltimore
Four Seasons Baltimore
#3 of 67 in Baltimore
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

Property: Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore
Address: 550 Light St, Baltimore, MD 21202-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Baltimore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#20 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore is ideally situated on the picturesque waterfront of the Inner Harbor. The hotel is a short walk from the downtown business district and the city's best attractions, including the National Aquarium, Oriole Park at Camden Yards, American Visionary Arts Museum, The Maryland Science Center and historic Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Harbor Court Baltimore Hotel Baltimore
Intercontinental Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing