We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Preakness weekend!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Preakness weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were in town to attend the Preakness race. Felt this was a very nice hotel. Staff was very accommodating and friendly. Had 9 th floor, very clean, harbor view which was nice and quiet and great view! Nice location to all sights and restaurants. Took taxi to fells point but nice day and walked back along water. Little Italy is a must for dinner! Renaissance always told us of shuttles to and from restaurants instead of taxis!!! Would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Upper floor, harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    663
    261
    78
    54
See reviews for
426
366
67
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've been a Platinum Member for many years...and do quite a bit of traveling. It has seemed to me that lately this status has meant less and less in terms of how I'm treated. Upgrades seem to be harder to come by, welcome gifts are not as generous, and staff many times don't recognize that we frequent travelers are important to the company. Having said all that, I really need to compliment this hotel. This was a very busy Memorial Day weekend, with lots of events taking place in Baltimore. The hotel ran smoothly, despite the crowds. The Concierge Lounge was open for breakfast...and well supplied. The restaurant was better than expected...and not as costly as most. All in all we had a great experience. I highly recommend this hotel.

On a separate note...special thanks to Nick Maida...a front desk manager who made all of my arrangements for me over the phone, and was able to accomodate several special requests in a friendly and efficient manner. He was great to work with.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace hotel twice, with our 6-year-old grandson - once in 2013 and once in 2014. We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is at an excellent location. Next to the harbor and close to everything - restaurants, the aquarium, other amusement places, etc. etc. The room we stayed at had 2 queen beds. Very comfortable beds and nice linen. The room was big enough that we did not feel crammed even with a young active boy. The front desk service was friendly and efficient. We would always like to stay there when we go visit Baltimore.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rulian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location right downtown and near the inner harbor. Our room was clean and we had enough room for the 2 of us. The hotel has plenty of amenities. The service was friendly and helpful. It was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here mid May 2014. It's a very nice and well appointed hotel. It's greatest positive is it's location and some of the rooms views of the Inner Harbor. We didn't have an issue with noise at all, but that could be we were on a high enough floor and no rowdy neighbors. We didn't eat at the restaurant but did drink at the bar. Service there was good and the bar was a little busy. Be prepared to be pan handled as soon as you walk in any direction away from the Inner Harbor. This isn't the hotels fault though.
Rooms were clean. The bellhop staff was very good, helping with bags, holding bags for us and getting us a cab. They had a small live band at least one of the nights on the 1st floor. One negative is the VERY long hallways... you could walk the equivalent 2 long city blocks just to a room from the elevator. I'd recommend Harborplace but be prepared to pay for that great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room and a view of the Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BD_FDNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, NH
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I've always liked the Renaissance hotels within the Marriott portfolio. Across the board the Renaissance hotels pretty much "get it" as to what kind of value a traveler wants. Granted my Marriott Platinum status allow me to experience a higher level of service throughout the hotel (access to concierge lounge, etc), but whether I was getting the higher level of service or not, Renaissance and the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace hotel was a terrific. I've never been to Baltimore, but for my dollar the hotel was ideally located to the happenings of downtown. Baltimore has done wonders in the inner harbor and it will be a fun place to return to for more exploring. As for the hotel itself, I had a great view from the top floor featuring a panorama of the inner harbor. Dining options galore within easy walking distance. Room was oversized, bed was comfortable, and the hotel was reasonably quiet. If I had a complaint it was a small one- in the hallway leading to my room there was a food and beverage cart that was parked in the hallway for the three days of my stay and it featured some increasingly nasty slices of bacon. You have to wonder how many hotel staff walked past this over three days and nothing was done to remove the cart or take care of the spoiled food. Minor, but details matter. Front desk clerks for check in and check out were very helpful and efficient. Some water and fruit punch located next to the front desk was a nice touch. Looking forward to my next visit to Baltimore and a stay at the Renaissance.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepperWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

wouldn't have been any noisier. What a waste! The staff was friendly, the room was clean and spacious, and the bed was comfortable. Unfortunately, a comfortable bed is no more useful than a chair when the street noise is loud enough to prevent sleep. I stayed at the hotel on a Sunday night/Monday morning. The windows facing the street must have been made of " 1/2 pane glass." I could hear not just vehicle traffic, but also conversatios on the street. Monday morning, I informed the gentleman at the front desk of my sleepless night. He apologized and recommendoed that I stay in a quieter wing should I return. Shouldn't EVERY ROOM be quiet enough for a good night's sleep?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank mdm8360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renhar, Guest Experience Coordinator at Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Harborplace Hotel and for reviewing your stay on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel and staff. I do apologize that you were unable to sleep due to the outside noise. While the harborview rooms have a great view, the courtyard rooms are quieter. Being in the heart of downtown and in an older hotel, traffic noise can be an issue for some. I will share your feedback with my engineering staff regarding soundproofing upgrades to the harborview windows.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback. It is very much appreciated.

Pamela Saleh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner Harbor
Hyatt Place Baltimore / Inner Harbor
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Baltimore Inner Harbor
Little Italy
Baltimore Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel

Property: Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Address: 202 E Pratt St, Baltimore, MD 21202
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baltimore
#24 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
#25 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#26 Business Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 622
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore Baltimore, Maryland's vibrant Inner Harbor with us! The top-rated Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is steps away from the city's storied waterfront, placing guests at the center of downtown Baltimore's most exciting district. Our hotel is close to local attractions like Camden Yards, the National Aquarium, and Harborplace shopping, plus a range of fine dining and nightlife opportunities. Hotel guests can enjoy superior in-room amenities like deluxe marble bathrooms, 37-inch LCD TVs, and amazing water views. We invite you to stay active at our 24-hour fitness center, take a dip in our year-round indoor pool, or enjoy fresh, seasonal cuisine and spectacular harbor vistas at our Watertable restaurant. With over 31,000 square feet of event space, we're also an ideal option for hosting a special event or business convention here in downtown Baltimore. Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, we'll make sure that your trip to the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel is a success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Baltimore
Baltimore Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing