We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - Inner Harbor
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
GreenLeadersBronze level
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice but not great”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Beautiful hotel with pleasant helpful staff and very nice spacious rooms. There were 2 issues during my stay - the room maid failed to refresh our drinking and tooth glasses on both days (3 night stay) - it seems she simply replaced the towels and left. Also - and difficult for the hotel to manage - the lobby/bar area is open plan overlooking the entrance doors. We were there during a very cold spell and this made the relaxation areas extremely cold which was a great shame.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrispres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear chrispres,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms and friendly staff during your stay. Our team members receive consistent accolades for providing excellent service and truly strive to create positive experiences. It seems our housekeeping team fell short of exceeding expectations, but this will be reviewed internally so that no other guest reports a similar occurrence moving forward. The temperatures have been colder than usual this winter in Baltimore, and regret if you felt cold while dining in our restaurant area. We hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence on your next trip across the big pond!
-The Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    403
    207
    148
    95
See reviews for
485
254
66
491
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, SC, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I came to Baltimore for business but brought my fiancee along because we had the had the opportunity to hang out with friends and have a little R&R. When I got there, I had expected a suite, because that is what I had booked on Hotels.com but got a single room instead. The staff was VERY accommodating and we were able to move to our suite. The hotel and valet staff were FANTASTIC and very helpful. I loved the idea that there was complimentary breakfast but was frustrated that it ended at 9 am. During my 4 night stay, I was only able to access it twice because it was quite early. I am a Hilton Honors member so I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Fredanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Great employees who were very nice and helpful. Clean and quiet room, nice bed. Very good evening reception and comp breakfast. Easy check-in and out. Parking garage next door. Several restaurants near by.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank PapaMike3950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salusa, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Hi
Me and a couple of my girlfriends did a girls get-a-way weekend. It was a good hotel..food was good at breakfast..the rooms were clean, nice and big. except maid for some things one day..change out our towels and do our room one day..maybe they thought the do not disturb sign was still on the door....Then we had issues with the HOT WATER the morning we was about to leave..iy kept getting cold on US. Don't know if that was because everyone was trying to shower and check out at the same time. YES I would return to the EMBASSY SUITES!!! :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ladysmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear ladysmw,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor for your girls weekend! We regret to learn of the challenges you faced with the hot water and apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Rest assured, we have corrected this issue and will keep a close eye on monitoring our boiler's to make sure this does not reoccur moving forward. We can't wait to welcome you back for another memorable girls weekend!
-The Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I would recommend staying here:
The positives are 1) a larger than normal room with a queen bed, sofa area, desk and small kitchenette that are clean. Bed is comfortable and guest services was happy to bring up another blanket for me. 2) Free breakfast and a happy hour. 3) Great staff who are very friendly and 4) they have room service. Additionally, 5) there is a Starbucks next door with access through the lobby or street.

The cons are 1) I could always smell smoke in the bathroom, 2) the refrigerator in the kitchenette is so small you can only put a couple of drinks in. I could not fit leftovers in there to take with me for lunch the next day 3) There is only one ice machine for the whole hotel and 4) while the breakfast and room service food is ok, I sure wanted some variation after two weeks there. As you can see, these are small items.

Overall, for the price it was a good experience and would recommend it. Note: it is not close to the convention center or harbor area, so factor in taxi rides or get a bus schedule if those are your destinations.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have nicer views of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXMamaLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear TXMamaLiz,
As you can see our positives definitely outweigh the cons, but we appreciate listening to areas where we fall short in delivering a seamless experience. Your comments will only benefit us in the long run, so that we can find way to improve our accommodations and service efforts moving forward. We regret if you discovered a smoke odor during your stay, but this will be investigated internally. Our hotel is only two blocks away from Inner Harbor and many other points of interest in Baltimore, and hope to serve you again soon!
-The Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

First, the positives. Evan at the Front Desk -- exceptional customer service. Comfortable beds. Very clean bathroom. The room had a separate area with a small refrigerator which was hot and a microwave -- nice touch.

Now, the other. Upon check-in, there was one young woman at a "desk" that was not clearly marked as registration. Her "Can I help you" sans eye contact was hardly a nice welcome. The room was not ready; they held my bags and the young woman who took them was as lackluster as the person at the front desk. Fortunately Evan at check-out made the difference.

The room key. The front desk did not indicate how to use it so it took several minutes of turning the card over and over, swiping it in front of the black circular "thing" where most hotels have a slot to insert the card, to finally have the green dot appear. After several hours of traveling and with luggage, a guest wants to quickly and easily access their room vs. having to stand there in an attempt to gain access. And this happened every time, with the "dot" alternating between red and green.

There was no free WiFi -- not good for business travelers. The room smelled like Chinese food from check-in through check-out. Room service arrived by a very friendly young woman who had nothing in terms of clothing/uniform that indicated she was part of the hotel staff which was a bit disconcerting. The meal arrived in a plastic box and the cost in no way equaled the product. It also arrived without utensils or napkins (thankfully there were tissues in the bathroom). The ice machine was also 20 floors below the room -- who ever heard of such a thing. And there was no gift shop or concierge.

And because this was for a business conference, the path between the hotel and the adjoining historical building to find the conference location and return to the room required a map. One of the attendees asked whether an evening sacrifice would be happening...it was a strange environment to say the least.

And important to include. Upon asking the front desk prior to arrival the distance between the hotel and the Amtrak station, the answer was about 10 minutes and could be walked. Sure...if you're a marathon runner or have at least an hour to maneuver, but most definitely not if you are a business traveler or family with children.

Would I stay again? Likely not. Not terrible but far too many "quirks" to make it worth a repeat visit.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a room away from the elevators as they are all within 10 steps of the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beetlemom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Beetlemom12,
It appears that we did not extend our outstanding customer service to you right off the bat, and I am very disappointed to hear this news. I truly wish that we could have eliminated many of your frustrations during your previous stay, but sometimes there are "quirks" that happen with door locks that we cannot control. We strive to go above and beyond to accommodate our guests and expect to deliver exemplary service, and it is a huge disappointment when we fail to do so. Rest assured, your comments will be addressed internally to make sure that all utensils are properly delivered and that our agents are providing relevant information to guest inquiries. Many of our previous guests rave about the Grand Historic Venue next door to the hotel... it is a very unique meeting and event space compared to most hotels out there.
My sincerest apologies for your recent experience. I do hope you do return and we have an opportunity to redeem ourselves and sincerely display our customer service standards.
-The Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I highly recomend staying here. Very nice spacious rooms. The staff is extremely caring and helpful. We came from John's Hopkins Hospital after several procedures. The shuttle picked us up at the hospital. The restaurant and bar is very welcoming with excellent food and service as well. This historic hotel is packed with conference rooms, excercise facility and pool. Be sure to check out the Gran Venue located on the 5th floor.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KokuaHospitality, Guest Services at Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - Inner Harbor, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Dear Marty T,
Thank you for highly recommending the Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor to the TripAdvisor community. We pride ourselves on our accommodating and empathetic team members here. Our guests continually rave about our friendly spirit and excellent service efforts. The Grand Historic Venue is an entire venue located next door to our hotel, and offers a legendary and iconic space here in Baltimore. We are glad you were able to see it firsthand during your recent stay.
-The Embassy Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Downtown
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - Inner Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - Inner Harbor

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - Inner Harbor
Address: 222 Saint Paul Pl, Baltimore, MD 21202-2120 (Formerly Tremont Suites Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Baltimore
#14 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#31 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#32 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - Inner Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Baltimore - Inner Harbor is conveniently located in the downtown business district and near the Inner Harbor, National Aquarium, M&T Stadium and many other points of interest. The hotel offers spacious rooms and suites with luxurious bedding and thoughtful amenities. Enjoy a delicious meal at our on-site restaurant B'More Bistro or grab a cup of coffee at Starbucks. Wake up each morning to a complimentary breakfast and unwind at night at our evening reception. The hotel also offers a fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, 24-hour business center and complimentary WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Baltimore - Inner Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tremont Plaza Baltimore
Tremont Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing