We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice European Styled Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown
Ranked #24 of 66 Hotels in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level Contributor
168 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very Nice European Styled Hotel”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I have to say that I very much enjoyed my stay at the Home2 Suites. My colleagues who prefer suites with adjoining rooms did not. If you've ever stayed at any modern hotel in Europe, you know exactly what you're getting with this new brand from Hilton. It has everything you need- but unlike most other properties- there's only a walk-in shower, the products are environmentally friendly- large containers on the bathroom walls- not small plastic (wasteful) bottles, and very efficient use of space.

I found the bed to be very comfortable and the black-out window shades did their job very well. The shower was quite nice. We used the exercise room and it's nicely equipped and adjoining the exercise room was a laundry area.

I would definitely return to this hotel specifically and plan to search them out across the country for future travels again.

My only suggestion is that the breakfasts include more fresh items. Cellophane wrapped "egg" and ham muffins were laid out every morning in addition to the normal cereals and breads. One day there was oatmeal, the next there were grits. I'd like to see more fresh fruits or veggies- if it's going to be styled after a European hotel, it should fully embrace the concept.

The staff person behind the desk, Brittany was super nice and did her job quite well.

Be prepared to pay for valet parking- this is downtown in a major American city, after all.

Room Tip: Top floor city view can't be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jloreine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    462
    242
    64
    34
    35
See reviews for
231
167
68
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

On this, my second stay at the property, things did not go well. The first two rooms I was sent to had not been cleaned from the prior guests. Third room was fine. However, apparently there is a policy that, on the weekend, your room will not be serviced at all unless requested. So if you want fresh towels or want the beds made, you must make a special request. There is a sign about this in the elevator but we were not made aware of this policy at the desk. So when we came back late Saturday night, the room had not been serviced. I have stayed here before and was very satisfied with the accommodations and service, but not this time. Lower ratings were the result of these issues; normal service is excellent and cleanliness very good to excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Hotel stay was great, hot water and water pressure was good very important. Staff was very attentive to our needs. Location of hotel is off the beaten path was a little hard to find, but on the upside of that it was very quiet. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I've been in lots of hotels through work, but nothing comes close as Home2Suites. Most of them are small and claustrophobic, dark, and generally depressing. Home2Suite feels like your own living room, so spacious. The big bathroom gives you comfort, and the kitchen makes it feel more at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Ognen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Pleasant, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This was a great place to stay near the Inner Harbor which was 1 mile away. I was traveling for a conference, but the conference hotel was sold out. I picked this hotel because it was newer and recommended by a family member. The first shift clerk was great although her name has slipped my mind. She made sure that I had a taxi when needed and she made sure that any issues were resolved immediately. The main issue I had was the shower didn't get hot the first day and a half, but after I reported it, there were no issues. The only other issue was there was a man singing in the hallway around 2am the night before my early morning flight, but I didn't feel the need to report that. If you are looking for a hotel that feels like home but is modern, this is it. I will look for h2s when visiting other cities from now on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Home2 Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Katrena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I had never heard of this particular flavor of Hilton before but needed something in this neighborhood while staying overnight on business and was using HHonors points. I've stayed in a few of the other Hilton 'modern' hotels before and was pleasantly surprised at what this had to offer in a small hotel. The room was pleasantly accommodated with a decent sized kitchenette which would be useful for a longer stay. The in-room (free) Wifi worked quite well, and all of the usual accommodations were more than adequate. The complimentary breakfast wasn't the best that I've had in comparable hotels but was adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mboileau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel has 14 floors with only 8 rooms per floor. It is located near the Mount Vernon area and only a ½ block from a street with numerous restaurants (try Cazbar and Sotta Sopra. We’ll try Maisy’s next time). The hotel is only a few blocks from the Walter’s Museum which was excellent (and free). The hotel is about ½ mile north of the Inner Harbor. I did see a few homeless people, but always felt safe and felt safer here than the area closer to the Inner Harbor. There are a lot more sketchy people closer to the harbor area. This area seems to have numerous young professionals that live in nearby buildings. The hotel is only 2 years old and in excellent condition. Valet parking is $25, but you can park overnight in a nearby garage at Franklin and Charles Streets for $10 if you arrive after 4PM (earlier, add $4 per hour). The valet parking lot is behind the hotel and only holds 8 vehicles. There is a fence and gate around the lot, but it is always open. If that is full, the cars are parked in one of the local garages. The employees always got the cars quickly and never looked for a tip when they returned the car, but of course I gave them one.

Off to a bumpy start.

My hotel reservation was made months in advance with Hilton preference for high floor room. I called a week in advance to confirm preference and was told it would probably not be a problem if I arrived early. Arrived at 4:30ish and was given a room on the third floor. I reminded them of my request and I was told that room service was still cleaning rooms (that late?). They checked again and the best they could do was the 7th floor.

The Room and Hotel

Upon entering the room, it was obvious someone at Hilton thought outside the box when designing the room and earns an A+. Overall, I would describe the design as somewhat modern, but not over the top. Everything was in excellent condition and spotless. There is a large galley kitchen, very nice sofa bed, large TV (42”?) on the wall, two sets of shelves, two desks/counters and a rolling table/desk. Lots of spots to put things. Lighting provided by lamps and ceiling lighting is excellent. The bed was very comfortable and has a down comforter. There is a curtain that can be pulled to separate the bed and TV from the couch and kitchen. The curtain is also great for blocking that hallway light that often sneaks in under the door. The bathroom contains a nice sized shower with no tub. Bathroom is very stylish and has high end Kohler fixtures. I really like to sleep in a dark room so the design of the window curtain was impressive! There are two curtains. One curtain is opaque and can be lowered to allow a muted view of the surrounding buildings. As the other, solid curtain is lowered, it fits into channels tight to the sides and bottom of the window. It does not allow ANY light to penetrate. What a great design!
The breakfast room downstairs contains 3 TVs and comfortable seating, but only a few individual tables. There are other long tables that can be shared or larger comfortable chairs to sit in without a table. Breakfast was good, but does not include hot eggs, bacon, etc. There are waffles, oatmeal, cold cereal, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, English muffins, bagels, apples, and a scary frozen breakfast sandwich that did not look appealing. Lots of interesting toppings for the oatmeal such as coconut, craisins, dried apples, etc. Lots of free USA Todays are available. The front desk always has a load of shiny, delicious green apples at the desk.
The fitness center is downstairs and contains weights, treadmills, etc. It was very good. Another nice design feature is that the laundry room is connected to the exercise room so you can multi-task. Great idea. Check out the cool green chairs down there.
Several computers are available to use in the front lobby. You wouldn’t want to spend a lot of time on them in that area, but good if you needed to check something quickly. Free wifi in the rooms worked well.
Staff was always courteous and friendly.

Reasons the hotel did not score 100% and MINOR suggested improvements for management:

Room 705:
Slight mildew smell in the room. I think it was coming from the textured fabric wallpaper in the bathroom. Once the door was closed the smell was gone from the room. I left the quiet bathroom fan on 24/7.
Room temperature controls: When the heat was on, the room never seemed to cool below 75-77 degrees unless the A/C was switched on. Unfortunately, the A/C unit had a very unpleasant smell when on so we did not use it. Please check the filter etc.
The soap dispenser in the shower did not work well. It took several pushes to get the soap out and it leaked each night leaving a large puddle of soap on the shower floor. This was reported to the desk for repair.
The time on the ihome clock radio was 10 minutes slow and I could not figure out how to change it. I checked twice with people at the desk and the maid and no one knew how to fix it.
Received a 6 AM wakeup call instead of 630. Oops.
I’d like to see more fresh fruit at breakfast. Bananas would be nice. Raisins and nuts for the oatmeal would be nice.
Baltimore garbage trucks seem to pickup trash very early before rush hour starts. The dumpster behind the hotel is emptied at 630AM. This is not the hotel’s fault.
There is some minor noise from the neighboring rooms and the hallway, but not much. Noise through the windows is very minimal which is important in a city hotel. This hotel is near Mercy hospital and I never heard a siren. The last hotel I stayed in near the Inner Harbor had terrible street noise entering the room even though I was in a much higher room (sirens, trucks, people).

Conclusion: An excellent hotel. We have found a new home in Baltimore. We will stay at this hotel during our future trips we take to Baltimore several times per year. I really like the design of the hotel and the location. This was the first time I’ve stayed in a Home2 Suites, but will definitely look for them in the future.

Tips for travelers: Try to stay in a room on the 7th floor or higher if possible if you want to enjoy the view of the Washington Monument, church steeples and surrounding buildings. Most of the very old surrounding buildings are 3 to 5 floors high. Try to stay in the rear of the building since the front looks at the building across the street. Some of the old buildings are currently being renovated, but there is no noise from the work.

Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Tips for travelers: Try to stay in a room on the 7th floor or higher if possible if you want to enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VirginiaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baltimore hotels
Little Italy
Homewood Suites by Hilton Baltimore
Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Baltimore Downtown/Inner Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Brookshire Suites Inner Harbor, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Hotel Indigo Baltimore Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown

Property: Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown
Address: 8 E Pleasant St, Baltimore, MD 21202-2101 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites Baltimore)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Baltimore > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Baltimore
#7 Business Hotel in Baltimore
#11 Family Hotel in Baltimore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Baltimore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown is located in downtown Baltimore near many businesses, restaurants and attractions! We're a 10 minute walk from Baltimore's beautiful Inner Harbor, Camden Yards, First Mariner Arena, as well as the National Aquarium, Pier 5 Concert Pavilion and dozens of restaurants for any occasion. We offer 95 contemporary suites with modern amenities including free wireless high-speed internet, free inspired breakfast and 42" flat screen TV's! The Home2 Suites is central to Mercy and Johns Hopkins Hospitals, Baltimore's Financial District, and has easy access to Fell's Point and Federal Hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Home2 Suites by Hilton Baltimore Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home2 Suites By Hilton Baltimore Downtown Hotel Baltimore
Comfort Inn Baltimore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing